Skip to main content

FDD Item 9 Explained: The Cross-Reference Table

A plain-English guide to FDD Item 9: the three-column table that cross-references your obligations to the franchise agreement, not their substance.

By FranchiseFeast EditorialPublished August 1, 2026

Item 9 of a Franchise Disclosure Document is a table, not an explanation. It lists your principal obligations as a franchisee and, for each one, points you to the section of the franchise agreement that actually governs it. It is required by the FTC Franchise Rule at 16 CFR 436.5(i), which states: “Disclose, in the following tabular form, a list of the franchisee’s principal obligations.” The heading “FRANCHISEE’S OBLIGATIONS” appears above it in bold capital letters, and everything under that heading is a table.

That table may be the single most useful page in the entire FDD, precisely because of what it refuses to do. Item 9 does not state what any obligation actually requires of you. It tells you where in the franchise agreement that obligation lives. Read that way, Item 9 is an index, not a summary, and the practical order to work through an FDD is to open Item 9 first and use it to navigate into the agreement itself, rather than treating it as a formality to skim past on the way to Item 7’s cost table or Item 19’s earnings claims.

The three columns, and how to read them

Item 9’s table has exactly three columns: Obligation, Section in the Franchise Agreement, and Disclosure Document Item. The first column names a category of duty you take on as a franchisee. The second names the specific section of the franchise agreement, by number, where that duty is actually written and made binding. The third cross-references the FDD item, elsewhere in the same document, where the topic is discussed in more depth.

Nothing in the table describes what the obligation requires you to do. A row for “fees,” for instance, does not state your royalty rate or your advertising contribution; it tells you which agreement section sets them and which disclosure item, Item 5 or Item 6, covers them elsewhere. The table’s whole job is routing you to the right place, not summarizing what is there.

The lettered rows

Item 9’s rows run from (a) through (y) over a fixed set of categories that appears the same way across every FDD, regardless of brand. Some of the categories most worth tracking down include (a) site selection, (f) fees, (r) records and reports, (s) inspections and audits, (t) transfer, (v) post-termination obligations, and (w) non-competition covenants. Where a category genuinely does not apply to a given franchise system, the franchisor enters “Not Applicable” in that row rather than leaving it blank.

Two of those rows, (r) records and reports and (s) inspections and audits, are where a lot of the ongoing operating burden of the franchise actually lives, and they are also the two rows this guide spends the most time on below, because they are the ones most often misread as saying more than they do.

Why you should read Item 9 first

Item 9 is the fastest way into the actual contract. Because every principal obligation is mapped to a specific franchise-agreement section number, you can use the table as a checklist: pick the rows that matter most to your situation, fees, transfer, non-competition, records and reports, inspections and audits, and go straight to the cited sections rather than reading the agreement cold from the first page, hoping to stumble onto what governs your day-to-day operation.

That is also why treating Item 9 as boilerplate to skip past is a mistake. It looks procedural because it is short and table-shaped, but it is the one item built specifically to shorten the distance between you and the language that actually binds you.

What franchise consultancies say about reporting obligations

No regulator or statute defines a general reporting checklist for franchisees, because reporting terms are private contract language that varies by brand. Item 9 row (r) only routes you to wherever that language actually sits in the franchise agreement; it does not state the requirement itself. Within that gap, franchise consultancies and accounting firms that work in this area describe a pattern they see come up often in the agreements they review: periodic financial reporting, commonly monthly or quarterly; ongoing point-of-sale integration or system access so the franchisor can reconcile your royalty-bearing gross sales close to real time; and multi-year record retention, which this commentary generally puts somewhere around 5 to 7 years.

None of that is a rule, and none of it should be read as what your specific agreement says. It is a description, from people who work in this field, of what tends to show up. The actual requirement for your brand is whatever the section cited under row (r) says, and nothing else.

What law firms say about audit rights and cost-shifting

The substance of a franchisor’s audit rights works the same way. Item 9 does not state it; row (s) only locates it inside the franchise agreement. Franchise law firms that write about these clauses describe a structure that recurs across agreements they discuss: the agreement gives the franchisor the right to inspect your books, records, and point-of-sale or bank data, and it commonly treats a franchisee’s refusal to cooperate as a material breach of the agreement. Where an audit finds an understatement of gross sales or the royalties owed on them, past a threshold that this commentary most often puts somewhere in the 2% to 5% range, the agreement commonly shifts the cost of the audit itself, including accounting and legal fees, onto the franchisee.

Item 6’s audit fee and Item 9 row (s): two different things

It is easy to conflate these because both involve the word “audit,” and they disclose different things. Item 6 discloses fees, and many FDDs list an “audit fee” there: a dollar cost the franchisor may charge, often connected to an audit that turns up an underpayment. Item 9 row (s), by contrast, does not disclose a fee at all. It points you to the section of the franchise agreement that describes the franchisor’s inspection and audit rights: what it can inspect, how, and what happens if the audit finds a shortfall.

Read Item 6 for what an audit might cost you as a line-item fee. Read the agreement section that Item 9 row (s) cites for what the franchisor can actually do, what triggers it, and, per the commentary above, what cost-shifting terms may apply.

Questions to ask your franchise attorney about Item 9

Item 9 is a map. A franchise attorney is who turns that map into an understanding of what you are actually agreeing to.

  • For each row that matters most to you, fees, records and reports, inspections and audits, transfer, non-competition, post-termination, what does the cited agreement section actually say?
  • What does the section cited under row (r) require for reporting frequency and record retention, and how does that compare with what franchise-industry commentary describes as typical?
  • What does the section cited under row (s) say about audit triggers, scope, and any cost-shifting threshold, and how does that compare with the 2% to 5% range commentary reports?
  • Which rows are marked “Not Applicable,” and does that match your understanding of how this brand’s system actually operates?
  • How does the Item 6 audit fee interact with the audit rights described under row (s)? Could you owe both a flat fee and a separately cost-shifted audit expense?

Common questions

What does FDD Item 9 actually disclose?

A table, not an explanation. Item 9 is required by 16 CFR 436.5(i) to disclose 'a list of the franchisee's principal obligations' in tabular form, with three columns: the obligation, the section of the franchise agreement that imposes it, and the item of the disclosure document where it's discussed elsewhere. It tells you where each obligation lives. It does not state what the obligation requires.

Does Item 9 tell me how often I have to report sales or financial data to the franchisor?

No. Reporting frequency is private contract language that varies by brand, and no rule or statute states it as a general category. Item 9 row (r), records and reports, only points you to the section of the franchise agreement where that requirement is written. Franchise consultancies and accounting firms that work in this area describe monthly or quarterly reporting as common, but that is commentary, not something Item 9 itself discloses.

What is the 2% to 5% audit cost-shifting range some people mention for FDD Item 9?

It is not a figure Item 9 discloses. Item 9 row (s), inspections and audits, only points you to the agreement section covering the franchisor's audit rights. Franchise law firms that write about these clauses report that agreements commonly shift the cost of an audit onto the franchisee once an understatement of gross sales or royalties crosses a threshold, and that commentary most often puts that threshold somewhere in the 2% to 5% range. That is a commentary-reported range describing typical agreements, not a legal standard, and your actual threshold, if any, is only in the cited agreement section.

Is the Item 9 audit disclosure the same as the Item 6 audit fee?

No, and it helps to keep them separate. Item 6 discloses fees, including an 'audit fee' many FDDs list as a dollar cost the franchisor may charge. Item 9 row (s) does not disclose a fee at all; it points you to the agreement section describing the franchisor's inspection and audit rights, what triggers an audit, and what an audit can look at.

In what order should I read an FDD, and where does Item 9 fit?

Reading Item 9 early is a practical shortcut. Because it maps every principal obligation to the exact agreement section that creates it, using it as an index before or alongside reading the agreement itself gets you to the clauses that will actually govern your operation faster than reading either document cold.

Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these sources (last checked August 1, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.

  1. 16 CFR 436.5, Disclosure items (Item 9 at paragraph (i)), Cornell Legal Information Institute
  2. 16 CFR 436.5, current codified text (govinfo.gov, Code of Federal Regulations)

Get the Franchise Due-Diligence Kit

An FDD review checklist and a total investment worksheet that keep franchise fee, buildout, and working capital honest. Free, no spam, unsubscribe anytime.

The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.

Keep reading