Best Salad and Bowl Franchises 2026: Who Is Actually Open
Compare availability for six brands: Saladworks, Playa Bowls, Robeks, Pokeworks, Freshii and Chop Stop, with FDD costs and single-unit options.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished August 3, 2026Updated October 14, 2026
Figures on this page come from Franchise Disclosure Documents issued 2023 to 2026. At least one of those documents is now two or more years old, and franchisors reissue their FDD at least annually, so treat these numbers as a starting point rather than a current quote. Confirm anything you plan to rely on against the brand's current FDD. We are an independent publisher, not a franchise broker, and this is not legal or financial advice.
We checked the sources behind this page in October 2026. Franchise status, terms and availability change, so confirm anything you plan to rely on at the official sites linked in the Sources list below.
For salad and bowl brands, availability comes before cost: per their own sites and FDDs as of October 14, 2026, Chop Stop has paused applications, Freshii routes applicants to a Canada-focused page, and Pokeworks leans toward multi-unit buyers; Saladworks, Playa Bowls and Robeks offer single-unit agreements in their FDDs. These six brands need an availability check before a cost comparison.
Start with availability, not cost
| Brand | Can a single-unit buyer apply today? | What the franchisor says |
|---|---|---|
| Saladworks | Yes, inquiries solicited on its franchising site | Its January 23, 2026 FDD offers a single-restaurant agreement, an optional Frutta Bowls co-brand subject to approval, and area development with a minimum of two restaurants |
| Playa Bowls | Yes | Its FDD states that if you are not contracting to develop multiple shops, you will not sign a development agreement |
| Robeks | Yes | Its FDD describes the Classic Franchise as “a single-unit franchise license”; the three-unit Legacy Franchise is a separate option |
| Pokeworks | Yes on paper, with a multi-unit lean | Its FDD offers a single-restaurant franchise agreement; its site lists a “Multi-Unit Vision” among the qualities it seeks |
| Freshii | Unclear | Its FDD expects single-unit agreements “only in rare situations”; its own franchising link points at Canada |
| Chop Stop | No | “The demand for franchises is so high, however, we’ve had to temporarily pause applications. Fill out the form below to get on the wait list and be the first to know when that changes.” |
Salad chains that do not sell franchises
sweetgreen’s FY2025 10-K, filed February 27, 2026, states: “As of December 28, 2025, we owned and operated 281 restaurants in 24 states and Washington, D.C.” It also states: “The Company has one revenue stream, generating revenue from retail sales of food and beverages by company-owned restaurants within the United States.”
Salad and Go’s FAQ, checked October 14, 2026, answers “Are you a franchise?”: “Although we’re growing fast – thanks to the support of our amazing communities – we are not a franchise. We are a privately owned, local business based in Phoenix, Arizona with no current plans to franchise.”
Then the money, with the basis attached
| Brand | Published single-unit investment (floor unless a range is shown) | Royalty | Marketing | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saladworks | $484,000 to $677,800; $35,000 initial franchise fee | 6% | 3% brand fund + 2% local advertising | Net Sales, defined in the FDD |
| Freshii | $172,500 | 6% | 3% total | Gross Sales, defined in the FDD |
| Playa Bowls | $281,960 | 6% | 2% national (up to 4%) + 1% local | Gross Sales |
| Pokeworks | $270,435 | 6% | 1.5% fund + 2% local spend | Gross Sales, defined in the FDD |
| Robeks | $299,050 | 7% at one store, 6% at three, 5.5% at five or more | 2.5% fund + 1% local | Net Sales, defined in the FDD |
| Chop Stop | Not stated on its franchising page | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Compare these bowl brands side by side
Get the free franchise comparison spreadsheet: Item 7 investment, Item 5 fee, Item 6 royalty and ad fund, and FDD date for every brand you request. Plus the due-diligence kit.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Freshii’s floor comes from a disclosure document issued May 19, 2023, while Playa Bowls, Pokeworks and Robeks use FDDs issued in April 2026 and Saladworks uses its January 23, 2026 FDD, so its place at the bottom of this ranking rests on an older basis than the rest. Only the Saladworks row shows a full investment range; the other disclosed investment figures in the table are floors.
Saladworks’ franchising site (checked October 14, 2026) lists $234K to $653K, a $35K franchise fee, $350K liquid assets and $1,000,000 net worth, plus a 25% veteran fee discount. The site’s investment range differs from the FDD, which governs; its $35K franchise fee matches Item 5. Item 20 of the January 23, 2026 FDD reports 83 franchised and 1 company-owned outlet at fiscal year-end 2025.
Saladworks’ Item 6 defines Net Sales to include revenue from business at or from the restaurant, including delivery, without deducting delivery costs; it excludes qualifying separately stated sales taxes and honored discounts or coupons. Its 3% brand fund can rise to 5% with a proportional reduction in the 2% local advertising requirement, keeping the combined requirement at no more than 5% of Net Sales.
Every brand that publishes a royalty defines its basis, and the bases differ. Freshii’s FDD spells out that Gross Sales includes online, mobile app and remote ordering. Pokeworks’ FDD defines Gross Sales as all revenue generated by the restaurant, not including sales tax collected, less discounts taken at the point of sale. Robeks charges on Net Sales, and its FDD defines net as sales and other income excluding separately stated taxes, good-faith refunds, gift card sale proceeds and authorized coupon discounts. A 7 percent royalty on Net Sales and a 6 percent royalty on Gross Sales are not measured on the same base, so compare definitions before you compare percentages.
Check qualification floors before applying. Saladworks’ site lists $350,000 in liquid assets and $1,000,000 net worth. Pokeworks’ site states $250,000 in readily available funds and $750,000 in total assets minus liabilities. Robeks’ site states a $149,000 minimum liquid capital and a $375,000 minimum net worth for a single unit. You can check yourself against those before contacting anyone.
The thing to read before you read the cost table
Freshii’s 2023 disclosure document carries a risk statement in the franchisor’s own required wording, saying its financial condition “calls into question the franchisor’s financial ability to provide services and support to you”, alongside a turnover-rate statement noting 76 outlets terminated or ceased over three years and an out-of-state dispute-resolution statement requiring disputes to be resolved in Ontario, Canada. Its Item 20 shows US franchised outlets falling from 121 to 52 across three fiscal years.
That document is dated May 2023 and describes the position then, not necessarily now, and the FDD itself states that Foodtastic Inc. acquired all of the shares of Freshii, Inc. in February 2023. The point for this page is procedural rather than about one brand: the front of a disclosure document can carry risk statements, and a reader who starts at the investment table may never reach them. The Freshii franchise cost breakdown covers these statements in context.
Minnesota CARDS shows that Freshii’s 2023 application was withdrawn by order dated June 25, 2024, after no activity for 120 days. It also records a franchise exemption notice under Minn. Stat. 80C.03(e), effective December 10, 2024, confirmed in the Department of Commerce’s December 13, 2024 email (CARDS document 32670-202412-04). No newer Freshii FDD was found in CARDS as of October 14, 2026; the FDD used here remains dated May 19, 2023.
How to actually choose
If you want one shop and a clear route in, Saladworks, Playa Bowls and Robeks offer single-unit agreements in their FDDs. Saladworks also offers a Frutta Bowls co-brand subject to approval and area development for at least two restaurants. For Playa Bowls and Robeks, compare the agreement and format alongside the fee: Playa Bowls’ Item 5 discloses that 20 franchisees’ agreements in fiscal 2025 were discounted to between $12,500 and $30,000, which makes its published fee a starting point rather than a fixed price.
Smoothie and acai bowl shops run on blenders; see commercial blenders for coffee and smoothie shops and NSF-certified blenders.
If you are funding several units, Pokeworks lists a multi-unit vision among the qualities it seeks on its franchising page, checked October 14, 2026.
If Chop Stop is the concept you want, join the wait list and use the pause to visit stores and talk to operators, because the numbers will only ever come from the FDD.
In every case, the format decides more of the cost than the brand does. Within a single brand, the build format swings the investment more than the category ever will.
Two comparisons that go deeper
For the acai vertical specifically, Playa Bowls against Sobol compares the two brands side by side.
For a drinks concept instead, the bubble tea franchise cost comparison lines up six brands; as of October 14, 2026, four disclose royalties in 2026 FDDs.
Questions to ask any brand on this list
- Are you accepting applications in my market right now, and for a single unit?
- Which format is available to me here, and what is its Item 7 range specifically?
- Is the royalty charged on gross or net sales, and how is that term defined in the agreement?
- What advertising or marketing fees apply on top, and on which basis?
- Does the current FDD carry any risk statements in its front matter?
- What does Item 20 show for openings, closures and transfers over the last three years?
- What is the initial term, and what does renewal cost?
- Will a franchise attorney and an accountant review the full FDD with me before I commit?
Common questions
What is the best salad or bowl franchise to open?
As of October 14, 2026, availability comes first: Saladworks, Playa Bowls and Robeks offer single-unit agreements in their FDDs; Pokeworks offers one but lists a multi-unit vision on its site; Chop Stop has paused applications; and Freshii routes applicants to a Canada-focused page.
Which one is cheapest to open?
On published single-unit figures, Freshii's 2023 disclosure document shows the lowest floor at $172,500, then Pokeworks at $270,435, then Playa Bowls at $281,960, then Robeks at $299,050; those three figures come from FDDs issued in April 2026. Saladworks follows at $484,000: its January 23, 2026 FDD gives a $484,000 to $677,800 range and a $35,000 initial franchise fee. Chop Stop's franchising page states no figures. Read those floors as the most constrained format each brand offers, not as what a typical build costs.
Which has the lowest ongoing fees?
Adding each FDD's royalty, fund and required local spend, Freshii and Playa Bowls tie at 9 percent of gross sales on current rates, Pokeworks totals 9.5 percent (6 royalty, 1.5 fund, 2 local), and Robeks totals 10.5 percent of net sales at one store (7 royalty, 2.5 fund, 1 local), falling to 9.5 percent at three stores. Saladworks totals 11 percent of Net Sales (6 royalty, 3 brand fund, 2 local advertising) under its January 23, 2026 FDD. Its fund can rise to 5 percent with a proportional local reduction, keeping combined fund and local requirements at no more than 5 percent. Playa Bowls' national fund can rise to 4 percent from the current 2. Robeks and Saladworks each define Net Sales in their FDDs; the other three use Gross Sales, so the percentages are not identical measures.
Can I open just one?
Saladworks offers a single-location franchise agreement in its January 23, 2026 FDD. Playa Bowls says so explicitly in its FDD. Robeks' FDD describes its Classic Franchise as a single-unit franchise license, with a three-unit Legacy Franchise as the multi-unit option. Freshii's FDD says it expects to sign single-unit agreements only in rare situations. Pokeworks' FDD offers a single-restaurant franchise agreement, and its site lists a desire to develop multiple locations among the qualities it seeks. Chop Stop's own site says it has temporarily paused applications.
Does sweetgreen franchise?
Its FY2025 10-K, filed February 27, 2026, states: 'The Company has one revenue stream, generating revenue from retail sales of food and beverages by company-owned restaurants within the United States.'
Is a salad franchise cheaper than a restaurant franchise?
Usually at the floor, but the ranges overlap with other categories more than people expect, and the format you build moves the number more than the category does. A bowl shop at the top of its range costs more than several full-service concepts at the bottom of theirs.
What should I check before applying to any of them?
Whether the brand is accepting applications in your market, which format is actually available to you there, what the royalty basis is, and what Item 20 shows for closures over the last three years. Every one of those has produced a surprise on at least one brand in this list.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 14, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
- Playa Bowls Franchisor LLC Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 30, 2026 (hosted by Restaurant Finance Monitor): a $35,000 single-shop franchise fee with 20 fiscal-2025 agreements discounted to between $12,500 and $30,000, a single-shop total estimated investment of $281,960 to $1,055,594, a 6 percent royalty on Gross Sales, a National Marketing Fund of up to 4 percent currently 2 percent plus 1 percent franchisee-directed local marketing, and 342 franchised plus 30 company-owned shops at the end of 2025
- Pokeworks franchise disclosure document issued April 10, 2026 (hosted by Restaurant Finance Monitor): a $40,000 initial franchise fee, a total investment of $270,435 to $599,661, a royalty of 6 percent of Gross Sales, a Marketing Fund contribution of 1.5 percent of Gross Sales, a required local marketing spend of 2 percent of Gross Sales, and a single-restaurant franchise fee of $40,000 charged to 2025 signers outside a multi-unit agreement
- Pokeworks official franchising page: $250,000 in readily available funds, $750,000 in total assets minus liabilities and a multi-unit vision among the qualities it seeks (checked 2026-10-14)
- Robeks Franchise Corporation Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 17, 2026 (hosted by Restaurant Finance Monitor): a Classic Franchise described as a single-unit franchise license with a $30,000 initial franchise fee, a single-store total estimated investment of $299,050 to $538,500, a royalty of 7 percent of Net Sales at one store, 6.5 percent at two, 6 percent at three and 5.5 percent at five or more, Marketing Fees of 2.5 percent of Net Sales plus a 1 percent local marketing spend, and a definition of Net Sales that excludes separately stated taxes, good-faith refunds, gift card sale proceeds and authorized coupon discounts
- Robeks official Investment and AUV page, stating an initial cost of $299,050 to $538,500 and single-unit qualifications of $149,000 minimum liquid capital, $375,000 minimum net worth and a $30,000 franchise fee (loaded 2026-09-29)
- Robeks official Multi-Unit Incentives page, stating royalty fees of 7 percent for one store, 6.5 percent for two, 6 percent for three and 5.5 percent for five or more (loaded 2026-09-29)
- Robeks official Available Markets page, listing its active territories as available nationwide (loaded 2026-09-29)
- Freshii Development, LLC Franchise Disclosure Document issued May 19, 2023 (hosted by Restaurant Finance Monitor): a $30,000 franchise fee, a single-restaurant total investment of $172,500 to $641,000, a 6 percent royalty of Gross Sales, marketing totaling 3 percent split as a fund contribution of up to 3 percent currently charged at 1.5 percent plus a mandatory 1.5 percent local spend, a statement that it expects to sign franchise agreements outside an area development agreement only in rare situations, a Financial Condition risk statement, a Turnover Rate risk statement naming 76 outlets terminated or ceased, the February 2023 acquisition of Freshii, Inc. by Foodtastic Inc., and Item 20 tables showing US franchised outlets falling from 121 at the start of 2020 to 52 at the end of 2022
- Chop Stop official franchising page, stating that demand has been high enough that the company has temporarily paused applications and directing prospects to a wait list, and stating no franchise fee, investment range or royalty on that page; loaded in a browser 2026-10-14
- Foodtastic official Freshii brand page: the Canada-focused destination of freshii.com's Become a Franchisee link (checked 2026-10-14)
- Saladworks, LLC Franchise Disclosure Document issued January 23, 2026 (Minnesota CARDS): $484,000 to $677,800 total investment, $35,000 initial franchise fee, 6 percent royalty, 3 percent Brand Development Fund and 2 percent local advertising on Net Sales; Item 20 reports 83 franchised and 1 company-owned outlet at fiscal year-end 2025
- Saladworks official franchising site: franchise inquiries, $234K to $653K investment range, $35K franchise fee, $350K liquid assets, $1,000,000 net worth and 25 percent veteran franchise fee discount (checked 2026-10-14)
- sweetgreen Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 28, 2025, filed February 27, 2026: 281 owned and operated restaurants and one revenue stream from company-owned restaurant food and beverage sales
- Salad and Go official FAQ: privately owned and not a franchise, with no current plans to franchise (checked 2026-10-14)
Get the Franchise Due-Diligence Kit
An FDD review checklist and a total investment worksheet that keep franchise fee, buildout, and working capital honest. Free, no spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Under $100K
Playa Bowls Franchise Cost 2026: $281,960 to $1.06M (FDD)
Playa Bowls' April 2026 FDD: $281,960 to $1,055,594 for one shop, a $35,000 fee discounted to $12,500-$30,000 for 20 signings in 2025, and a 6% royalty.
Under $100K
Pokeworks Franchise Cost 2026: $270K-$600K and a $40K Fee
Pokeworks' April 2026 FDD: $270,435 to $599,661 per restaurant, a $40,000 fee, 6% royalty and 1.5% marketing, plus the $400K-$450K target it publishes.
Under $100K
Freshii Franchise Cost: Its FDD Carries a Risk Statement
Freshii's 2023 disclosure document carries the franchisor's own warning about its financial condition, and Item 20 shows US franchised units falling 121 to 52.
Under $100K
Chop Stop Franchise: Cost, Availability and Locations (2026)
As of October 14, 2026, Chop Stop has paused franchise applications. Review its wait list, unpublished costs, California registry history and nine locations.
Under $100K
Which Food Franchise Vertical Is Cheapest to Open? (2026)
Add-on and mobile formats start at $15,500 and $16,500 in 2026 FDDs. Compare six food franchise verticals and same-brand formats before choosing.
Under $100K
Culver's Franchise Cost 2026: $3.4M+ to Open, $65K Fee
Culver's 2026 FDD puts opening costs at $3,406,350 to $10,294,100. Compare land assumptions, franchise fees, royalties and liquidity requirements.