Cup Dispenser for a Cafe Counter: NSF Tubes vs Organizers
Cup dispensers for a coffee shop counter, compared by mechanism and sizing math for 8 to 20oz cups, install type, and NSF certification notes.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 17, 2026Updated October 15, 2026
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.
A cup dispenser for a coffee shop counter can mean two different things: an NSF-listed tube that retains nested cups with clips or gaskets, or an open-cubby organizer that holds cup and lid stacks in separate compartments. This guide compares those designs, shows the rim-diameter math for an 8 to 20oz lineup, and separates Amazon picks from dealer options.
Our picks at a glance
- In-counter, all sizes: Dispense-Rite ADJ-2, subject to your cups’ rim diameters.
- Budget in-counter: Dispense-Rite STL-2S.
- Small cups: Dispense-Rite ADJ-1.
- Wall-mount: San Jamar C3400P + L3402 lid dispenser.
- Wall-mount cup/lid/straw organizer: Dispense-Rite HLCO-3BT.
- Multi-size cabinet (dealer): San Jamar C2803.
The comparisons use manufacturer specifications; these products have not been hands-on tested. Confirm your cup and lid fit before ordering.
The real confusion: two kinds of “cup dispenser” on Amazon
A tube dispenser holds nested cups inside an enclosure and retains them at the dispensing opening. The Dispense-Rite ADJ models use adjustable spring-steel clips, the STL-2S uses plastic clips, and the Vollrath INC-80 and San Jamar C2803 use gaskets. NSF status belongs to the specific model or component identified by the maker, not to every product from the same brand.
Open-cubby organizers hold several cup, lid, or condiment stacks in accessible compartments. The Dispense-Rite HLCO-3BT is one example, with no NSF certification stated by its maker. It offers visible, accessible supplies, while a tube shields more of the nested cup stack. Choose based on cup fit, installation space, and the protection required at your station.
Sizing math: one tube for 8, 12, 16, and 20oz cups
Here is the number that decides whether you need one dispenser or four. Standard paper hot-cup rim (top) diameters cluster tightly across the sizes most cafes carry, and they do not scale linearly with stated ounce size:
| Cup size | Approx. rim diameter |
|---|---|
| 8 oz | ~80mm (~3.15”) |
| 12 oz | ~80 to 90mm (~3.15” to 3.54”) |
| 16 oz | ~90mm (~3.54”) |
| 20 oz | ~90mm (~3.54”) |
These approximate figures follow the mbpak paper-cup dimensions chart linked in Sources; dimensions vary by cup manufacturer. Treat them as directional, not an exact spec to order against blind. But the pattern is consistent enough to matter: a 12oz and a 16oz cup often share the same 90mm rim, differing mainly in cup height rather than diameter. That is why a single adjustable dispenser rated for roughly 3” to 4-5/8” of rim diameter, like Dispense-Rite’s ADJ-2 line, spans the entire 8 through 20oz range in one tube. A cafe running drip, cold brew, and a large iced size does not need four separate dispensers stacked along the counter. One correctly rated adjustable tube can fit those sizes in turn; dispensing several sizes simultaneously still needs separate stacks or tubes.
The narrower end of the lineup works the same way in reverse. Dispense-Rite’s ADJ-1 is rated for 2-1/2” to 3-1/2” rims and ordinarily 4 to 12oz cups; the maker also notes 22oz paper cups. That exception reinforces why ounce labels alone are insufficient. San Jamar rates the C3400P for 12 to 24oz cups, so an 8oz station falls outside its stated range.
Three mechanisms: spring-clip, gasket, and open cubby
Retention and feed are different jobs: clips or gaskets retain the cup at the opening, while compression springs feed the stack toward it.
Adjustable clips (Dispense-Rite ADJ and STL series): the ADJ-1 and ADJ-2 use spring-steel adjustment clips; the STL-2S uses three plastic adjustment clips. Each model comes with two compression springs. Those springs feed the cups, rather than gripping their rims. Set the clips for your cups according to the model’s instructions; do not assume that changing sizes requires no adjustment.
Gasket-style (Vollrath INC-80 and San Jamar C2803): interchangeable gaskets retain cups at the opening. Vollrath supplies four silicone gaskets; San Jamar specifies four pre-cut interchangeable gaskets. Select the gasket that fits your cups rather than relying on the ounce label alone.
Open cubby (Dispense-Rite HLCO-3BT): supplies sit in open compartments without a clip or gasket mechanism. This allows cups, lids, straws, and condiment packets to share an organizer, but leaves stacks more accessible to hands and surrounding contamination than an enclosed tube.
The San Jamar C3400P is a pull-type dispenser with a self-adjusting collar. San Jamar does not identify that collar as a spring-clip or gasket mechanism, so it should not be assigned either construction. The L3402 is a front-loading lid dispenser, not a cup tube.
Countertop, wall-mount, or in-counter: matching install type to your build
- In-counter, cutout required: Dispense-Rite’s ADJ and STL lines and the Vollrath INC-80 all mount through a hole cut in the counter (Vollrath specifies a 5-1/2” countertop cutout). Once installed, the tube sits flush and out of the way, which maximizes usable counter surface. This is not a set-it-down product, though. It needs a cutout planned into the counter fabrication or cabinetry.
- Wall or surface mount, no cutout: San Jamar’s surface-mount cup and lid dispensers and the Dispense-Rite HLCO-3BT organizer move the dispenser off the counter entirely, onto a wall near the service point. This frees counter space but needs wall real estate and, for the stainless units, drilling for mounting screws.
- Countertop, no installation: San Jamar’s EZ-Fit multi-slot cabinet and the HLCO-3BT organizer need zero installation and can be moved or replaced without any construction, at the cost of a larger permanent footprint sitting directly on the counter.
A brand-new build-out with counter space still being fabricated is the cleanest case for going in-counter. A retrofit of an existing counter that cannot be cut fits wall-mount or a countertop cabinet better.
Do self-serve cup stations need a sneeze guard? A carefully honest answer
The FDA Food Code 2022 addresses storage and dispensing of single-service articles separately from shielding displayed food.
4-903.11(A), PDF page 134, printed Chapter 4 - 28:
(A) Except as specified in ¶ (D) of this section, cleaned EQUIPMENT and UTENSILS, laundered LINENS, and SINGLE-SERVICE and SINGLE-USE ARTICLES shall be stored:
(1) In a clean, dry location;
(2) Where they are not exposed to splash, dust, or other contamination; and
(3) At least 15 cm (6 inches) above the floor.
4-903.11(C), same page:
(C) SINGLE-SERVICE and SINGLE-USE ARTICLES shall be stored as specified under ¶ (A) of this section and shall be kept in the original protective PACKAGE or stored by using other means that afford protection from contamination until used.
Paragraph (D) allows closed packages below that height on dollies, pallets, racks, and skids designed as specified in section 4-204.122.
4-904.11(A) and (C), PDF page 135, printed Chapter 4 - 29:
(A) SINGLE-SERVICE and SINGLE-USE ARTICLES and cleaned and SANITIZED UTENSILS shall be handled, displayed, and dispensed so that contamination of FOOD- and lip-contact surfaces is prevented.
(C) Except as specified under ¶ (B) of this section, SINGLE-SERVICE ARTICLES that are intended for FOOD- or lip-contact shall be furnished for CONSUMER self-service with the original individual wrapper intact or from an APPROVED dispenser.
Paragraph (B) concerns knives, forks, and spoons. For cup stations, the quoted provisions require protected storage and dispensing that prevents contamination of food- and lip-contact surfaces, with an intact individual wrapper or an approved dispenser for consumer self-service. They do not name a particular cup-dispenser design or approve the products below.
Separately, section 3-306.11 addresses protection of food on display, including food shields commonly called sneeze guards. That provision should not be treated as a cup-dispenser-specific rule or as proof that an enclosed cup tube needs no shield in every setting.
Keep NSF claims model-specific. Dispense-Rite identifies the ADJ-2, STL-2S, and ADJ-1 as NSF; San Jamar identifies the C2803 as NSF-listed. Vollrath’s explicit NSF wording concerns the INC-80 silicone gaskets. No NSF claim is made here for the C3400P, L3402, or HLCO-3BT.
Who this is for (and who should skip it)
This guide is for a cafe owner or manager setting up or reorganizing a customer-facing cup and lid station: a brand-new build-out where an in-counter cutout is on the table, a retrofit of an existing counter where wall-mount or a countertop cabinet fits better, or a shop juggling more than one cup size that needs either one correctly-rated adjustable tube or a multi-slot cabinet.
Skip this guide if your actual problem is on the espresso side rather than the cup station: tamping, dosing, WDT distribution, puck screens, and portafilter baskets are covered by their own dedicated equipment, not a cup dispenser. And if the decision in front of you is milk dispensing hardware, whether steamed milk, a cold bar, or an oat-milk bag-in-box setup, our oat milk dispenser guide covers that separate hardware category directly rather than repeating it here.
The picks: comparison
| Dispenser | Type | Mechanism | Install | Cup range (per maker) | NSF (per maker) | Channel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dispense-Rite ADJ-2 | NSF tube | Adjustable spring-steel clips | In-counter | 8 to 44 oz | NSF-listed | Amazon |
| Dispense-Rite STL-2S | NSF tube | Three plastic adjustment clips | In-counter | 8 to 44 oz | NSF | Amazon |
| Dispense-Rite ADJ-1 | NSF tube | Adjustable spring-steel clips | In-counter | 4 to 12 oz; also 22 oz paper | NSF-listed | Amazon |
| Vollrath INC-80 | Tube | Interchangeable silicone gaskets | In-counter | 12 to 44 oz | NSF-approved gaskets; see note | Dealer |
| San Jamar C3400P | Tube | Pull-type, self-adjusting collar | Wall or surface | 12 to 24 oz | Not stated | Amazon |
| San Jamar L3402 | Dual lid dispenser | Front-loading; mechanism not stated | Wall | Not applicable; lids only | Not stated | Amazon |
| San Jamar C2803 | NSF cabinet | Interchangeable gaskets | Countertop | 8 to 46 oz | NSF-listed; see date-code note | Dealer |
| Dispense-Rite HLCO-3BT | Open cubby | Open compartments | Wall, surface, or countertop | 6 to 44 oz cups and lids | Not stated | Amazon |
The product links below are affiliate links to Amazon; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. FranchiseFeast is a participant in the Amazon Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The picks: in-counter adjustable tube dispensers
In-counter pick for an 8 to 20oz lineup with compatible rims
Dispense-Rite ADJ-2 In-Counter Cup Dispenser, Stainless Steel
- Cup range
- 8 to 44 oz, rim diameter 3 to 4-5/8 in
- Material
- Stainless steel
- Mechanism
- Adjustable spring-steel clips; two feed springs supplied
- Installation
- 5-1/4 in cutout; 22 in undercounter length
- Certification
- NSF listed
Its rim range covers the approximate 8 to 20oz hot-cup dimensions above, subject to your actual cups. The mounting collar supports horizontal, vertical, or angled installation. Plan the cutout and undercounter clearance before choosing this tube.
Specs: Dispense-Rite ADJ-2 product page and ADJ series specification sheet
Budget in-counter candidate in ABS plastic
Dispense-Rite STL-2S In-Counter Cup Dispenser, ABS Plastic
- Cup range
- 8 to 44 oz, rim diameter 3-1/8 to 4-1/2 in
- Material
- ABS plastic
- Mechanism
- Three plastic adjustment clips; two feed springs supplied
- Installation
- 5-1/4 in cutout; 17 in undercounter length
- Certification
- NSF
The STL-2S offers the same stated ounce range as the ADJ-2 with a shorter undercounter length and a slightly narrower rim range. Its integrated collar supports horizontal, angled, or vertical mounting. Check actual cup rims before treating the two models as interchangeable.
Specs: Dispense-Rite STL-2S product page and STL series specifications
Small-cup companion unit
Dispense-Rite ADJ-1 In-Counter Cup Dispenser, Stainless Steel
- Cup range
- 4 to 12 oz; maker also notes 22 oz paper cups
- Rim diameter
- 2-1/2 to 3-1/2 in
- Material
- Stainless steel
- Mechanism
- Adjustable spring-steel clips; two feed springs supplied
- Installation
- 4 in cutout; 22 in undercounter length
- Certification
- NSF listed
The smaller rim range makes this a candidate for a dedicated small-cup station. The maker's additional 22oz paper-cup accommodation is a reminder to check rim diameter rather than assuming every larger cup is excluded or supported. The ADJ mounting collar allows horizontal, vertical, or angled installation.
Specs: Dispense-Rite ADJ-1 product page and ADJ series specification sheet
Dealer option: Vollrath INC-80
The Vollrath INC-80 is an in-counter gasket dispenser for 12 to 44oz cups with 2-1/4 to 4-3/4-inch rims. It includes four interchangeable silicone gaskets and an ABS plastic collar and flange. The manual specifies a 5-1/2-inch countertop cutout and supports vertical in-counter or horizontal installation.
Vollrath states that its silicone gaskets are NSF-approved and FDA-compliant; the product page also displays an NSF emblem. The explicit statement concerns the gaskets, so it should not be expanded into an independently verified whole-unit NSF listing. Ask a foodservice dealer for model INC-80 and confirm cup fit before ordering.
The picks: wall-mount and surface-mount dispensers
Wall-mount cup option for 12 to 24oz cups
San Jamar C3400P Surface-Mount Pull-Type Cup Dispenser
- Cup range
- 12 to 24 oz
- Material
- Stainless steel
- Mechanism
- Pull-type, self-adjusting collar
- Mounting
- Counter or wall; horizontal, vertical, or 45 degrees
A mounting ring lock attaches this dispenser to a counter or wall, making it an option when an in-counter cutout is impractical. San Jamar specifies paper, plastic, and foam cups within the stated range. An 8oz station falls outside that range.
Specs: San Jamar / CFS Brands C3400P product page
Lid storage alongside the wall-mount cup dispenser
San Jamar L3402 Wall-Mounted Dual Lid Dispenser
- Configuration
- Dual lid dispenser
- Access
- Front-loading
- Material
- Stainless steel
- Mounting
- Attaches to most wall surfaces
The L3402 puts two lid stacks beside a wall-mounted cup station. Confirm compatibility with your exact lids before ordering. The optional C3604 stand is a separate mounting option, not an included part of the wall-mount setup.
Specs: San Jamar / CFS Brands L3402 product page
The picks: multi-size countertop cabinets
Dealer option: San Jamar C2803 EZ-Fit cabinet
The San Jamar C2803 is a three-tier stainless steel cabinet with four pre-cut interchangeable gaskets and a stated 8 to 46oz cup range. Its freestanding configuration suits a counter where mounting individual tubes is not an option. Plan room for the cabinet and keep separate cup sizes in their own dispensing positions.
San Jamar identifies it as NSF-listed. The NSF listing includes C2803 with the qualification that certified production begins with date code 01/06/2010. Ask a foodservice dealer for C2803 specifically and confirm the unit’s date code and cup compatibility.
The picks: open-cubby organizer
Wall-mount or countertop cup/lid/straw organizer
Dispense-Rite HLCO-3BT Cup, Lid, Straw and Condiment Organizer
- Cup and lid range
- 6 to 44 oz
- Material
- Black polystyrene
- Mechanism
- Open compartments
- Mounting
- Countertop or wall/surface with built-in keyholes
The HLCO-3BT holds paper, plastic, or foam cups and lids alongside straws, stir sticks, or condiment packets. It can sit on the counter or use its built-in keyholes for wall mounting. Its open compartments provide organization, so plan contamination protection for the actual station rather than treating it as an enclosed tube.
Specs: Dispense-Rite HLCO-3BT product page
Matching the dispenser to your counter
Work in this order. Choose between a tube dispenser and an open organizer based on the protection and access your station needs. Check your cup SKU’s real rim diameter against the dispenser’s rated range rather than trusting the ounce label alone. Match installation to your build stage next: in-counter for a planned cutout, wall-mount or a countertop cabinet where you cannot cut into the counter. For multiple cup sizes available at once, consider the C2803 cabinet; for open cup, lid, and straw compartments together, consider the HLCO-3BT.
Build the self-serve station: start with cups and a dispenser from this page, then place lids, sleeves, napkins, and trash and recycling bins in the customer’s path. Plan cup carriers for multi-drink orders near pickup. If the station includes sauces, plan squeeze bottles alongside them; organize back-of-counter ingredients with labeled storage bins.
A cup station is one piece of a fuller counter build-out. Pair this guide with our full coffee shop equipment list for everything else on the line, and see our commercial espresso machines guide if the machine itself is still an open decision.
Common questions
Do I need a different cup dispenser for every cup size (8oz, 12oz, 16oz, 20oz)?
No, in most cases. Standard paper hot-cup rim diameters cluster around 80mm for 8oz cups and 90mm for 12, 16, and 20oz cups. A single adjustable dispenser rated for roughly 3 to 4-5/8 inches of rim diameter, like the Dispense-Rite ADJ-2 class, spans the whole range in one tube. Just confirm your actual cup SKU's rim diameter against the dispenser's rated range before buying, since exact figures vary by manufacturer.
Is a countertop cup organizer the same thing as an NSF-listed cup dispenser?
No. Open-cubby organizers hold cups in open compartments rather than a clip- or gasket-retained tube. Dispense-Rite lists the ADJ-2, STL-2S, and ADJ-1 as NSF, and San Jamar lists the C2803 as NSF-listed. Dispense-Rite does not state NSF certification for the HLCO-3BT organizer. Check the exact model rather than treating a brand or enclosed shape as proof of certification.
Wall-mount, in-counter, or countertop cabinet: which install type should I pick?
It depends on your build stage. New build-outs with counters still being fabricated fit in-counter cutout units cleanly. Existing counters that cannot be modified fit wall-mount or drop-in countertop-cabinet units better. There is no universally best install type here. It comes down to your physical counter and wall situation.
Do self-serve cup dispensers need a sneeze guard to meet health code?
FDA Food Code 2022 sections 4-903.11 and 4-904.11 require protected storage and handling, display, and dispensing that prevent contamination of food- and lip-contact surfaces. Section 4-904.11(C) calls for an intact individual wrapper or an approved dispenser for consumer self-service. An enclosed tube can shield the nested stack, but its design or NSF status alone does not establish local approval or settle whether a shield is needed. Confirm with your local health department.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 15, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
- Dispense-Rite ADJ-2 specifications
- Dispense-Rite STL-2S specifications
- Dispense-Rite STL Series adjustment clips
- Dispense-Rite ADJ-1 specifications
- Dispense-Rite ADJ series installation
- Dispense-Rite STL series installation
- Vollrath INC-80 specifications and gasket NSF statement
- Vollrath INC-80 installation manual
- San Jamar C3400P specifications, CFS Brands
- San Jamar L3402 specifications, CFS Brands
- San Jamar C2803 specifications, CFS Brands
- NSF San Jamar listing, C2803 production-date qualification
- Dispense-Rite HLCO-3BT specifications
- FDA Food Code 2022, 4-903.11 and 4-904.11, PDF pages 134 and 135
- mbpak paper cup dimensions chart (8/12/16/20oz rim diameter reference)
Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist
A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Equipment
Coffee Shop Equipment List With Prices (2026 Budget Guide)
Coffee shop equipment list with 2026 price ranges for espresso, grinders, refrigeration, ice, POS and furniture, from Bellwether Coffee, 7shifts and Naixer.
Equipment
Commercial Espresso Machines for a First Cafe
Six espresso machines from entry commercial to serious volume, with group head, boiler, and power specs from manufacturer sheets, plus the volume math for sizing one
Equipment
Milk Steamer for a Coffee Shop: Wands and Standalone Units
What a steamer coffee is, when a steam wand is enough, and when a standalone commercial milk steamer pays off, with a wand-capacity formula and health-code notes.
Equipment
Knock Box for a Coffee Shop Counter, Compared
Knock boxes for a coffee shop counter compared by format, material grade, and puck capacity, with drawer, chute, and floor-standing options.
Equipment
Countertop Panini Press for Coffee Shops: Picks + Hood Rules
Compare countertop panini presses for coffee shops, with maker specs, NSF/UL marks, circuit requirements, and conditional hood exemptions.
Equipment
Bulk Cup Carrier Delivery Trays for a Coffee Shop
Bulk cup carrier delivery trays for coffee shops: 2-cup vs 4-cup sizing, the base-diameter fit trap, and which SKUs are actually BPI-certified compostable.
Equipment
Date Label Gun for Food Rotation in a Cafe
Date label guns for cafe food rotation compared by plastic vs. metal body, one line vs. two, and the FDA's 7-day date-marking rule explained.