Bubble Tea Cup Sealing Machine for a Shop: Buying Guide
Bubble tea cup sealing machines compared on 90mm vs 95mm fit, contradicting paper-cup claims across brands, and which models actually carry certification.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 16, 2026Updated October 14, 2026
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.
A bubble tea cup sealing machine presses a heated element onto a plastic film to melt-bond it flat across a cup’s rim, replacing a snap-on lid so a drink can be shaken and handed over without spilling. Every machine in this category is built around one fixed number: the diameter of its heating ring, which has to match both the cup’s rim and the film roll width exactly. Get that wrong and the machine won’t seal a single cup. Film mismatch is an easy way to end up with an idle machine.
This guide is built from manufacturer spec sheets and live Amazon listings, not a hands-on trial in a shop. Every spec below traces back to a specific listing or manufacturer page, and where two brands claim opposite things about the same size class of machine, that contradiction gets called out instead of smoothed over.
Who this is for, and who should skip it
This guide is for someone opening a boba shop, kiosk, or cafe add-on menu who has already settled on a cup and film supplier, or is close to it, and needs to pick the sealing machine that fits. It is also for anyone who typed “cup sealing machine” into Amazon, found similarly-priced VEVOR and JIAWANSHUN listings that quietly disagree about what cups they seal, and wants the contradiction explained rather than repeated as a spec.
Skip this guide if you have not yet chosen your cup supplier. Pick your cups and film first, then come back and match a machine to that decision. Buying a sealer before a cup is the reverse of how this category works, and it is how a shop ends up with an idle machine and a box of the wrong film.
90mm or 95mm, and does it seal paper: what each brand actually claims
Every listing here names 90mm and 95mm as the two dominant cup-rim sizes, and several ship with a dual-size tray covering both. The listings we reviewed disagree about cup material within that same size class. Two VEVOR units, a manual and a fully-automatic, state that they cannot seal paper or PET cups. Two other automatic units, from WantJoin and USAJZM, claim the opposite for the identical size class. Manufacturer claims are the only source on either side, so a shop switching between paper and plastic cups mid-menu needs to verify against its own cups, not the bullet copy.
| Machine | Diameter fit | Paper cups | PET cups | Certification |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VEVOR Manual Tea Cup Sealer | 90/95mm, inner diameter under 88mm | Listing states incompatible | Listing states incompatible | None claimed |
| JIAWANSHUN Manual Cup Sealer | 90/95mm, up to 170mm cup height | Listing claims compatible | Not stated | None claimed |
| WantJoin Automatic Cup Sealer | 90/95mm, 12 to 32oz cups | Listing claims compatible, matching film required | Listing claims compatible, matching film required | None claimed |
| VEVOR Fully Automatic Cup Sealer | 90/95mm, 90 to 180mm cup height | Listing states incompatible | Listing states incompatible | None claimed |
| USAJZM Automatic Cup Sealer | 90/95mm | Listing claims compatible | Not stated | None claimed |
Treat the paper-cup column as the real decision point. If your menu is plastic-cup only, the VEVOR units are a reasonable place to start. If you plan to offer paper cups, WantJoin’s own instructions are the most specific found anywhere here: use PP film for PP and paper cups, and PET film for PET cups. Run a small test batch before committing to a bulk cup order either way.
The picks: manual and automatic sealers on Amazon
The picks below are affiliate links to Amazon; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. FranchiseFeast is a participant in the Amazon Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Prices are shown live on Amazon, never by us.
Entry-level mechanical lever with almost no electronics
VEVOR Manual Tea Cup Sealer Machine, Blue
- Throughput
- 300 to 500 cups per hour
- Diameter
- 90/95mm, inner diameter under 88mm, max cup height 180mm
- Material fit
- PP/PE cups only; listing states incompatible with PET, paper, or glass
- Certification
- None claimed
Simple mechanical lever with almost nothing electronic to fail. But the listing itself rules out PET, paper, and glass cups. Confirm your cup material before you buy the film.
Specs: Live Amazon listing, fetched 2026-07-16
Manual sealer rated for 300 to 500 cups per hour
JIAWANSHUN Manual Cup Sealing Machine
- Throughput
- 300 to 500 cups per hour
- Diameter
- 90/95mm rim, up to 170mm cup height
- Material fit
- Plastic and paper cups per listing, 12oz to 24oz
- Control
- One-button power plus a temperature knob, no digital sensor
This one claims to work with plastic and paper cups alike, a point of difference from VEVOR's exclusion above. Nobody's independently tested that paper-cup claim across every coating on the market, though; it's manufacturer-stated only. Run your own cups through it before a bulk order.
Specs: Live Amazon listing, fetched 2026-07-16
Full automation with a manual-patch reseal function
WantJoin Commercial Boba Cup Sealing Machine
- Mode
- Auto/manual switch, plus a manual-patch function to fix a bad seal
- Diameter
- 90/95mm, 12 to 32oz cups
- Material fit
- PE/PP/PET and paper per listing, film type must match cup material
- Power
- 110 to 120V/60Hz, 350W
Full cup-feed-to-eject automation, plus a manual-patch mode that fixes a bad seal without wasting a cup, something none of the manual units offer. One thing to check yourself before buying: the listing title claims 600 cups an hour while the bullet copy says 500.
Specs: Live Amazon listing, fetched 2026-07-16
Fully-automatic unit with an anti-pinch safety door
VEVOR Fully Automatic Cup Sealing Machine
- Throughput
- 500 to 650 cups per hour
- Diameter
- 90/95mm, 90 to 180mm cup height
- Safety
- Anti-pinch safety door, automatic cup counter, auto/manual dual mode
- Material fit
- PP/PE cups only; listing states incompatible with PET, paper, or glass
The anti-pinch safety door is a physical safeguard the manual units don't list at all. Same paper-cup and PET exclusion as VEVOR's manual unit above, though, which directly contradicts WantJoin and USAJZM below.
Specs: Live Amazon listing, fetched 2026-07-16
Simplest automatic control scheme, with a used-unit option
USAJZM Automatic Cup Sealing Machine
- Throughput
- 500 to 600 cups per hour
- Diameter
- 90/95mm
- Control
- LCD panel, adjustable temperature and time, one-touch feed/cut/seal
- Material fit
- Plastic and paper cups per listing
Simpler control scheme than WantJoin's, with an LCD panel and one-touch feed/cut/seal cycle, and Amazon Resale sometimes lists a used or like-new unit for less. It carries no certification claim, same as every listing here.
Specs: Live Amazon listing, fetched 2026-07-16
Two more machines turned up but are not featured as picks. A VEVOR semi-automatic model with a laser-eye film sensor and PET compatibility was out of stock when checked. A BubbleTeaology listing was the only Amazon cup sealer we found with UL certification stated in the product title itself, and it too was unavailable when we checked on July 16, 2026. We did not verify that UL claim. Both are worth knowing exist; neither was something you could buy that day.
The certified tier, and why it costs more
The certification story gets more specific once you look at where these machines actually come from. Y-Fang Group, a Taiwan manufacturer, sells two nearly identical table-type sealing machines built on the same 340 by 360 by 610mm, 24kg chassis: the ET-999SN and the ET-99SU. They are not certified the same way.
| Model | Chassis | Certification claimed |
|---|---|---|
| Y-Fang ET-999SN | Same 340x360x610mm, 24kg body, 450 cups/hour max | CE and UKCA; no UL, ETL, or NSF claim found |
| Y-Fang ET-99SU | Same 340x360x610mm, 24kg body, 450 cups/hour max | cULus Listed; no CE or NSF claim found |
That split matters because a manufacturer’s certification is not a blanket claim across its model line. Two numbers from the same maker, mechanically near-identical, carry two different and non-overlapping certifications, so you cannot assume “the 999-series is certified for the US market” just because a sibling model carries a US-recognized mark. It depends on the exact SKU in front of you.
What health inspectors actually check, and what they don’t
The FDA Food Code is a model code, not a federal law that applies on its own; state and local jurisdictions adopt it, often with amendments, and it is at that level that equipment certification becomes an enforceable requirement. California spells this out: Health and Safety Code Section 114130 requires new and replacement food-related equipment to be certified or classified for sanitation by an ANSI-accredited certification program (restricted food service facilities can be excused, and where no standard applies the enforcement agency evaluates the equipment), and separately requires new and replacement electrical appliances to meet applicable UL standards as determined by an ANSI-accredited program. Whether a given cup sealer falls under the food-related-equipment clause is for your inspector to decide, but a California shop stands on firmer ground with the Bossen-tier machine that lists NSF and UL than with an uncertified import. For any other state, confirm the specific requirement with your local health department.
None of this is uniform, and enforcement varies by state and county. The bottom line: zero currently-purchasable Amazon cup sealer carries a verifiable NSF, UL, ETL, or CE mark, while the Bossen dealer-tier machine carries both NSF and UL per its own product page. Ask your local health department before assuming an uncertified import will clear inspection; the price gap between the two tiers is a cost-and-risk tradeoff, not just a price difference.
One code question comes up across foodservice equipment guides: NFPA 96. NFPA 96 is the standard for ventilation control and fire protection of commercial cooking operations, the kind of standard behind hoods and fire-suppression systems over fryers. A cup sealer is an electric heat-sealing appliance that presses a heated element onto a film, not a cooking appliance, so we would not expect a hood requirement for it, but we did not verify how NFPA 96 or your local fire code applies. Ask your fire marshal and health department directly. The compliance question most likely to matter here is the NSF/UL certification question above.
Keeping it running
Wipe the heating plate and film path daily with a food-safe cleaner so melted-film residue does not disrupt the next seal, and do a weekly deeper clean of the sealing plate and cutter blade. Automatic units also benefit from an occasional internal clean with compressed air and light lubrication of the guide rails every couple of weeks. Power off and unplug before any of it, and never touch the heating element right after use. Treat this as directional industry practice, not a single authoritative schedule; none of the manufacturers checked for this guide publish a maintenance interval specific to their own SKU.
Matching the machine to your shop
Confirm your cup and film supplier first, then match the machine’s diameter and material claim to that choice, not the other way around. With a plastic-only menu, VEVOR’s manual unit is the simplest place to start. Planning to offer paper cups too? WantJoin’s film-matching instructions are the most specific claim in this guide, though still worth testing on your own cups first. And if a local inspector is the real wildcard, the Bossen dealer tier is the only option here with a stated NSF and UL claim.
For the drink-mixing step before sealing, see our commercial boba shaker machine guide.
If you’re weighing a franchise brand instead of building independently, check your FDD’s required-equipment list (Item 8) before buying any sealer here on your own. Some franchisors specify a particular model or vendor, and that alone is reason enough to confirm the document first. Our cheapest boba tea franchise guide covers the franchise-fee and total-investment side of that decision. For the rest of a boba build, see our guides to commercial tapioca pearl cookers and bubble tea fructose dispensers, and if you’re outfitting a broader cafe menu alongside boba, the full coffee shop equipment list covers the rest of the build. Comparing a dessert-franchise route instead of independent equipment buying? Our ice cream and dessert franchise guide is the adjacent business-side read.
Compare franchise fees, royalties and disclosure dates in our bubble tea franchise cost comparison.
Common questions
Do I need a 90mm or 95mm sealer, and can one machine do both?
90mm and 95mm describe the cup's outer rim diameter, and the machine's heating ring and the film roll both have to match that same class. A 90mm-only machine cannot seal a 95mm cup, and the reverse is also true. Several machines in this guide ship with an adjustable tray or interchangeable ring covering both sizes, useful if you have not locked in a cup supplier yet, but always confirm the specific film roll you order matches the cup on hand. Film-width mismatches are an easy setup mistake, since the ring and the film have to match.
Can these machines seal paper cups, or only plastic?
It depends entirely on the specific model, and manufacturers directly contradict each other on this point. VEVOR's manual and fully-automatic units state they are incompatible with paper cups and PET, while WantJoin's and USAJZM's automatic units claim paper-cup compatibility with a matching film type. Buying by category won't tell you which camp a machine falls into. Check the individual listing, then test a small batch of your actual cups before a bulk film order goes out.
Is an Amazon cup sealer actually certified for commercial use?
No. None of the currently-purchasable Amazon cup sealers checked here carries a verifiable NSF, UL, ETL, or CE certification claim, and a BubbleTeaology listing that stated UL certification in its title was unavailable when we checked on July 16, 2026. The certified tier, carrying both NSF and UL per the distributor's own product page, is sold through foodservice distributors like Bossen, not Amazon. Enforcement varies by jurisdiction, though, and an uncertified import that clears inspection in one county might not in the next, so check with your own local health department before you buy rather than after.
How much does the sealing film cost to run day to day?
Film is a running cost, and it is sized in cups per roll: a JIAWANSHUN film roll seals roughly 3,000 cups, and a WYZworks roll seals about 3,275, per their Amazon listings. Matching 95mm PP cups are sold separately. Check the current price of the film and the cups on Amazon, then divide by cups per roll or pack to get your own cost per cup. At typical throughput of 300 to 650 cups an hour depending on the machine, a moderate-volume shop can burn through a film roll in well under a full day of service. Your own changeover frequency comes down to your daily cup count, not any single figure quoted here.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 14, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
- FDA Food Code 2022 (official landing page, model code adopted by state/local jurisdictions)
- California Legislative Information, Health and Safety Code Section 114130 (new and replacement food-related equipment certified or classified for sanitation by an ANSI-accredited program, with a restricted-facility exception; new and replacement electrical appliances meet applicable UL standards as determined by an ANSI-accredited program)
- NFPA 96, Standard for Ventilation Control and Fire Protection of Commercial Cooking Operations (official product page; title only, we did not verify how a fire marshal applies it to a cup sealer)
- Y-Fang Group (Yifang), ET-999SN Table Type Sealing Machine manufacturer spec page (CE/UKCA-certified SKU)
- Y-Fang Group (Yifang), ET-99SU PP Cup Sealing Machine manufacturer spec page (cULus-listed SKU)
- Bossen EM0011, 95mm PP Sealing Machine product page (NSF and UL certified dealer-tier machine)
Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist
A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Under $100K
The Cheapest Boba Tea Franchises to Open, Ranked
Compare four boba franchises using 2026 FDD costs, from Kung Fu Tea's $169,000 standalone shop, plus fees and royalties.
Equipment
Commercial Tapioca Pearl Cooker for a Boba Shop
Commercial tapioca pearl cookers for boba shops: Amazon import units with no confirmed certification versus a UL-listed stainless design, plus FDA hold-time rules.
Equipment
Bubble Tea Fructose Dispensers: Specs and Certification
Amazon-sold bubble tea fructose dispensers skip NSF and UL certification; Bossen and Narvon carry it at 5 to 10x the price. Specs, tiers, and sweetness calibration.
Equipment
Coffee Shop Equipment List With Prices (2026 Budget Guide)
Coffee shop equipment list with 2026 price ranges for espresso, grinders, refrigeration, ice, POS and furniture, from Bellwether Coffee, 7shifts and Naixer.
Under $100K
Ice Cream and Dessert Franchise Costs (2026): 7 Brands + Seasonality
Compare seven dessert franchise costs using five 2026 FDDs and two franchise sites, with format-specific investments, fees, outlet counts, and seasonality.
Equipment
Mini Split AC for a Coffee Kiosk: Sizing by Real Heat Load
Mini split air conditioners for a coffee kiosk, sized by real equipment heat load instead of square footage, with sourced BTU math and picks.
Equipment
Sugar-Free Syrup for a Coffee Shop: Brands, Bases, Bottles
Sugar-free coffee syrup brands compared for cafes: sweetener bases, bottle formats, pump fit, and opened shelf life, sourced from manufacturer specs.