Skip to main content

Wingstop Franchise Cost: A $5M Net Worth and a Fee Conflict

What a Wingstop franchise costs: a $298,200 to $1,013,500 investment, a $5M net worth bar, and a franchise fee its own SEC filing and website state differently.

By FranchiseFeast EditorialPublished August 2, 2026Updated August 3, 2026

Wingstop has one of the lower investment ranges in the chicken category and one of the highest qualification bars on this entire site. Those two facts together are the whole story, and they point in opposite directions from what a cost comparison would suggest.

This guide uses only Wingstop’s own two primary sources: its franchise page, and its annual report filed with the SEC. Those two sources disagree with each other on the franchise fee, and this page shows both rather than choosing. Every figure is a reported number to confirm in the current Franchise Disclosure Document. None of it is an earnings figure.

The investment is small. The gate is not.

Wingstop’s franchise page publishes a total initial investment of $298,200 to $1,013,500. Set that next to Buffalo Wild Wings at $2.46 million or Bojangles’ traditional format at $2.85 million and Wingstop looks like the accessible option in the category.

It is not, and the reason has nothing to do with the build cost. The same page states the qualification requirement: “we require a minimum net worth of $5M of which $2.1M must be liquid,” adding that “Some markets require a higher minimum depending on market evaluation.”

That is the highest net-worth bar any brand covered here currently publishes. One reported figure runs higher: Whataburger was described in 2020 as requiring $12.5 million, but that came from a press report rather than anything Whataburger publishes today, which is a different kind of claim. A buyer who can comfortably fund a $298,200 restaurant is nowhere near qualifying to open one. The build is cheap; the ticket to be considered is not.

Two primary sources, two different fees

This is unusual enough to be worth stating carefully, because both documents are Wingstop’s own.

Wingstop’s franchise page (Aug 2026) Wingstop’s FY2024 Form 10-K
Franchise fee $25,000 “a franchise fee of $20,000 for each restaurant opened”
Development fee $25,000 “$10,000 development fee per restaurant to-be-developed… not refundable”

The most likely explanation is simply that the fees rose in an FDD issued after the fiscal 2024 annual report went out, and the website reflects the newer document. That is a reasonable inference and it is not a fact, so we are not presenting it as one. What matters practically is that you should ask which figures the FDD now in force carries, and not be surprised if a third-party listing quotes the older pair.

The site’s only FDD reference points to a “March 28, 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document,” which sits between the two, so even that does not settle it from the outside.

The ongoing cost is where Wingstop is expensive

The 10-K is specific where the marketing site is silent. Franchisees pay “a royalty of 6% of their gross sales net of discounts.” Separately, “Each restaurant also contributes 5.3% of gross sales net of discounts to the Ad Fund,” and “Beginning the fiscal first quarter of 2025, the advertising fund contribution rate will increase to 5.5%.”

Add those and roughly 11.5 percent of sales leaves the business before rent, labour, food cost or debt service. For comparison, Buffalo Wild Wings runs about 9 percent and Church’s Texas Chicken about 10 percent. Wingstop’s ad fund alone is larger than some brands’ entire royalty.

Note the basis, because Wingstop states it and many brands do not: gross sales net of discounts. That is a slightly narrower base than raw gross sales, and the distinction is exactly the kind of detail our Item 6 guide exists to make you look for.

A system built for multi-unit operators

Wingstop’s 10-K reports 2,513 franchised restaurants across 45 states, with approximately 98 percent of its restaurants owned and operated by independent franchisees, so this is close to a fully franchised system rather than a corporate one.

The revealing figure is the franchisee count. Its “domestic franchise base of 196 franchisees had an average restaurant ownership of approximately eleven restaurants per franchisee,” and the number of franchisees owning ten or more has more than doubled since 2014. It uses area development agreements granting the right to develop restaurants within a defined market area.

Eleven restaurants per franchisee is not a system in which single-unit owner-operators are the norm. Read together with the $5 million net-worth requirement, the picture is consistent: Wingstop recruits operators who will build a market, not people opening their first restaurant. Its franchise page says only “Limited territories available. Opportunities are market-dependent and subject to change,” and names no open or closed markets.

What is not published

Wingstop’s franchise page does not state the royalty, the ad fund, the initial term, or any veteran discount. All of the ongoing-fee and term figures on this page come from the 10-K rather than the marketing site, which is an unusual reversal: for most brands the marketing site is the more forthcoming document.

We have not filled the veteran-discount question from anywhere. It is simply not mentioned on the franchise page, and absence is not a denial. Ask directly.

Questions to ask before you rely on any figure

  • Which franchise fee and development fee does the FDD now in force carry, given that your website and your 10-K state different pairs?
  • Is the advertising fund still 5.5 percent, and is there any separate local or co-op spend on top?
  • Does the $5 million net worth and $2.1 million liquid requirement apply to a single restaurant, or only to a development agreement?
  • Which markets are actually open, since the site says only that territories are limited?
  • Is a single unit available at all, given an average of eleven restaurants per franchisee?
  • What are the renewal terms at the end of the 10-year initial term, and does renewal require a remodel?
  • Will a franchise attorney and an accountant review the full FDD with me before I commit?

Common questions

How much does a Wingstop franchise cost?

Per Wingstop's own franchise page, loaded August 2, 2026, the total initial investment is $298,200 to $1,013,500. That is one of the lower ranges in the chicken category, but the investment is not what gates most applicants. Wingstop requires a minimum net worth of $5 million, of which $2.1 million must be liquid, which is far higher than the build costs.

What is the Wingstop franchise fee?

Its own two primary sources disagree. Wingstop's franchise page lists a $25,000 franchise fee plus a $25,000 development fee. Its fiscal 2024 Form 10-K, filed with the SEC, states a $20,000 franchise fee and a $10,000 non-refundable development fee per restaurant. Both are Wingstop's own documents. The likeliest explanation is an FDD update since the filing, but we are not going to guess. Ask which figures the current FDD carries.

What royalty does Wingstop charge?

Per its fiscal 2024 10-K, franchisees pay a royalty of 6 percent of gross sales net of discounts, plus an advertising fund contribution that was 5.3 percent and rose to 5.5 percent from the first quarter of 2025. That is a combined 11.5 percent of sales, among the highest in this category. Its marketing site does not restate either figure, so verify both in FDD Item 6.

Can you open a single Wingstop?

The site does not prohibit it, but the system is plainly built around multi-unit operators. Its 10-K reports 196 domestic franchisees running an average of about eleven restaurants each, and it uses area development agreements granting the right to develop restaurants in a defined market area. Combined with the $5 million net-worth bar, a single-unit first-time buyer is not the target.

How long is a Wingstop franchise agreement?

Per its fiscal 2024 10-K, franchise agreements typically provide for a 10-year initial term with an opportunity to enter into one or more renewal agreements subject to certain conditions. The marketing site does not state the term.

Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these sources (last checked August 3, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.

  1. Wingstop official franchise page: a $25,000 development fee, a $25,000 franchise fee, a $298,200 to $1,013,500 initial investment, and a minimum net worth of $5 million of which $2.1 million must be liquid (loaded in a browser 2026-08-02)
  2. Wingstop Inc. fiscal 2024 Form 10-K annual report, stating a $20,000 franchise fee per restaurant, a $10,000 non-refundable development fee per restaurant to be developed, a royalty of 6 percent of gross sales net of discounts, an advertising fund contribution of 5.3 percent rising to 5.5 percent from the first quarter of 2025, a typical 10-year initial term, and 2,513 franchised restaurants across 45 states

Get the Franchise Due-Diligence Kit

An FDD review checklist and a total investment worksheet that keep franchise fee, buildout, and working capital honest. Free, no spam, unsubscribe anytime.

The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.

Keep reading