Playa Bowls vs Sobol Franchise: Cost, Fees and FDD Risks Compared
Compare Playa Bowls and SoBol using their 2026 FDDs: investment, franchise fees, royalty, marketing, outlet counts and each brand's Special Risks.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished August 3, 2026Updated October 14, 2026
Figures on this page come from Franchise Disclosure Documents issued 2026. Franchisors reissue their FDD at least annually, so figures move. Confirm anything you plan to rely on against the brand's current FDD. We are an independent publisher, not a franchise broker, and this is not legal or financial advice.
We checked the sources behind this page in October 2026. Franchise status, terms and availability change, so confirm anything you plan to rely on at the official sites linked in the Sources list below.
SoBol has a lower disclosed investment range, royalty rate and current brand-fund rate than Playa Bowls, per each brand’s 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document; its standard initial franchise fee is higher. Both documents also open with Special Risks pages, and two of the risks are the same: out-of-state dispute resolution and spousal liability. SoBol lists two more, mandatory minimum payments and a financial-condition statement.
As of October 14, 2026, the April 24, 2026 SoBol and April 30, 2026 Playa Bowls FDDs show SoBol has the lower investment range, royalty rate and current brand-fund rate (total marketing cost depends on sales because local minimums differ), while Playa Bowls lists 3 Special Risks and SoBol lists 4.
Short verdict: SoBol suits a buyer who wants the lower disclosed investment range and ongoing percentage rates and is comfortable with a smaller franchisor whose own FDD flags its financial condition. Playa Bowls suits a buyer who wants a much larger system and published qualification figures, and can fund a higher build. Read both Special Risks pages before either cost table.
Side by side
| Playa Bowls | SoBol | |
|---|---|---|
| FDD issuance date | April 30, 2026 | April 24, 2026 |
| Initial fee | $35,000; 20 fiscal-2025 agreements discounted to $12,500 to $30,000 | $40,000; 20% off to $32,000 for qualified veterans |
| Single-unit investment (Item 7) | $281,960 to $1,055,594 | $225,600 to $509,550 |
| Royalty | 6% of monthly Gross Sales | 5% of weekly Gross Sales |
| National marketing fund | Up to 4%, currently 2% | Up to 2%, currently 1% |
| Local marketing | At least 1% of Gross Sales | At least $500 per month |
| Liquid / net worth | $150,000 / $500,000 (investment summary page) | Not stated in the FDD |
| Units (Item 20) | 342 franchised, 30 company-owned (end 2025) | 77 franchised, 2 company-owned, 31 signed not open (end 2025) |
| Special Risks | 3: out-of-state disputes (NJ), spousal liability, signed-but-unopened franchisees | 4: out-of-state disputes (NY), mandatory minimum payments, spousal liability, financial condition |
| Veteran discount (Item 5) | None listed | 20% off to $32,000 for qualified honorably discharged veterans; conditions apply |
| Single units | Stated available | Stated available |
To compare more brands the same way, the franchise comparison spreadsheet maps each column to its FDD Item.
Compare Playa Bowls, SoBol and others side by side
Get the free comparison spreadsheet: fee, Item 7 total, royalty, marketing fund, Special Risks and Item 20 counts, one row per brand, filled from each FDD. Plus the due-diligence kit.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
SoBol franchise cost at a glance
Per its April 24, 2026 FDD:
- Initial fee (Item 5): $40,000; qualified honorably discharged U.S. military veterans receive 20% off, bringing it to $32,000. Request it at signing; approval is required, it is one-time, applies only to the initial fee and cannot be combined with other discounts.
- Single restaurant (Item 7): $225,600 to $509,550, including the $40,000 initial fee.
- Multi-restaurant options (Item 7): $285,600 to $569,550 with the 1-3 Multi-Franchise Addendum, including a $100,000 initial fee; $285,600 to $779,550 under a multi-unit development agreement. These estimates cover opening the first restaurant and the applicable rights or development fees, not building every restaurant.
- Royalty (Item 6): 5% of weekly Gross Sales, due each Tuesday for the preceding week.
- Marketing (Item 6): Brand Development Fund up to 2% of weekly Gross Sales, currently 1%, due each Tuesday for the preceding week; local marketing at least $500 per month.
- Outlets (Item 20): 77 franchised and 2 company-owned at December 31, 2025, plus 31 signed agreements for outlets not yet open.
Item 5 also offers an approved in-term additional territory at the then-current initial fee less $5,000, without a veteran or other discount. The multi-unit development agreement covers 3 to 10 restaurants, with a $30,000 development area fee for each restaurant after the first and another $5,000 initial fee when each additional franchise agreement is signed. Item 12 grants the single-unit right to develop and operate one restaurant at a specific location. Item 17 provides a 10-year term and one additional 10-year renewal if its conditions are met.
The Special Risks, in each franchisor’s words
Each FDD carries a Special Risks page that certain states require. The quotes below are verbatim.
Shared risks, quoted separately
Playa Bowls, per its April 30, 2026 FDD: “Out-of-State Dispute Resolution. The franchise agreement and multi-unit development agreement require you to resolve disputes with the franchisor by mediation, arbitration, and/or litigation only in New Jersey.”
SoBol, per its April 24, 2026 FDD: “Out-of-State Dispute Resolution. The franchise agreement and multi-unit development agreement require you to resolve disputes with the franchisor by mediation, arbitration, and/or litigation only in New York. …”
Playa Bowls, per its April 30, 2026 FDD: “Spousal Liability. Your spouse must sign a document that makes your spouse liable for all financial obligations under the franchise agreement even though your spouse has no ownership interest in the franchise.”
SoBol, per its April 24, 2026 FDD: “Spousal Liability. Your spouse must sign a document that makes your spouse liable for all financial obligations under the franchise agreement even though your spouse has no ownership interest in the franchise. This guarantee will place both your and your spouse’s marital and personal assets, perhaps including your house, at risk if your franchise fails.”
Playa Bowls only, per its April 30, 2026 FDD
“Unopened Franchises. The franchisor has signed a significant number of franchise agreements with franchisees who have not yet opened their outlets. If other franchisees are experiencing delays in opening their outlets, you also may experience delays in opening your own outlet.”
SoBol only, per its April 24, 2026 FDD
“Mandatory Minimum Payments. You must make minimum royalty or advertising fund payments, regardless of your sales levels. Your inability to make payments may result in termination of your franchise and loss of your investment.”
“Financial Condition. The franchisor’s financial condition, as reflected in its financial statements (see Item 21) calls into question the franchisor’s financial ability to provide services and support to you.”
Spousal guaranties and out-of-state venues are on the checklist
Get the free agreement red-flags checklist: guaranty, venue, minimum-payment and default clauses to review with a franchise attorney before you sign. Plus the due-diligence kit.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
What the shared risks mean for you
Spousal liability. In both systems, a spouse with no ownership interest and no operating role signs on for all financial obligations under the franchise agreement. That is a household decision, not a business one. If you are married, it belongs in the conversation before the application, with your spouse and a franchise attorney.
Out-of-state disputes. A dispute would be resolved in New Jersey (Playa Bowls) or New York (SoBol), not your home state, which can raise the cost of bringing or defending a claim.
The two risks only SoBol lists
Mandatory minimum payments. The Special Risks warning says payments are owed regardless of sales levels. Item 6 lists the royalty as 5% of weekly Gross Sales and the Brand Development Fund as currently 1%, up to 2%; it does not specify a fixed-dollar minimum for either fee. Its concrete local advertising floor is separate: “On an on-going monthly basis, you must spend not less than $500 per month on the local marketing of your Restaurant within your designated territory and in accordance with our standards and specifications.” That $500 obligation does not fall with sales. Item 6 also lists a local or regional advertising cooperative contribution of up to 2% of Gross Sales, currently not assessed, credited toward the local marketing requirement.
Financial condition. SoBol’s FDD says its own financial statements call into question its financial ability to provide services and support. Read Item 21 and discuss the disclosed support risk with an accountant.
The risk only Playa Bowls lists
Playa Bowls’ FDD warns that it has signed many franchise agreements with franchisees who have not yet opened, so openings may be delayed. Ask how many signed-but-unopened agreements are in your region and what the current average time to open is.
What SoBol’s FDD does not state
A liquid-capital or net-worth requirement. No figure appears in SoBol’s April 24, 2026 FDD. That is not a claim that anyone qualifies. The official franchising page, checked October 14, 2026, also gives no qualification amount. Compare that disclosure gap with Playa Bowls’ $150,000 and $500,000.
Where each comes out ahead
Playa Bowls: a much larger system (342 franchised shops), published qualification figures, and an Item 5 that discloses fee discounting: 20 fiscal-2025 agreements were discounted to between $12,500 and $30,000 against the $35,000 list fee, so the list fee is a starting point.
SoBol: a lower investment floor, a lower royalty and current brand-fund rate, a 20 percent veteran discount (how veteran franchise discounts work), and a smaller system where each franchisee is a larger share of the whole.
How to decide between them
If the ongoing rate drives your model, compare the disclosed royalty and marketing components: SoBol currently requires 5 percent royalty plus 1 percent fund plus at least $500 a month locally; its fund cap raises the percentage component to 7 percent. Playa Bowls requires 6 percent plus 2 percent plus at least 1 percent local, totaling at least 9 percent, or 11 percent if its fund reaches the 4 percent cap. SoBol’s fixed local floor means its combined cost is not lower at every sales level. These components exclude other fees. The royalty calculator turns the percentages into dollars at your own sales estimate.
If the risk statements matter more to you, weigh SoBol’s financial-condition statement and minimum payments against Playa Bowls’ opening backlog, and remember that both carry spousal liability. Don’t choose on the cost table alone.
Other bowl and smoothie brands covered here: Robeks, Tropical Smoothie Cafe, Pokeworks and Smoothie King.
Questions to ask before choosing either
- Has either of these April 2026 FDDs been amended before signing?
- For SoBol: what do the Item 21 financial statements imply for ongoing franchisee support?
- For SoBol: how does the Special Risks minimum-payment warning apply alongside Item 6’s percentage fees and $500 monthly local marketing floor?
- For Playa Bowls: how many signed franchisees in my region have not yet opened, and how long are openings taking?
- What does the spousal-liability document commit a non-owning spouse to, and is it negotiable?
- What liquid capital and net worth does SoBol actually require, given the FDD states none?
- What does each brand’s current Item 20 show for closures, terminations and transfers?
- Will a franchise attorney and an accountant review both FDDs with me before I commit?
Common questions
Which is cheaper, Playa Bowls or SoBol?
SoBol has the lower disclosed investment range, royalty rate and current brand-fund rate. Per their 2026 FDDs (SoBol April 24; Playa Bowls April 30), SoBol's single-restaurant investment runs $225,600 to $509,550 against Playa Bowls' $281,960 to $1,055,594, its royalty is 5 percent of gross sales against 6, and its national marketing fund is currently 1 percent against 2. Playa Bowls lists a $35,000 initial fee versus SoBol's $40,000. SoBol requires at least $500 a month in local marketing versus Playa Bowls' 1 percent of Gross Sales, so total marketing cost depends on sales.
What Special Risks do the two FDDs list?
Both list out-of-state dispute resolution (Playa Bowls in New Jersey, SoBol in New York) and spousal liability. Playa Bowls adds that it has signed a significant number of franchise agreements with franchisees who have not yet opened. SoBol adds mandatory minimum royalty or advertising payments regardless of sales, and a financial-condition statement saying its financial statements call into question its financial ability to provide services and support.
What is spousal liability?
Both FDDs state that your spouse must sign a document making them liable for all financial obligations under the franchise agreement, even though your spouse has no ownership interest in the franchise. It puts household assets on the line, so it belongs in the conversation with your spouse and an attorney before you apply.
Can you open a single unit of either?
Yes. SoBol's Item 12 grants the right to develop and operate one restaurant at a specific location, with multi-unit optional. Playa Bowls' FDD states that if you are not contracting to develop multiple shops you will not sign a development agreement.
How do the two compare on size?
Playa Bowls is much larger. Its April 30, 2026 FDD reports 342 franchised and 30 company-owned shops at the end of 2025. SoBol's April 24, 2026 FDD reports 77 franchised and 2 company-owned outlets at the end of 2025, with 31 signed agreements not yet open.
Does either offer a veteran discount?
SoBol's FDD offers 20 percent off the initial franchise fee for honorably discharged veterans, requested at signing and applying only to that fee. Item 5 of Playa Bowls' April 30, 2026 FDD lists no veteran discount.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 14, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
- Playa Bowls Franchisor LLC Franchise Disclosure Document, issuance date April 30, 2026 (PDF copy hosted at restfinance.com, read 2026-10-10): a $35,000 single-shop franchise fee with 20 fiscal-2025 agreements discounted to between $12,500 and $30,000, a single-shop total investment of $281,960 to $1,055,594, a 6 percent royalty on monthly Gross Sales, a National Marketing Fund fee of up to 4 percent of Gross Sales currently 2 percent, a 1 percent minimum local marketing spend, no veteran discount in Item 5, Item 20 tables showing 342 franchised and 30 company-owned shops at the end of 2025, and three Special Risks to Consider covering out-of-state dispute resolution in New Jersey, spousal liability, and franchise agreements signed with franchisees who have not yet opened
- Playa Bowls official franchise investment summary page, stating $150,000 in liquid assets and $500,000 net worth to qualify
- Acai Industries, Inc. (SoBol) Franchise Disclosure Document, issuance date April 24, 2026 (PDF copy hosted at restfinance.com, read 2026-10-14; PDF filename refers to 2025): a $40,000 initial franchise fee, a single-restaurant total investment of $225,600 to $509,550, a royalty of 5 percent of weekly Gross Sales, a Brand Development Fund of up to 2 percent of Gross Sales currently charged at 1 percent, a mandatory local marketing spend of not less than $500 per month, a 10-year term with one 10-year renewal, Item 20 tables showing 77 franchised and 2 company-owned outlets at December 31, 2025 with 31 signed agreements not yet opened, a 20 percent veteran discount on the initial fee, no stated liquid-capital or net-worth requirement, and four Special Risks to Consider covering out-of-state dispute resolution in New York, mandatory minimum payments, spousal liability and financial condition
- SoBol official franchising page, with an application form and stating over 100 locations open or in development (checked 2026-10-14)
Get the Franchise Due-Diligence Kit
An FDD review checklist and a total investment worksheet that keep franchise fee, buildout, and working capital honest. Free, no spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Under $100K
Playa Bowls Franchise Cost 2026: $281,960 to $1.06M (FDD)
Playa Bowls' April 2026 FDD: $281,960 to $1,055,594 for one shop, a $35,000 fee discounted to $12,500-$30,000 for 20 signings in 2025, and a 6% royalty.
Under $100K
Best Salad and Bowl Franchises 2026: Who Is Actually Open
Compare availability for six brands: Saladworks, Playa Bowls, Robeks, Pokeworks, Freshii and Chop Stop, with FDD costs and single-unit options.
Buying Process
How to Read an FDD Without a Law Degree
A plain-English guide to the Franchise Disclosure Document: all 23 items listed with their official titles, which ones carry the money, and the 14-day rule.
Buying Process
FDD Item 6 Explained: 'Other Fees' Under 16 CFR 436.5(f)
A plain-English guide to Item 6 of the FDD: the recurring royalty, ad-fund, and technology fees, how the royalty base changes the cost, and how the fees stack up.
Buying Process
FDD Item 21: Franchisor Financial Statements 16 CFR 436.5(u)
FDD Item 21 requires audited financial statements under GAAP: two balance sheets and three years of operations, equity, and cash flows, with a start-up phase-in.
Under $100K
Bubble Tea Franchise Costs 2026: 6 Brands' FDD Fees Compared
Compare six bubble tea brands using 2026 FDD fees, investment ranges, royalties and marketing charges, with dated Chatime and Happy Lemon disclosure limits.