Skip to main content

Fire Extinguisher Mounting Brackets for a Food Truck

Match Amerex food-truck extinguisher brackets to specific models, compare ABC and Class K ratings, and check named local mounting and inspection rules.

By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 16, 2026Updated October 15, 2026

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.

A food-truck extinguisher purchase has two decisions: the rating your fire authority requires and the bracket Amerex lists for that exact model. The model-specific chart matters: an Amerex B500 and an A411 are both ABC extinguishers, but they use different vehicle brackets.

For most food trucks, start with an Amerex 810 vehicle bracket for a 20 lb A411 ABC (10A:120B:C per Amerex), plus a C260 Class K on its bracket if you fry. A compact truck using a 5 lb unit uses the 818; choose the B402 if your jurisdiction requires 3A:40BC, as Houston does. Match ratings to your jurisdiction’s text.

Jump to the picks.

Who this is for, and who should skip it

This is for an operator choosing a portable extinguisher and a compatible vehicle mount. Read the jurisdiction section before choosing the extinguisher rating, then use the model chart to select the bracket.

Stationary storefront and boat installations are outside this guide’s scope; confirm their mounting and fire-protection requirements separately.

What actually determines the right bracket?

Use the exact model pairing in Amerex’s catalog, not agent weight or cylinder diameter alone:

Cylinder diameter (per Amerex) Amerex extinguisher models Bracket Mount type (per Amerex)
4.25 in B500/B402, 5 lb ABC 818 Vehicle/marine bracket
4.25 in B500/B402, 5 lb ABC 818S Two-strap vehicle/marine bracket
7 in A411/423, 20 lb ABC 810 Heavy-duty box-type vehicle bracket
7 in C260, 6 L Class K; C262, Class K 810 Heavy-duty box-type vehicle bracket

Amerex directly lists C260 and C262 with the 810. The A411 and C260 can each use an 810, but each extinguisher needs its own mount. These named pairings do not establish compatibility for every extinguisher with the same diameter or capacity.

Why the supplied wall hook needs a vehicle-mount check

Per Amerex’s current catalog, the B500 comes with an 888 wall bracket, the A411 with an 803 wall bracket and the C260 with an 816 wall bracket. The catalog lists the B500T separately with an 818; check the exact model suffix and supplied hardware.

For vehicles covered by 49 CFR Part 393, 49 CFR 393.95 states:

“The fire extinguisher(s) must be filled and located so that it is readily accessible for use.”

“The extinguisher(s) must be securely mounted to prevent sliding, rolling, or vertical movement relative to the motor vehicle.”

This is a retention requirement, not a categorical ban on every wall hook or a minimum strap count. Part 393 applies to vehicles meeting its commercial-motor-vehicle scope; it is not automatically a rule for every food truck or trailer. Confirm federal and state applicability to your vehicle and use the maker’s listed compatible mounting hardware.

Section 393.95 gives nonhazmat alternatives of one extinguisher rated at least UL 5 B:C or two each rated at least UL 4 B:C; a power unit transporting hazardous materials in a quantity requiring placarding needs at least UL 10 B:C. Those provisions do not replace the local food-truck requirements below.

How much fire suppression does your jurisdiction actually require?

These four named documents have different scopes and requirements. Confirm the applicable rating and installation with your fire authority or event organizer.

River Forest, Illinois

The Village of River Forest Fire Department requirements contain two conflicting ABC passages:

“One (1), 1.5 gallon (6 liter) Class K extinguisher and One (1), 3A:10BC extinguisher shall be mounted within the egress path.”

Later on the same page:

“All On-Street Mobile Food Trucks must have a minimum of a 4A:60B:C type portable fire extinguisher mounted conspicuously and the portable fire extinguisher must have had an annual test by a qualified technician. (NFPA 10 1-6.3)”

Confirm with the village which ABC requirement applies; the two passages should not be treated as one rating. The document also says:

“Portable fire extinguishers shall be maintained by a qualified technician at intervals not more than one year.”

“Where a fire suppression system is installed, an additional 1.5 gallon (6 liter) Class K portable fire extinguisher shall be located in the cooking area with a tamper seal intact and a current dated tag must be prominently displayed on the fire extinguisher.”

The first Class K passage is not limited to trucks with a suppression system. The gallon/liter wording above is the village’s wording.

Longview, Texas

The Longview Fire Department guide states:

“At least one portable extinguisher of the 2A10BC rating shall be accessible to the interior of the food truck/ Trailer.”

“Units utilizing oil/ grease fryers are required to have a Class K fire extinguisher on the unit.”

“All fire extinguishers require an annual inspection by a Texas licensed Fire Extinguisher Company. Required extinguishers must be properly mounted and readily accessible.”

Per Amerex, the B500’s 2-A:10-B:C rating matches this numeric ABC minimum. Matching a rating alone does not establish full installation compliance.

Groveland, Florida city events

The Groveland special-event rules state:

“Effective immediately, March 2025, the City of Groveland’s Fire Department requires all food trucks and trailers to be inspected and approved by the Fire Marshal before participating in any city events.”

“For food trucks that regularly operate in Groveland, inspections will only be required twice a year.”

“Requirements: Food trucks that do not cook, such as ice cream trucks, are not required to undergo an inspection but must have a fire extinguisher on board.”

“Fire Extinguishers: All mobile vending vehicles (trucks, trailers, etc.) serving food or with a heat source must have a certified fire extinguisher with a classification of 4-A:80-B-C.”

“It is strongly recommended that other vendors have one with a classification of at least 2-A:40-B-C.”

“Deep fryers are not allowed under tents.”

“FOOD VENDORS MUST SUBMIT AN APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL VIA PARKS STAFF AND OBTAIN FIRE MARSHAL APPROVAL BEFORE MAKING ANY PAYMENT(S)!”

These are city-event rules, not evidence of a standing citywide requirement outside that scope. This document does not separately state a Class K requirement; that omission is not a waiver of other applicable requirements.

Houston, Texas

The City of Houston Fire Marshal’s food-truck information states:

“All Food Trucks shall have one Type ABC fire extinguisher rated 3A:40BC.”

“If you deep-fry food, you must have a Type K fire extinguisher rated 2A:K.”

“All fire equipment shall be inspected, tagged, and unexpired.”

The B402 Amazon listing title gives 3A:40B:C, matching Houston’s stated ABC rating; the B500’s 2-A:10-B:C does not meet that minimum. Per Amerex, the C260 is rated 2-A:K, matching Houston’s Type K rating. Confirm the complete installation requirements, not just the label rating.

Longview and Houston both require Class K for the specified fryer use, without an occasional-frying exception in those passages. Per Amerex’s Class K product page, C260/C262 use a specially blended potassium acetate base agent and supplement automatic cooking-equipment protection.

Propane limits need their own scope check: River Forest states, “No mobile food vehicle may carry more than 40 pounds of total propane,” judged by rated tank capacity. Longview states, “LPG cylinders shall not exceed 100 pounds,” an individual-cylinder limit. These are different measures; propane quantity alone does not determine the required extinguisher type.

The picks

Item Type Fits cylinder (per Amerex) Strap count UL rating / listing (per Amerex) Where to buy Best for
Amerex 810 Heavy-duty box-type vehicle bracket 7 in; listed A411/423, C260/C262 Not specified in maker text No extinguisher rating; exact pairing governs approval Amazon, card below Named 20 lb ABC or Class K models
Amerex 818 Vehicle/marine bracket 4.25 in; B500/B402 Not specified in maker text No extinguisher rating; exact pairing governs approval Amazon, card below Compact B500/B402 installation
Amerex 818S Vehicle/marine bracket 4.25 in; B500/B402 Two, per Amerex parts book No extinguisher rating; exact pairing governs approval Fire-equipment distributor Two-strap option for listed models
Amerex A411 20 lb ABC extinguisher 7 in cylinder; optional 810 Depends on bracket 10A:120B:C Amazon, card below 20 lb ABC paired with the 810
Amerex B500 5 lb ABC extinguisher 4.25 in cylinder; 818/818S Depends on bracket 2-A:10-B:C Amazon, card below Longview’s stated ABC minimum
Amerex B402 5 lb ABC extinguisher, pack of 2 per listing 4.25 in cylinder; 818/818S Depends on bracket 3A:40B:C per Amazon listing title, not maker-rating evidence here Amazon, card below Houston’s stated ABC rating
Amerex C260 6 L Class K extinguisher 7 in cylinder; optional 810 Depends on bracket 2-A:K; tested to UL711 per Amerex Fire-equipment distributor Fryer lines under the named Class K rules

The product cards below contain Amazon affiliate links. The five listed offers were in stock on October 15, 2026; availability can change. The 818 offer was sold by NE Solutions on that date.

Vehicle bracket for listed 7-inch Amerex cylinders

Amerex 810 Heavy Duty Vehicle Bracket

Fit, per Amerex
7-inch models including A411/423 and C260/C262
Dimensions, per Amerex drawing
13.5 in H x 9.375 in W x 7.125 in D
Construction, per Amerex
Steel with primed and powder-coated finish

Amerex's chart pairs the 810 with both the A411 ABC and C260 Class K. Select a separate bracket for each extinguisher and follow the listed model pairing.

Specs: Amerex (amerex-fire.com), 2026 portable catalog pp. 18–19, bracket page and bracket hole-pattern drawing 21490

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vehicle/marine bracket for B500 and B402

Amerex 818 Steel Fire Extinguisher Bracket (Red)

Fit, per Amerex
B500/B402, 4.25-inch cylinders
Construction, per Amerex
Steel with primed and powder-coated finish

Amerex lists the 818 for these compact 5 lb models. Use the exact extinguisher/bracket listing for any approval requirement; a bracket-family heading is not blanket aviation or marine certification.

Specs: Amerex (amerex-fire.com), 2026 portable catalog bracket chart, bracket page and portable/wheeled parts book

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Amerex 818S: Per Amerex’s parts book, this is a two-strap vehicle/marine version for the same 4.25-inch B500/B402 cylinder group. Obtain it through a fire-equipment distributor; no exact Amazon listing was identified as of October 15, 2026.

Per Amerex’s bracket page, the bracket family meets a salt-spray requirement of 240 hours at 20 percent salt solution under ASTM B117. That statement does not establish vibration or crash performance, or a tested rough-road advantage for an additional strap.

20 lb ABC model paired with the 810

Amerex A411 20 lb ABC Fire Extinguisher with Wall Hanger

Rating, per Amerex
10A:120B:C
Cylinder, per Amerex
7 inches
Dimensions, per Amerex
24 in H x 10.25 in W x 7 in D
Brackets, per Amerex
Supplied 803 wall bracket; optional/USCG 810

Amerex identifies A411 as a 20 lb ABC model and lists the 810 as its optional vehicle bracket. Match the rating to your jurisdiction and verify space for the complete installation.

Specs: Amerex (amerex-fire.com), 2026 portable catalog pp. 13 and 19

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compact ABC option matching Longview's stated minimum

Amerex B500 5 lb ABC Dry Chemical Fire Extinguisher

Rating, per Amerex
2-A:10-B:C
Dimensions, per Amerex
15.25 in H x 7.25 in W x 4.25 in D
Brackets, per Amerex
Supplied 888 wall bracket; vehicle options 818/818S

Its rating matches Longview's 2A10BC minimum, but falls below Houston's stated ABC minimum. Amerex distinguishes the B500's supplied wall bracket from the B500T configuration supplied with an 818.

Specs: Amerex (amerex-fire.com), 2026 portable catalog pp. 13 and 19

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compact ABC option matching Houston's stated rating

Amerex B402 5 lb ABC Fire Extinguisher, Pack of 2

Rating, per Amazon listing title
3A:40B:C
Pack, per Amazon listing
Two 5 lb extinguishers
Fit, per Amerex
4.25-inch cylinder; 818 or optional 818S

The listing-title rating matches the City of Houston Fire Marshal's 3A:40BC ABC requirement. Amerex's chart pairs B402 with the 818; confirm the label and local installation requirements before putting a unit into service.

Specs: Amerex (amerex-fire.com), 2026 portable catalog bracket chart; Amazon B01MAVWLPS listing title for rating and pack count

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Amerex C260: Class K wet-chemical unit for fryer lines (required for fryers in Longview, TX and Houston, TX food-truck rules; check yours). Per Amerex, it holds 6 L, is rated 2-A:K, ships with an 816 wall bracket and pairs with the optional 810 vehicle bracket. Buy through a fire-equipment distributor: the Amazon C260 listing had no buy box and was not purchasable there as of October 15, 2026. Its portable protection supplements the automatic cooking-equipment system, per Amerex.

Where to mount it, and how often to check it

NFPA’s December 2024 placement fact sheet, based on NFPA 10 (2022), calls for visible, accessible locations normally along travel paths. It gives a maximum Class K travel distance of 30 ft from the cooking hazard, not a straight-line radius. River Forest separately requires the specified Class K and ABC units within the egress path.

For non-wheeled units, that NFPA fact sheet gives a maximum top height of 5 ft for extinguishers below 40 lb and 3.5 ft above 40 lb, with at least 4 inches of clearance below. Its summary wording does not resolve the exactly-40-lb boundary. Use total extinguisher weight, not agent capacity, and confirm the adopted edition and installation requirements with your fire authority.

The October 2020 NFPA inspection and maintenance guide, preserved by Utah’s government, describes inspection at initial installation and monthly afterward by a knowledgeable, competent person; certification is not required for that inspection. It calls for checking location, visibility, access, pressure indication and fullness by weighing or lifting, plus type-specific checks. Greater exposure to rust, impact or tampering warrants more frequent inspection. Monthly records identify the month/year and inspector and are retained at least 12 months; tags, paper or electronic records can serve.

That NFPA guide distinguishes annual external maintenance, performed by a certified person, from monthly inspection; internal examination intervals depend on extinguisher type, and discrepancies or hydrostatic testing can require additional maintenance. These are dated public NFPA summaries, not a substitute for your locally adopted edition or the named local service requirements above.

For non-affiliate record supplies, Brady 103632 is an aluminum inspection record; Brady instructs, “Use permanent marking pen or hole punch to indicate date of inspection.” SafetySign / Brimar offers the B2713-25 monthly inspection tag with inspection-date and signature fields and the B2706-25 annual-maintenance tag with name, address and signature fields. Per Brimar, both are vinyl tags supplied with nylon ties; the maker pages do not specify hole-punch suitability. A blank tag or monthly record does not establish that annual maintenance occurred.

For the rest of your truck’s fire and gas safety setup, see the food truck equipment checklist and the propane leak detector guide, or the propane tank warmer guide for cold-weather service. For the fuller category, start at the cafe equipment hub.

When planning the truck’s service opening, use the food truck serving window guide to compare sizes and code considerations.

Common questions

What size bracket do I need for my fire extinguisher?

Match the exact extinguisher model to the maker's bracket chart, then check dimensions. Per Amerex, B500 and B402 have 4.25-inch cylinders paired with the 818 or optional 818S; A411 and C260 have 7-inch cylinders paired with the optional 810. Diameter alone does not establish compatibility across models or brands.

Do I need both a Class K and an ABC extinguisher if I only fry sometimes?

Longview, TX requires an ABC extinguisher rated at least 2A10BC and a Class K unit when oil or grease fryers are used. Houston requires ABC 3A:40BC and Type K 2A:K if deep-frying. Neither quoted fryer rule includes an occasional-use exception. River Forest has separate Class K provisions and conflicting ABC passages; confirm the requirements with the village.

Does a vehicle extinguisher bracket need a particular strap count?

49 CFR 393.95 requires secure mounting that prevents sliding, rolling or vertical movement for vehicles within its scope; it does not prescribe a strap count. Amerex lists the 818S as a two-strap vehicle/marine bracket. Select a maker-listed pairing and confirm the installation requirements for your vehicle.

Where should I mount the extinguisher?

NFPA's December 2024 placement fact sheet, based on NFPA 10 (2022), calls for visible, accessible locations normally along travel paths and a maximum Class K travel distance of 30 feet from the cooking hazard. River Forest explicitly requires its Class K and ABC units within the egress path. Confirm the layout and adopted rules with your fire authority.

Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 15, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.

  1. Amerex, 2026 portable fire extinguisher catalog (model ratings, dimensions and bracket chart)
  2. Amerex, fire extinguisher brackets (steel construction, finish and salt-spray requirements)
  3. Amerex, bracket hole patterns (810 dimensions)
  4. Amerex, portable and wheeled parts book (818S two-strap vehicle/marine bracket)
  5. Amerex, Class K extinguishers (agent and UL711 testing)
  6. 49 CFR 393.95, Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute (vehicle equipment requirements)
  7. 49 CFR 393.1, Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute (applicability)
  8. NFPA, Fire Extinguisher Location and Placement fact sheet, December 2024 (based on NFPA 10, 2022 edition)
  9. NFPA, Guide to Fire Extinguisher Inspection, Testing and Maintenance, October 2020 (Utah government-hosted copy)
  10. Village of River Forest, IL Fire Department, Mobile Food Truck Requirements (conflicting ABC passages, Class K and annual maintenance)
  11. City of Longview, TX Fire Department, Mobile Food Unit Guidelines (2A10BC minimum, Class K for fryers)
  12. City of Groveland, FL, Special Event Vendor Application and Rules (city-event requirements)
  13. City of Houston Fire Marshal, Food Trucks Operating in Houston: Basic Information (ABC 3A:40BC, fryer Type K 2A:K)
  14. Brady, 103632 aluminum fire extinguisher inspection record
  15. SafetySign / Brimar, B2706-25 annual-maintenance tag
  16. SafetySign / Brimar, B2713-25 monthly inspection tag

Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist

A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.

Keep reading