Jersey Mike's Franchise Cost: What Its IPO Filing Reveals
Jersey Mike's SEC filing says over 90% of its 1,600-store pipeline goes to existing owners, yet half its 630 owners run one or two stores. Both are true.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialPublished August 2, 2026Updated August 2, 2026
Jersey Mike’s filed to go public in July 2026, and its S-1 says more about what buying one of its franchises is like than its franchising website does.
Two facts from that filing sit oddly together until you read them carefully, and between them they describe the opportunity better than any cost figure.
Both things are true, and the combination is the point
I expected this page to say that Jersey Mike’s advertises a low bar while its growth goes to insiders. The filing is more interesting than that.
“Over 90% of this pipeline is being undertaken by existing franchise owners.” That covers a committed development pipeline of more than 1,600 stores. New growth really is concentrated among people already in the system.
And: “more than 330 franchise owners operate only one or two stores”, out of more than 630 total owners. Over half its franchisees are small operators. That is not the profile of a system closed to ordinary buyers, and it is the opposite of what the pipeline figure alone would suggest.
The reconciliation is that these describe different things. The owner base is what has been built over decades and it is genuinely diverse. The pipeline is what is already committed and spoken for, and expansion rights tend to go to operators who have proven they can execute. A new applicant is not barred; they are joining a system where much of the near-term growth is already allocated.
The fee structure, from the filing itself
Its S-1 states the multi-unit terms directly: “an ADA fee of $10,000 along with an initial franchise fee of $20,000 per store opened in accordance with the ADA”, plus “a continuing royalty fee of 6.5% of gross receipts” and “a total advertising fund contribution equal to 5.0% of gross receipts”.
That combined 11.5 percent is at the top of the sandwich category. Firehouse Subs runs 11 percent and Which Wich 9. Both Jersey Mike’s figures state their basis, gross receipts, which many brands do not.
A separate $18,500 single-restaurant franchise fee is reported from its 2025 FDD by a trade outlet. We could not verify that against a primary document, so it is attributed rather than stated. It is not in conflict with the S-1 figures: one describes a standalone single-unit agreement, the other a multi-unit development agreement, which are different products.
What we could not establish, and will not guess
The net-worth and liquid-capital requirement. A pairing of $100,000 liquid and $300,000 net worth appears across many directory sites. No Jersey Mike’s page we could load publishes it, its application page returns a 404, and one trade outlet citing the 2025 FDD states that Jersey Mike’s does not specify liquid-asset or net-worth eligibility requirements at all.
Those cannot both be true, and a qualification threshold is exactly the figure a reader would act on. So it is not on this page. Ask for the FDD.
A total investment range. Third-party sources give at least four materially different ranges, from roughly $145,000 at the low end to $1.4 million at the high. That spread suggests different FDD vintages and unit types being conflated. Our Item 5 guide covers the fee, and our FDD walkthrough covers getting the real Item 7 table.
What this means if you are considering one
The encouraging read: a system with 630-plus owners, over half of whom run one or two stores, and no single operator holding more than about 3 percent, is a system where ordinary operators demonstrably succeed and stay. That diversity is a real signal, and Jersey Mike’s puts it in an SEC filing where overstating it would carry consequences.
The realistic read: with over 90 percent of a 1,600-store committed pipeline going to existing owners, a new applicant is competing for the remainder, in whatever markets are not already spoken for. That is worth asking about directly and early, because it is not visible from a cost page.
Questions to ask before you rely on any figure
- What are the liquid-capital and net-worth requirements, and are they specified in the FDD at all?
- What is the current Item 7 total investment range, split by format, from the FDD now in force?
- Is a single-restaurant agreement available in my market, or only an area development agreement?
- Of the 1,600-plus store pipeline, how much is uncommitted, and where?
- Is the $18,500 single-unit fee current, and how does it relate to the $10,000 plus $20,000 ADA structure?
- What does Item 20 show for transfers and closures over the last three years?
- Will a franchise attorney and an accountant review the full FDD with me before I commit?
Common questions
Is Jersey Mike's only for multi-unit operators?
No, and its own SEC filing is the best evidence. It states that more than 330 of its 630-plus franchise owners operate only one or two stores, so small owners are the majority of its base, not an exception. What the filing also shows is that over 90 percent of its committed development pipeline is going to existing owners, so new growth is concentrated among people already in the system.
How much does a Jersey Mike's franchise cost?
Its S-1 gives the multi-unit structure directly: a $10,000 area development agreement fee plus a $20,000 initial franchise fee per store opened under it. A separate $18,500 single-restaurant fee is reported from its 2025 FDD by a trade outlet, which we could not verify against a primary document. Total investment ranges vary widely across third-party sources and we are not picking one.
What are Jersey Mike's ongoing fees?
Per its own SEC filing, a continuing royalty of 6.5 percent of gross receipts plus a total advertising fund contribution of 5.0 percent of gross receipts. That is a combined 11.5 percent, at the top end of the sandwich category, and both figures state their basis.
What net worth does Jersey Mike's require?
We could not establish this and are not going to guess. A $100,000 liquid and $300,000 net worth pair circulates widely on directory sites, but no Jersey Mike's page we could load publishes it, and one trade outlet citing the 2025 FDD states that Jersey Mike's does not specify liquid-asset or net-worth eligibility requirements at all. Those cannot both be right. Ask for the FDD.
Why does an IPO filing matter to a prospective franchisee?
Because it is written for investors under securities-law liability rather than for recruitment, so it describes the system as it is. A company will tell prospective franchisees what is attractive; it tells the SEC where its growth is actually coming from. When a brand goes public, its S-1 becomes one of the most useful documents a prospective franchisee can read.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (last checked August 2, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
- Jersey Mike's Subs Inc. Form S-1 filed with the SEC on 2026-07-02 (CIK 0002127043), stating that over 90 percent of its development pipeline is being undertaken by existing franchise owners, that the largest franchise owner operates 91 stores, that more than 330 of its 630-plus owners operate only one or two stores, and giving its ADA fee structure, 6.5 percent royalty and 5.0 percent advertising contribution
- Jersey Mike's Subs Inc. Form S-1/A amendment filed 2026-07-20, carrying identical language on the development pipeline and owner base
- Restaurant Dive, reporting on the Jersey Mike's S-1 and independently quoting the development-pipeline figure (2026-07-02)
Get the Franchise Due-Diligence Kit
An FDD review checklist and a total investment worksheet that keep franchise fee, buildout, and working capital honest. Free, no spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Under $100K
Firehouse Subs Franchise Cost: Every State Open, 11% Ongoing
Firehouse Subs publishes three per-format investment ranges, a $20,000 fee, territory in every US state, and a veteran incentive worth up to $100,000 per restaurant.
Under $100K
Which Wich Franchise Cost: No Territory Protection
Which Wich publishes a $30,000 fee, a $253,500 to $822,250 investment and a city-level market map. It also states it does not offer territory protections.
Under $100K
Charleys Cheesesteaks Franchise Cost: Three Units Minimum
Charleys requires new franchisees to buy at least three licenses, so its $203,736 entry figure is really a three-restaurant commitment. The real fee math.
Buying Process
FDD Item 5 Explained: Initial Fees, Not Your Total Cost
A plain-English guide to Item 5 of the FDD: the initial fees you pay a franchisor before opening, whether they are refundable, and why they are not your total cost.
Buying Process
How to Read an FDD Without a Law Degree
A plain-English walkthrough of the Franchise Disclosure Document: the 23 items, which ones carry the money story, and the 14-day rule that protects you.