Commercial Tapioca Pearl Cooker for a Boba Shop
Commercial tapioca pearl cookers for boba shops: Amazon import units with no confirmed certification versus a UL-listed stainless design, plus FDA hold-time rules.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 16, 2026Updated October 14, 2026
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.
A commercial automatic tapioca pearl cooker is a countertop appliance that boils and holds cooked boba pearls on a timed, often touchscreen-controlled cycle, standing in for an employee stirring a pot by hand. This guide compares manufacturer and listing spec sheets rather than hands-on testing, and every capacity, wattage, and certification claim below traces back to the source it came from. No price appears in any spec box; check the current price on Amazon through each link instead, since import-kitchen-appliance pricing moves often.
Many storefront brands on Amazon
Search “commercial automatic tapioca pearl cooker” on Amazon and you’ll find listings from YJINGRUI, WantJoin, Flyseago, BGSHKAL, and other storefront brands. The listings we reviewed describe touchscreen pots, mostly aluminum-alloy with a non-stick lining (the WantJoin 12L listing shows stainless steel as its material), in 5L to 16L sizes at varying wattages. We did not verify who manufactures them or whether they share a design. The product cards below link a live Amazon search rather than one storefront’s SKU, because listings and brand names change. Compare capacity, wattage, and cycle time, and treat any certification claim with skepticism until you can point to a specific mark on a specific listing.
Two tiers, not two prices on the same machine
The category splits into two products that happen to solve the same problem, not one product at two price points.
| Amazon import tier | Certified direct tier | |
|---|---|---|
| Typical capacity | 5L to 16L (per listings) | 9L to 15L water volume (YSL); Webstaurantstore lists 9 - 13.5 liters and up to 6.6 lb of pearls per batch |
| Construction | Mostly aluminum-alloy body with non-stick lining per listings; the WantJoin 12L listing shows stainless steel | SUS304 food-grade stainless steel (YSL) |
| Power | 860W to 2,200W, 110V on most listings | 3,000W, 220 to 240V single-phase (YSL) |
| Certification | None confirmed on any listing reviewed | UL Certified per the Webstaurantstore listing; YSL lists product patents |
| Where it’s sold | Amazon storefront brands | YSL’s own site; the Webstaurantstore listing for the Bossen EM0523 is marked no longer available |
| Control | Touchscreen timer, or (on one model) a temperature probe | Stirrer and overheat protection at 105 C per YSL |
The non-Amazon reference point we found is Yung Soon Lih’s F-915 “Smart Cooker Pro 3.0,” a Taiwanese manufacturer’s stainless design that YSL lists on its own site. Bossen, a brand, listed a cooker with the same model number, the EM0523, through the seller Webstaurantstore; that page shows “UL Certified” and says the product is no longer available. These are sold through dealers rather than Amazon. If a shop owner assumes this design is just a fancier version of the Amazon units, correct that: the sources cited here show a stainless steel pot from a named manufacturer with a UL Certified listing on the dealer page, where the Amazon listings show no confirmed mark.
Who this is for, and who should skip it
This guide is for a single-location boba shop deciding between an import automatic cooker and a manual pot-and-timer setup, or weighing whether the certified direct tier is worth the jump. It’s also for anyone who has already bought a cheap import unit and wants to know what its “keep-warm” claim actually covers under local health code.
Skip the Amazon listings we reviewed if your health department requires NSF or UL certification on cooking equipment as a condition of your permit; ask before you buy, not after an inspection. If you’re doing under a few dozen boba drinks a day, skip the whole automatic-cooker category too: a stockpot, a timer, and a written recipe get you the same pearls at a fraction of the cost, and no source we found ties an automatic cooker to better-tasting pearls, only more hands-off consistency during the cook.
The picks below are affiliate links to Amazon; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. FranchiseFeast is a participant in the Amazon Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Prices are shown live on Amazon, never by us.
Smallest footprint, entry point for testing automation
YJINGRUI Commercial Automatic Tapioca Pearl Cooker 5L
- Capacity / power
- 5L, 900W, 110V
- Batch size
- ~0.9 kg pearls per cycle
- Cycle time
- 50 minutes (25 min boil, 25 min stew)
- Certification
- None claimed on listing
The small footprint makes sense for a single-register shop testing whether automation is worth it before committing further. On the downside, 0.9 kg per batch is small past a handful of daily orders, and no NSF, UL, or ETL mark appears anywhere on the listing.
Specs: Amazon listing
Mid-size batch for a moderate-volume single location
WantJoin 12L Commercial Boba Cooker
- Capacity / power
- 12L, 1,850W, 110V
- Batch size
- 2.2 to 4 lb (1 to 1.8 kg) pearls
- Included
- Soup ladle and mesh strainer
- Certification
- Not stated on listing
WantJoin sells the same design both direct and through several Amazon listings, so parts or support questions have somewhere to go beyond a single storefront. That said, the 1-year warranty is seller-stated rather than independently verified, and WantJoin itself lists near-identical capacity variants under slightly different titles, the same brand-proliferation pattern that runs across this whole category.
Specs: Amazon listing and WantJoin manufacturer product page
Largest capacity in the Amazon tier
Flyseago Fully Automatic Pearl Pot 16L
- Capacity
- 16L (power, voltage, and batch size not verified for this update; read the current listing)
- Certification
- Not stated on listing
A 16L pot is the largest capacity in this tier, which matters for a high-volume shop that cooks once and holds. The tradeoff is electrical: a unit this size may draw more than a standard 15A/120V circuit can carry alongside other kitchen equipment, so get the nameplate wattage and voltage from the seller and confirm circuit capacity with an electrician before you order, not after.
Specs: Amazon listing
Temperature-probe control instead of timer-only
BGSHKAL 5L Automatic Boba Cooker
- Capacity / power
- 5L, 860W, 110V
- Control
- Precision temperature probe, not timer-only
- Keep-warm
- 9 hours stated by manufacturer
- Certification
- Not stated on listing
A temperature probe rather than a fixed timer targets a real failure mode: ambient or water-temperature drift changing how long pearls actually need to cook, which a simple countdown timer can't detect. Weigh that against a thin independent review history and the fact that a 9-hour keep-warm claim is about texture, not a food-safety clearance to hold pearls that long under your local health code.
Specs: Amazon listing
How long can you actually hold cooked pearls?
Raw, dry tapioca starch isn’t a food-safety concern. Cooked pearls are a different story. The FDA Food Code defines Time/Temperature-Control-for-Safety (TCS) food in Section 1-201.10(B) to include a plant food that is heat-treated, subject to exclusions based on water activity and pH, so ask your health department how it classifies pearls held in syrup. A shop that holds them at room temperature rather than refrigerated or hot-held would be relying on the Food Code’s Time as a Public Health Control provision, Section 3-501.19.
Georgia’s Department of Agriculture lays out the standard version: food starts at or below 41F or at or above 135F, gets a discard-time mark exactly 4 hours out, is served or discarded inside that window, and never returns to temperature control once the clock starts. A 6-hour cold-only variant exists if the food starts at or below 41F and is continuously monitored to stay below 70F. Under Section 3-501.19(A) of the Food Code, written procedures must be prepared in advance, kept in the establishment, and made available to the regulatory authority on request. States and counties adopt their own versions, so don’t assume the Georgia default travels unchanged across state lines; ask your health department what it requires.
None of this is what a cooker’s marketing copy is telling you. A “9-hour” or “12-hour keep-warm” claim describes how long pearls hold their chew, a texture claim, and it is not a food-safety clearance to exceed whatever hold window your local health department actually enforces. Separately, Bubble Panda, a pearl supplier, says cooked pearls are best eaten within 4 hours of cooking, and that pearls kept overnight in the refrigerator often turn firmer, gummier or softer. Verify your specific hold-time rule with your local health department or authority having jurisdiction before you build a syrup-holding procedure around any machine’s marketing claim.
One more code question shop owners ask is whether a pearl cooker needs a hood or fire-suppression system the way a fryer does. NFPA 96 is the standard for ventilation control and fire protection of commercial cooking operations; an electric cooker that boils pearls in water is a different situation from a fryer, but we did not verify how NFPA 96 or your local fire code applies, so ask your fire marshal and health department. The compliance exposure we can point to in this category is food safety and the appliance’s own electrical and sanitation certification.
Pot and timer, or automatic cooker: what actually changes
A stovetop pot-and-timer method needs an employee standing over the pot, stirring continuously, and holding a temperature and time window by hand for the full 45 to 95 minute cycle. An automatic cooker’s genuine selling point is freeing that employee to do something else while the machine keeps its own timing and stirring. What it does not have, in any source we could independently verify, is a documented effect on pearl yield or waste percentage. Yung Soon Lih’s page describes higher yield and a 10% sales increase for an unnamed beverage chain with no disclosed methodology; treat that as marketing, not neutral fact.
Whichever tier you land on, plan for cleaning. Starch buildup inside the pot affects heating efficiency and causes uneven cooking over time, so daily cleaning with a weekly deep clean or descale is what BubbleTeaology’s guide recommends, and it says starch buildup can affect heating efficiency and cause uneven cooking.
Pearl cookers are one piece of a boba program’s back-of-house lineup. Once cooked pearls are ready, they still need to reach a sealed cup, so pair this with our bubble tea cup sealing machine guide, and check the boba shaker machine guide for the mixing step in between. For the full equipment list a new cafe or boba counter needs beyond boba-specific gear, see our coffee shop equipment list and the broader cafe equipment hub. If you’re still deciding whether to open independently or under a brand, our cheapest boba tea franchise guide covers the buy-in side of that decision.
Compare franchise fees, royalties and disclosure dates in our bubble tea franchise cost comparison.
Common questions
Do I need an automatic tapioca cooker, or can I just use a pot and a timer?
For very low volume, a pot and a timer works fine and costs almost nothing. The real benefit of an automatic cooker is freeing an employee's attention during the 45 to 95 minute cycle, not a yield or taste improvement a manual cook can't also get with a good recipe and a timer. No source found ties these machines to better-tasting pearls, only more consistent hands-off timing.
Is an Amazon boba cooker the same machine as the certified direct-tier one?
No. The Amazon listings we reviewed are 5 to 16-liter units, and none carries a confirmed NSF, UL, or ETL mark. Yung Soon Lih's F-915 is a Taiwanese-made stainless design (SUS304 per its manufacturer page); the Webstaurantstore listing for the Bossen EM0523, which shows that model number, lists it as UL Certified and now marks it no longer available. They are different products, not the same unit at two prices.
How long can I hold cooked pearls before they go bad?
Two different clocks apply. Under the FDA Food Code, a heat-treated plant food falls within the Time/Temperature-Control-for-Safety definition unless its water activity or pH puts it outside it, so ask your health department how it classifies syrup-held pearls. If a shop holds them under Time as a Public Health Control, the Food Code allows 4 hours, or up to 6 hours if the food starts at or below 41F and is monitored to stay below 70F, with a discard-time mark and written procedures kept for the inspector. On taste, Bubble Panda, a pearl supplier, says cooked pearls are best eaten within 4 hours of cooking and that pearls kept overnight in the refrigerator often turn firmer, gummier or softer. A machine's '9-hour keep-warm' feature describes texture, not a food-safety clearance to hold past your local rule.
Do I need a hood or fire-suppression system for a tapioca cooker like I do for a fryer?
Ask your fire marshal and health department. NFPA 96 is the standard for ventilation control and fire protection of commercial cooking operations, and a fryer is the usual example. An electric tapioca cooker boils pearls in water, which is a different situation, but we did not verify how NFPA 96 or your local fire code treats it. The compliance questions we can point to are food safety (TCS/TPHC) and the appliance's own electrical and sanitation certification.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 14, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
- FDA Food Code 2022 (full text PDF): 1-201.10 TCS definition (a plant food that is heat-treated), 3-501.19 Time as a Public Health Control (4-hour and 6-hour versions, written procedures)
- Georgia Department of Agriculture, Time as a Public Health Control (TPHC): 4-hour version with a discard-time mark, 6-hour version at or below 41F and monitored to stay under 70F
- Yung Soon Lih Food Machine Co., Smart Boba Cooker Machine Pro 3.0 (F-915) manufacturer page (AC220V-240V, 3000W, 9L to 15L water volume, SUS304 stainless steel, overheat protection at 105 C)
- Webstaurantstore, Bossen EM0523 Bubble Tea Tapioca Smart Cooker (Webstaurantstore is the seller, Bossen the brand; listing shows model F-915 Smart Cooker Pro 3.0, 220 Volts, 3,000 Watts, 9 - 13.5 Liters, UL Certified, and says the product is no longer available)
- BubbleTeaology, Choosing the Right Pearl Cooker for Your Bubble Tea Business (starch buildup affecting heating efficiency and cooking; daily cleaning and regular descaling)
- Bubble Panda, How Long Do Tapioca Pearls Last? (best eaten within 4 hours of cooking; refrigerated overnight pearls often turn firmer, gummier or softer)
Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist
A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Equipment
Bubble Tea Cup Sealing Machine for a Shop: Buying Guide
Bubble tea cup sealing machines compared on 90mm vs 95mm fit, contradicting paper-cup claims across brands, and which models actually carry certification.
Equipment
Boba Shaker Machine: Specs, Certification, or Hand-Shake?
Commercial boba shaker machines compared by spec: maker specifications, NSF certification reality, throughput math, and when hand-shaking still wins.
Under $100K
The Cheapest Boba Tea Franchises to Open, Ranked
Compare four boba franchises using 2026 FDD costs, from Kung Fu Tea's $169,000 standalone shop, plus fees and royalties.
Equipment
Coffee Shop Equipment List With Prices (2026 Budget Guide)
Coffee shop equipment list with 2026 price ranges for espresso, grinders, refrigeration, ice, POS and furniture, from Bellwether Coffee, 7shifts and Naixer.
Equipment
Best Commercial Cold Brew Coffee Makers for Cafes
Commercial cold brew makers for a cafe, sized by batch: Toddy and Wilbur Curtis immersion systems vs Yama and Hario slow-drip towers, plus filter costs.
Equipment
Syrup Pump Organizer Rack for a Coffee Shop Station
Syrup pump organizer racks for a coffee shop, sized for real pump-open clearance, bottle capacity, and 1L vs 750ml fit, with tradeoffs.
Equipment
Wet Floor Signs for a Coffee Shop: a Safety Checklist
Wet floor signs and anti-fatigue mats for a coffee shop, sized by zone count, with the OSHA and ANSI standards explained.