Knock Box for a Coffee Shop Counter, Compared
Knock boxes for a coffee shop counter compared by format, material grade, and puck capacity, with drawer, chute, and floor-standing options.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 17, 2026Updated October 15, 2026
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.
Choose the format before the brand: countertop, drawer, in-counter chute, or floor-standing. Match the knock box to the space beside your espresso machine, then compare disclosed materials, dimensions, and puck capacity. The options below use maker specifications, named retailer descriptions, and Coffeexplore’s hands-on Ourokhome test where indicated.
Picks by format
- Countertop high volume: Rattleware 9.25 x 5.5 x 4 inch, a candidate to compare for a busier counter; Rattleware doesn’t publish a puck count.
- Countertop compact: Rattleware 6 x 5.5 x 4 inch.
- Budget/low volume: Ourokhome with lid, a starting shortlist choice rather than a verified price ranking or daily-shot limit.
- In-counter: Rattleware open-bottom chute, model 25102.
- Drawer: Normcore size S or Rattleware SKU 5004978, both described by their makers for under-grinder use.
- Floor: The plastic Gliery floor-standing box, with the exact resin to confirm before ordering.
Choose the format first: countertop, drawer, in-counter, or floor-standing
These picks are organized into four formats so you can compare placement before choosing a model.
Countertop boxes sit directly on the counter surface. Consider their footprint alongside the machine, grinder, and tamping area.
Drawer placement depends on the design. Rattleware SKU 5004978 and Normcore’s drawer are described by their makers for use beneath a grinder on the counter. A counter-face drawer, such as the PRIOLINOX unit described by Espresso Parts below, is a separate installation choice. Do not assume every drawer requires under-counter mounting.
In-counter chutes use a counter opening with grounds collection below. Rattleware describes model 25102 as designed to fit into counters; Rhino describes its square chute as in-bench. Whether a finished counter can accommodate either depends on the installation.
Floor-standing units use floor space beside the bar instead of a countertop box footprint. Plan a position that leaves room for service and emptying; material alone does not establish capacity or longevity.
For a finished counter, compare a countertop box, an under-grinder drawer, and a floor-standing unit before deciding whether an installed chute suits the space.
How many pucks before you have to empty it
Coffeexplore’s hands-on Ourokhome report describes a 28-day test and a capacity of 8 to 10 standard 58mm double-shot pucks. Treat that as one reviewer’s result for the tested box, not a capacity guarantee for every dose or a commercial daily-shot threshold.
Clive Coffee’s home-espresso FAQ gives a 10-to-15-puck estimate for a compact model and recommends daily emptying and rinsing. That guidance describes a different context; it is not a tested count for the seven products below.
None of the other six makers publishes a tested puck count on the product pages linked here. Exterior dimensions are not a substitute for those counts. If capacity is the deciding factor, ask about the exact model and plan how emptying will fit your bar’s service routine.
Is it actually stainless steel? Material grade, disclosed
Per their linked maker pages, Ourokhome’s box and Normcore’s drawer use 304 stainless steel. Rattleware’s four product pages below identify stainless steel without specifying a grade number. That is a difference in disclosure, not evidence of a durability ranking. Rhino’s square in-bench chute also specifies 304 stainless steel and appears in the non-Amazon section below.
Bar construction needs its own check. A removable rubber cover is not the same as a removable bar. Rattleware’s 25125 page uses both descriptions, while Rhino specifies a welded bar with a replacement rubber sleeve. Do not assume every bar detaches for cleaning.
For a gauge and steel-series specification, Central Restaurant lists the Vollrath E06064-KB as 22-gauge, 300-series stainless steel. That detail is attributed to the retailer, not the current Vollrath product-page text; see the non-Amazon options below.
Certification: what the product specifications establish
None of these picks’ product specifications lists NSF, ETL, or another named certification. That is missing information, not proof that certification is absent or unnecessary.
If your equipment requirements call for a specific certification, request documentation for the exact model. Material grade and a commercial-use description do not themselves establish certification.
Who this is for, and who should skip it
This guide is for a cafe owner or manager choosing a knock box for an active espresso bar, whether you are outfitting a new counter, replacing a worn-out unit, or comparing formats during a remodel.
If you have not yet settled on the espresso machine or grinder, start with the commercial espresso machines and commercial coffee grinders guides. For the neighboring prep area, use the espresso tamping station guide to plan the space beside the knock box. For steaming equipment, see the milk frother and steamer guide; for a broader opening list, start with the coffee shop equipment list.
The picks: comparison by format
| Box | Format | Dimensions (per maker) | Material (grade as disclosed) | Knock bar | Tested puck capacity (only Coffeexplore’s Ourokhome test) | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ourokhome with lid | Countertop | 4.8-inch size label; full dimensions not stated by Ourokhome | 304 stainless steel, per Ourokhome | Thick rubberized bar, per Ourokhome; attachment unspecified | 8 to 10 standard 58mm double-shot pucks, per Coffeexplore | Low-volume shortlist |
| Rattleware 25110 | Countertop | Title: 6 x 5.5 x 4 in; table: 8 x 7 x 5 in; unresolved | Stainless steel; grade not stated by Rattleware | Rubber-coated, per Rattleware; attachment unspecified | Not published | Compact-counter shortlist |
| Rattleware 25125 | Countertop | Title: 9.25 x 5.5 x 4 in; table: 11 x 6 x 5 in; unresolved | Stainless steel; grade not stated by Rattleware | Rattleware describes both removable cover and removable coated bar; clarify | Not published | Higher-volume shortlist; confirm capacity |
| Rattleware 25102 | In-counter chute | Title: 6 x 5.5 x 4 in; table: 8 x 7 x 6 in; unresolved | Stainless steel; grade not stated by Rattleware | Rubber-coated, per Rattleware; attachment unspecified | Not published | Planned counter opening |
| Rattleware 5004978 | Under-grinder drawer | 11 x 7 x 6 in, per Rattleware | Stainless steel; grade not stated by Rattleware | Rubberized, per Rattleware; attachment unspecified | Not published | Under-grinder placement |
| Normcore size S | Under-grinder drawer | S: 28 x 14 x 7 cm (W/D/H), per Normcore | 304 stainless steel / rubber, per Normcore | Rubber-cushioned components, per Normcore; attachment unspecified | Not published | Drawer with disclosed 304 steel |
| Gliery white floor-standing box | Floor-standing | No manufacturer specification found | Plastic; Cafe Crumbs says PP, Carrefour UAE says ABS for separate variants | No manufacturer specification found | Not published | Floor placement; confirm exact specifications |
The format shortlists are selection advice, not measured capacity or performance rankings. Normcore also lists size L at 31.5 x 17 x 8.5 cm (W/D/H); the Amazon card below is size S.
FranchiseFeast is a participant in the Amazon Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The picks: countertop knock boxes
Compact countertop option for the low-volume shortlist
Ourokhome Espresso Knock Box with Lid, Stainless Variant
- Material
- 304 stainless steel, per Ourokhome
- Size label
- 4.8 inch, per Ourokhome; full dimensions not stated by Ourokhome
- Bar
- Thick rubberized bar, per Ourokhome; attachment not specified
- Base
- Four silicone pads, per Ourokhome
Coffeexplore reports 8 to 10 standard 58mm double-shot pucks and no warping, splitting, or permanent indentations after more than 100 aggressive strikes in its hands-on test. That is one reviewer's result, not a comparison with the other boxes or a commercial daily-shot limit. The reviewer describes the lid as loose rather than airtight, with some odor benefit.
Specs: Ourokhome manufacturer product page; test observations from Coffeexplore
Compact countertop shortlist
Rattleware Stainless Steel Knock Box, 6 x 5.5 x 4 Inch
- Model
- 25110 / SKU 5001693, per Rattleware
- Dimensions
- Rattleware title: 6 x 5.5 x 4 in; table: 8 x 7 x 5 in; unresolved
- Material
- Stainless steel; grade not stated by Rattleware
- Bar
- Rubber-coated, per Rattleware; attachment not specified
Compare this model for a compact countertop position, but confirm the dimensions before planning the fit: Rattleware gives two different sets without explaining the difference. Rattleware doesn't publish a tested puck count.
Specs: Rattleware 25110 / SKU 5001693 product page
Countertop candidate for the higher-volume shortlist
Rattleware Stainless Steel Knock Box, 9.25 x 5.5 x 4 Inch
- Model
- 25125 / SKU 5001695, per Rattleware
- Dimensions
- Rattleware title: 9.25 x 5.5 x 4 in; table: 11 x 6 x 5 in; unresolved
- Material
- Stainless steel; grade not stated by Rattleware
- Bar
- Rattleware describes both a removable cover and a removable coated bar; clarify what detaches
Consider this alongside the compact Rattleware when planning a busier counter, without treating the model name as a measured capacity advantage. The maker's dimensions do not identify the 9.25-inch axis as height. Resolve both the dimension discrepancy and bar-removal wording before ordering.
Specs: Rattleware 25125 / SKU 5001695 product page
The picks: drawer and in-counter formats
In-counter chute for a planned opening
Rattleware Open Bottom Knock Box Chute, 6 x 5.5 x 4 Inch
- Model
- 25102 / SKU 5001447, per Rattleware
- Placement
- Designed to fit into counters, per Rattleware
- Dimensions
- Rattleware title: 6 x 5.5 x 4 in; table: 8 x 7 x 6 in; unresolved
- Material and bar
- Stainless steel and rubber-coated bar, per Rattleware; grade and attachment unspecified
Choose this format when a counter opening and grounds collection below fit your layout. Get the installation sheet or dealer's exact cutout requirements before any counter work; neither conflicting exterior dimension set is a cutting instruction.
Specs: Rattleware 25102 / SKU 5001447 product page
Under-grinder drawer
Rattleware Stainless Steel Knock Box Drawer, 5004978
- Model
- SKU 5004978, per Rattleware
- Placement
- Under-grinder design, per Rattleware
- Dimensions
- 11 x 7 x 6 in, per Rattleware
- Material and bar
- Stainless steel and rubberized bar, per Rattleware; grade and attachment unspecified
Rattleware describes this as an under-grinder drawer. Compare its listed dimensions with the intended grinder position and allow room to open it. Rattleware's page doesn't specify leveling adjustment or under-counter mounting.
Specs: Rattleware SKU 5004978 product page (rattleware.com/product/5004978/)
Under-grinder drawer with disclosed 304 steel
Normcore Espresso Knocker Drawer, Size S
- Placement
- Beneath a grinder, per Normcore
- Dimensions (S)
- 28 x 14 x 7 cm / 11 x 5.5 x 2.8 in (W/D/H), per Normcore
- Dimensions (L)
- 31.5 x 17 x 8.5 cm / 12.4 x 6.7 x 3.4 in (W/D/H), per Normcore; separate size
- Material
- 304 stainless steel / rubber; rubber-cushioned components, per Normcore
The linked Amazon option is size S. Normcore also offers a larger L size, so dimensions matter when comparing variants. The maker describes under-grinder placement; Normcore's page doesn't state a removable knock bar or a mandatory under-counter installation.
Specs: Normcore espresso knock box drawer product page
The pick: floor-standing
Plastic floor-standing option
Gliery Floor-Standing Knock Box, White
Consider this format when floor placement suits the bar. No manufacturer site was found for specifications. Cafe Crumbs calls a separate white listing polypropylene, while Carrefour UAE calls a black variant ABS; those descriptions do not establish the exact resin for this white Amazon option. Confirm dimensions, bar construction, and capacity with the seller rather than transferring specifications across variants.
Specs: Amazon listing (no manufacturer site found)
Non-Amazon options worth knowing about
These maker and retailer links offer additional formats and specifications to compare; they do not establish exclusive sales channels.
Per Rhino Coffee Gear, the square knock chute, RWKC, is an in-bench chute for under-counter grounds disposal, with approximate dimensions of 140 x 150 x 110 mm, 304 stainless steel, and a bar welded to the sides with a replacement rubber sleeve. It is not a self-contained countertop box. Obtain installation requirements before planning a cutout.
Per WebstaurantStore, the Choice knock boxes use a stainless body and a removable rubber-wrapped bar. The 4-inch-deep model measures 7 x 7 x 4 inches and is described as a standard pan size; the separate 6-inch-deep model measures 7 x 7 x 6 inches. The cited retailer specifications do not state a steel grade.
Per Vollrath, the E06064-KB is made in the USA, measures 6.875 x 6.375 x 4 inches, and has a rubber-coated knock bar and included attachable rubber feet. Central Restaurant specifies 22-gauge, 300-series stainless steel for that model; those gauge and series details come from the retailer.
Per Espresso Parts, the PRIOLINOX 3005P is a counter-face-mounted pull-out drawer, designed and manufactured in Europe, with brass-bearing-mounted rollers, a molded one-piece internal pan, and an EPDM-coated rammer rod. Compare this installed format separately from the countertop under-grinder drawers above.
Matching format and brand to your bar
Decide the format first, based on the available counter or floor space and whether installation work fits your plan. Then resolve dimensions and bar construction for the exact model. Use Coffeexplore’s 8-to-10-puck Ourokhome result as one hands-on reference, not a capacity promise for other boxes. Compare disclosed materials without treating a grade number as proof of longevity or certification.
Knock boxes are one small piece of a full bar setup. Pair this guide with the commercial espresso machines and commercial coffee grinders comparisons, or start from the full coffee shop equipment list. For the counter space beside the knock box, compare full mats and narrow drip strips in the coffee bar mat and rail mat guide.
Common questions
Do I need a certified or NSF-listed knock box for my coffee shop?
None of these picks' product specifications lists an NSF, ETL, or other certification. A missing listing isn't proof a product lacks one. If your equipment requirements call for a specific listing, request documentation for the exact model before ordering.
How many pucks does a knock box hold before I have to empty it?
Coffeexplore reports 8 to 10 standard 58mm double-shot pucks in its hands-on Ourokhome test. That is one reviewer's result, not a commercial daily-shot limit. The other six makers don't publish tested puck counts, and exterior dimensions aren't a substitute.
Countertop, drawer, in-counter, or floor-standing: which knock box format should I choose?
Pick the format before the brand. Countertop boxes use counter space; floor-standing boxes use floor space. Rattleware and Normcore describe the drawers here as under-grinder designs. An in-counter chute needs a counter opening and space for grounds collection below, with installation details confirmed for the exact model.
Is stainless steel always better than plastic for a knock box?
Material alone does not establish service life. Ourokhome and Normcore disclose 304 stainless steel; Rattleware's product pages say stainless steel without a grade number. Gliery retailer descriptions conflict between ABS and polypropylene, so confirm the exact plastic with the seller. Bar construction also needs checking model by model.
Does a brand name establish knock-box durability?
Compare disclosed material and construction rather than assuming a brand establishes performance. Coffeexplore reports no warping, splitting, or permanent indentations after more than 100 aggressive strikes in its Ourokhome test. That single hands-on report does not establish a durability ranking across these products.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 15, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
- Rattleware 25110 / SKU 5001693: dimensions, material and bar
- Rattleware 25125 / SKU 5001695: conflicting dimensions and bar descriptions
- Rattleware 25102 / SKU 5001447: in-counter design, dimensions and material
- Rattleware SKU 5004978: under-grinder drawer specifications
- Rhino Coffee Gear square knock chute: in-bench format, 304 steel and welded bar
- Normcore espresso knock box drawer: S/L dimensions and 304 stainless steel / rubber
- Ourokhome knock box: 304 stainless steel, rubberized bar and silicone pads
- Coffeexplore: one reviewer's hands-on Ourokhome capacity and strike test
- Clive Coffee: home-espresso capacity and daily rinsing guidance
- Cafe Crumbs: Gliery white variant described as polypropylene
- Carrefour UAE: Gliery black variant described as ABS
- Vollrath E06064-KB: origin, dimensions, rubber-coated bar and feet
- Central Restaurant: Vollrath E06064-KB 22-gauge, 300-series stainless specification
- WebstaurantStore Choice 4-inch-deep box: dimensions, stainless body and removable rubber-wrapped bar
- WebstaurantStore Choice 6-inch-deep box: dimensions and removable rubber-wrapped bar
- Espresso Parts PRIOLINOX 3005P: counter-face drawer construction
Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist
A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Equipment
Commercial Espresso Machines for a First Cafe
Six espresso machines from entry commercial to serious volume, with group head, boiler, and power specs from manufacturer sheets, plus the volume math for sizing one
Equipment
Commercial Coffee Grinders a First Cafe Can Rely On
Six commercial espresso grinders compared on burr size, RPM, hopper capacity, and dosing, plus single dose vs hopper workflow for a cafe just opening.
Equipment
Coffee Shop Equipment List With Prices (2026 Budget Guide)
Coffee shop equipment list with 2026 price ranges for espresso, grinders, refrigeration, ice, POS and furniture, from Bellwether Coffee, 7shifts and Naixer.
Equipment
Milk Steamer for a Coffee Shop: Wands and Standalone Units
What a steamer coffee is, when a steam wand is enough, and when a standalone commercial milk steamer pays off, with a wand-capacity formula and health-code notes.
Equipment
Wireless Pager System for Coffee Shop Order Pickup
Coaster vs. wrist restaurant pagers for coffee shop pickup: real indoor range vs. advertised, charging base capacity, and the tradeoffs that actually matter.
Equipment
58mm Puck Screen for an Espresso Portafilter, Explained
58mm/58.5mm puck screens compared by thickness, mesh, and 304 vs 316 stainless, with a look at what cleanliness and extraction claims actually hold up.
Equipment
Single vs Double Basin Bar Sink for a Coffee Shop
A single-basin dump sink and a double-basin underbar sink do different jobs behind a coffee bar. What each is for, what health departments say, and what to buy.