Skip to main content

Freddy's Franchise Cost 2026: Single-Unit Tier, Fees by Format

Freddy's 2026 FDD costs by format, a $35,000 fee, 5% royalty, marketing changes, single-unit qualification conflicts and territory limits.

By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished August 2, 2026Updated October 14, 2026

Figures on this page come from Franchise Disclosure Documents issued 2026. Franchisors reissue their FDD at least annually, so figures move. Confirm anything you plan to rely on against the brand's current FDD. We are an independent publisher, not a franchise broker, and this is not legal or financial advice.

We checked the sources behind this page in October 2026. Franchise status, terms and availability change, so confirm anything you plan to rely on at the official sites linked in the Sources list below.

Get the free due-diligence kit

Freddy’s FDD issued April 30, 2026 lists a $35,000 initial license fee, an in-line Item 7 investment of $854,834 to $1,302,000 and a 5% royalty on gross sales, defined as Gross Receipts; its What It Takes page, checked October 13, 2026, lists single-unit minimums of $1M+ net worth and $400K+ liquid assets. A published single-unit tier gives buyers a starting point, but the brand’s FAQ states different qualifications and lower ongoing fees.

Use the FDD figures below for the cost comparison and confirm the qualification requirement with Freddy’s before applying. The website figures remain alongside them so the differences are explicit.

Investment, by format

For a separate look at Five Guys franchise availability in the US, see its current market-status page.

Item 7 of the FDD issued April 30, 2026 gives the following estimates. The brand’s What It Takes page, checked October 13, 2026, still displays different ranges:

Format 2026 FDD Item 7 total investment What It Takes, October 13, 2026
In-line, no drive-thru $854,834 to $1,302,000 $785,936 to $1,198,665
End cap with drive-thru $1,026,334 to $2,361,000 $1,277,598 to $2,497,566
Standalone with drive-thru $1,586,334 to $2,802,000 $1,487,598 to $2,753,566

The FDD itself has a small discrepancy: its cover gives the in-line ceiling as $1,301,000, while Item 7’s total is $1,302,000. This page uses the Item 7 table. The FAQ checked October 13, 2026 gives a combined website range of $785,936 to $2,753,566; it does not replace the format-specific FDD estimates.

The $35,000 license fee is included in each Item 7 range. Item 5 also requires construction advisory services for the first restaurant, with a $35,000 advisory fee plus reimbursable expenses; Item 7’s construction note says its estimate includes advisory services. Land purchase costs are excluded. Additional funds cover an estimated three months, not a promise that the restaurant will fund itself after that period.

Price the format your site supports. An end cap and a standalone restaurant both have drive-thrus, but their construction requirements and investment ranges differ. The Item 7 guide explains how to replace estimates with site-specific quotes; the food-franchise investment tiers put those formats in context.

Price the Freddy's format for your site

Our free startup-cost worksheet follows Item 7's rows for in-line, end-cap or standalone builds, so you can swap estimates for quotes. Plus the due-diligence kit.

The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.

Royalty and marketing: the FDD differs from the FAQ

Charge FDD issued April 30, 2026, Item 6 FAQ checked October 13, 2026
Initial franchise/license fee (Item 5) $35,000 $35,000
Royalty 5% of Gross Receipts 4.5% of gross sales
National marketing and advertising fund 2.5% of Gross Receipts at issuance; 3% effective October 8, 2026 1.5% marketing fee; basis not stated in the supplied FAQ wording

For the FDD terms effective October 8, 2026, royalty plus the national fund equals 8% of Gross Receipts. Item 6 defines Gross Receipts broadly as restaurant-related gross revenue, including posted but uncollected revenue and specified other receipts, excluding taxes collected for taxing authorities. Gift cards count when redeemed, and loyalty points are excluded.

That 8% is not the entire ongoing cost. Item 6 allows required local advertising of up to 2% of Gross Receipts. Cooperative contributions count toward local advertising requirements. The national fund can exceed 3% with the specified restaurant-owner vote. Nontraditional restaurants pay a reduced fund contribution. Other Item 6 charges also apply.

The royalty and ad-fund comparison shows the combined percentage in dollars using the same assumed sales across brands. The Item 6 guide explains why the fee basis and additional obligations matter alongside the headline rate.

Territory availability and the rights Item 12 grants

As of October 13, 2026, Freddy’s territory list shows Kansas, New Mexico and North Dakota as not available. Check the brand’s available-territories list and confirm the proposed site directly with Freddy’s.

Availability does not define the protection in your contract. Item 12 says the License Agreement grants an Assigned Territory, typically a two-mile radius or another specified geographic area, with boundaries that vary by location. Freddy’s agrees not to establish another franchised or company-owned restaurant under the system there, subject to the agreement and reserved rights.

Item 12 also explicitly says you will not receive an exclusive territory. Reserved rights include other distribution channels, national or regional foodservice licenses and restaurants in captive-market locations such as airports and stadiums. Other operators can solicit customers and accept orders in your territory. The Item 12 guide explains how to read those limits together.

For multi-unit development, an Assigned Area is protected during the development schedule while the developer complies with the agreement. Default can lead to a smaller area, fewer restaurant options or termination of territorial rights. A state listed as available is not a guarantee of an unrestricted market.

One conflict: the financial qualification minimums

SBA Franchise Directory: Freddy’s Frozen Custard & Steakburgers appears in the SBA’s Franchise Directory file effective October 9, 2026 (SBA Franchise Identifier Code S0669; franchisor certification marked received). A listing is what a lender checks for brand eligibility; it is not an endorsement, and your own eligibility as a borrower is assessed separately. See how to check the SBA Franchise Directory.

The two brand pages give different financial qualifications as of October 13, 2026:

Brand page Published qualification wording
FAQ Owners must have $250,000 in liquid assets and a minimum net worth of $750,000
What It Takes, single-unit Net worth of $1M+; liquid assets of $400K+
What It Takes, multi-unit Net worth of $1.5M+; liquid assets of $400K+

The FDD does not specify numerical liquid-asset or net-worth qualification minimums. Confirm the current single-unit or multi-unit requirement with Freddy’s. Neither website figure establishes approval for a particular applicant, and the qualification minimum is separate from the full opening budget.

Item 20: openings and exits during 2025

Item 20 of the FDD issued April 30, 2026 reports these outlet changes:

Outlet type Start of 2025 Opened Terminations Other closures End of 2025
Franchised 514 47 19 0 ceased operations for other reasons 542
Company-owned 36 2 Not applicable 0 closed 38

The franchised table also reports zero nonrenewals and zero reacquisitions by the franchisor in 2025. The company-owned table reports zero reacquisitions and zero sales to franchisees. Systemwide outlets increased from 550 to 580. Keep the 47 franchised openings and 19 terminations visible alongside that net growth; the table does not explain each termination’s cause or establish profitability.

Use the Item 20 guide to plan questions for current and former franchisees about openings, exits and operating experience.

Compare the ownership model before choosing a site

For other burger concepts, compare Culver’s franchise costs, Habit Burger’s multi-unit franchise terms and BurgerFi’s franchise costs. The Jimmy John’s versus Wayback Burgers comparison offers another ownership comparison. Check each brand’s own format, qualification and agreement terms rather than treating the opening budget as the whole decision.

For a separate quick-service comparison, see Del Taco’s franchise cost breakdown alongside these burger concepts. Whataburger’s franchise cost page provides another dated burger-brand comparison.

Questions to ask Freddy’s before you sign

  • Which financial qualification minimums apply to this application, given the differing brand pages?
  • Which Item 7 format applies to the proposed site, and which costs need local quotes?
  • How do the FDD’s royalty and marketing terms apply to the agreement offered, including local advertising and other Item 6 charges?
  • What exact Assigned Territory will the agreement describe, and which reserved channels or captive-market locations can compete inside it?
  • What explains the 2025 terminations, and what can current and former franchisees say about their experience?
  • Will a franchise attorney and an accountant review the full FDD and proposed agreement before you commit?

Common questions

Can you buy a single Freddy's franchise?

Freddy's What It Takes page publishes a single-unit qualification tier, separate from multi-unit development, as of October 13, 2026. Approval still depends on the applicant and proposed location.

How much does a Freddy's franchise cost?

The FDD issued April 30, 2026 lists a $35,000 initial license fee. Item 7 estimates $854,834 to $1,302,000 for in-line restaurants without a drive-thru, $1,026,334 to $2,361,000 for end caps with a drive-thru, and $1,586,334 to $2,802,000 for standalone restaurants with a drive-thru. Land purchase costs are excluded.

What royalty does Freddy's charge?

Item 6 of the FDD issued April 30, 2026 states 5% of Gross Receipts. The national marketing and advertising fund is 2.5% at issuance, increasing to 3% on October 8, 2026, for a combined 8% after that date before other fees and any required local advertising. The FAQ checked October 13, 2026 still lists 4.5% royalty and 1.5% marketing.

Which states can you not open a Freddy's in?

As of October 13, 2026, Freddy's territory list shows Kansas, New Mexico and North Dakota as not available. Confirm the proposed site's availability directly with Freddy's.

What net worth do you need for a Freddy's franchise?

As of October 13, 2026, What It Takes lists single-unit net worth of $1M+ and liquid assets of $400K+. The FAQ instead states $250,000 liquid assets and a minimum net worth of $750,000. The FDD does not specify numerical liquid-asset or net-worth minimums. Confirm the current requirement with Freddy's.

Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 14, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.

  1. SBA Franchise Directory (file effective October 9, 2026; checked 2026-10-14)
  2. Freddy's Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 30, 2026, Items 5, 6, 7, 12 and 20: initial fee, ongoing fees, investment by format, territory rights and outlet changes (copy hosted by Restaurant Finance Monitor; checked 2026-10-13)
  3. Freddy's official What It Takes page: investment by format and single-unit and multi-unit qualification tiers (checked 2026-10-13)
  4. Freddy's official FAQ: $35,000 franchise fee, 4.5% royalty on gross sales, 1.5% marketing fee, $250,000 liquid assets and $750,000 minimum net worth (checked 2026-10-13; differs from the FDD and What It Takes page)
  5. Freddy's official available-territories list: Kansas, New Mexico and North Dakota marked not available (checked 2026-10-13)

Get the Franchise Due-Diligence Kit

An FDD review checklist and a total investment worksheet that keep franchise fee, buildout, and working capital honest. Free, no spam, unsubscribe anytime.

The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.

Keep reading

Under $100K

Culver's Franchise Cost 2026: $3.4M+ to Open, $65K Fee

Culver's 2026 FDD puts opening costs at $3,406,350 to $10,294,100. Compare land assumptions, franchise fees, royalties and liquidity requirements.

Under $100K

Habit Burger Franchise Cost 2026: Multi-Unit Terms, Fees

Habit Burger's April 3, 2026 FDD lists $1,031,500 to $2,864,500 for one restaurant. See development costs, royalties, advertising fees and renewal terms.

Under $100K

BurgerFi Franchise Cost 2026: Fees, Investment, Ownership

BurgerFi's FDD lists $704,750-$1,171,500 investment and a $35,000 fee. Its predecessor filed Chapter 11 in 2024; franchised units were excluded, per the company.

Buying Process

FDD Item 7 Explained: Estimated Initial Investment, Line by Line

FDD Item 7 (estimated initial investment) read line by line from real 2026 coffee-franchise tables: the FTC rules, the footnotes, and what it leaves out.

Buying Process

FDD Item 6 Explained: 'Other Fees' Under 16 CFR 436.5(f)

A plain-English guide to Item 6 of the FDD: the recurring royalty, ad-fund, and technology fees, how the royalty base changes the cost, and how the fees stack up.

Under $100K

Church's Chicken Franchise Cost 2026: Fees, Investment

Church's FDD: $659,725-$1,970,300 excluding real estate, $20,000 franchise fee, $10,000 development fee, 5% royalty, 5% ad fee. Site figures differ; FDD governs.

Under $100K

Great American Cookies Franchise Cost 2026: New Owner, Fees

Great American Cookies' FDD lists a $340,500 to $462,650 traditional investment. Compare format costs, fees and disclosures before the June 2026 sale.