Skip to main content

Qdoba Franchise Cost 2026: $548K-$1.29M, $40K Fee, 5% Royalty

Qdoba's December 2025 FDD: $548,100 to $1,294,000 traditional, $234,500 to $898,000 non-traditional, $40,000 fee, 5% royalty, and where its web pages differ.

By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished August 2, 2026Updated October 14, 2026

Figures on this page come from Franchise Disclosure Documents issued 2025. Franchisors reissue their FDD at least annually, so figures move. Confirm anything you plan to rely on against the brand's current FDD. We are an independent publisher, not a franchise broker, and this is not legal or financial advice.

We checked the sources behind this page in October 2026. Franchise status, terms and availability change, so confirm anything you plan to rely on at the official sites linked in the Sources list below.

Get the free due-diligence kit

Qdoba publishes a franchise fee, a royalty, a marketing fee, two format ranges and a city-level territory map. The problem is that its own pages, and its Franchise Disclosure Document, do not agree with each other on several of those figures.

That matters because a buyer starting from the website can come away with the wrong investment range, the wrong local-marketing requirement, and the wrong answer to the first question anyone asks: can I open just one?

Three Qdoba sources, three sets of numbers

The table compares Qdoba’s FDD with its What It Takes page and franchising FAQ, both checked October 14, 2026.

Item FDD, December 9, 2025 What It Takes page (October 14, 2026) FAQ page (October 14, 2026)
Traditional total investment $548,100 to $1,294,000 (franchise agreement); $549,100 to $1,299,000 (development agreement, one restaurant); $545,500 to $1,294,000 stated per restaurant before the separate $40,000 deduction in Item 7 note 15, inconsistent with the franchise-agreement chart $249,100 to $1,299,000 $545,500 to $1,294,000 in the answer; $548,100 to $1,294,000 in its detailed investment table
Non-traditional total investment $234,500 to $898,000 $234,500 to $898,000 $236,500 to $939,000
Initial franchise fee $40,000 traditional; $20,000 non-traditional $40,000 traditional; $20,000 non-traditional $40,000 in the traditional investment table
Marketing fee Currently 4.5% of gross sales for franchisees; 1.75% for licensees 4.5% traditional; 1.75% non-traditional 4.5% of gross sales; described as negotiable and varying for nontraditional locations
Royalty 5% (6% at non-traditional sites) 5% traditional, 6% non-traditional Not stated
Ongoing local marketing Currently no specific local advertising spending requirement Local marketing spend 1.25% Not stated
Minimum units Single-unit franchise under the standard agreement; a developer commits to at least one restaurant Minimum of two franchise restaurants Financial tiers for a new franchise and for three or more cafes; no minimum stated

When a brand's pages and FDD disagree, check these clauses

Our free agreement red-flags checklist covers the fee, term, territory and transfer clauses to confirm in writing. Plus the due-diligence kit.

The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.

The FDD is the document with legal weight, so where the pages differ from it, treat the FDD as the governing figure and ask Qdoba to explain the difference in writing. The What It Takes page’s $1,299,000 upper bound matches the FDD’s development-agreement total, and its non-traditional range matches the FDD. Its traditional low end of $249,100 matches no figure in the FDD. The FAQ’s $545,500 to $1,294,000 matches the FDD’s per-restaurant figure under a development agreement (Item 7 note 15), not the $548,100 franchise-agreement low end. The FAQ’s detailed investment table separately gives $548,100 to $1,294,000.

Item 7 note 15 states $545,500 to $1,294,000 as the initial estimated cost for each restaurant developed under a development agreement, before describing a $40,000 reduction because the franchise fee is accounted for separately in the development-agreement table. That stated range is not the franchise-agreement range minus the fee: $548,100 minus $40,000 is $508,100, and $1,294,000 minus $40,000 is $1,254,000. Note 16 says to use the traditional table’s low and high estimates minus $40,000. The development table separately lists the $10,000 development fee, the remaining $30,000 franchise fee and $1,000 to $5,000 for business-plan preparation/professional fees. The investment estimates exclude real property and liquor license costs. Note 15’s low end remains inconsistent with the traditional table; ask Qdoba to reconcile it in writing.

Can you open just one?

The FDD’s Item 1 describes a “Single-Unit Franchise” under Qdoba’s standard franchise agreement, and separately says a developer signing an area development agreement must open at least one restaurant. The What It Takes page tells prospects that Qdoba is looking for people committed to opening a minimum of two franchise restaurants.

Qdoba’s FAQ lists a financial tier for someone opening a new franchise ($350,000 liquid, $1,000,000 net worth) and a separate tier for three or more cafes.

Investment, split by format

Qdoba’s FDD states two separate total investment ranges rather than one blended figure. A traditional restaurant runs $548,100 to $1,294,000 including the $40,000 franchise fee, and excludes real property and liquor license costs. A non-traditional restaurant runs $234,500 to $898,000 including a $20,000 fee, with the same exclusions.

Splitting the formats matters because a single figure spanning both would describe nothing anyone can actually buy. A reader who saw one “$234,500 to $1,294,000” figure would reasonably plan for the bottom of it and be planning a non-traditional site without knowing.

Qdoba’s flexible buildouts page describes non-traditional spaces such as airports and college campuses, and lists travel plazas, malls and casinos, military installations and government agencies alongside them. The FDD’s fee tables treat these sites differently: a $20,000 fee, a 6 percent royalty, and a 1.75 percent marketing fee for licensees, and the FDD says Qdoba does not require licensees at non-traditional locations to conduct local advertising. Our Item 7 guide covers what an investment range actually includes.

Royalty, marketing fee and the veterans discount

Qdoba’s FDD Item 6 states a royalty of 5 percent of gross sales, payable weekly, and 6 percent at non-traditional sites, with lower rates set in unusual situations. The What It Takes page states the same 5 percent and 6 percent, so the royalty is one figure on which Qdoba’s documents agree. Our Item 6 guide explains how royalty and other recurring fees are defined.

The marketing fee is currently 4.5 percent of gross sales for franchisees and 1.75 percent for licensees, per the FDD. Qdoba’s FAQ describes the fee as negotiable and says it varies for nontraditional locations, and the FDD adds that Qdoba may propose to raise it up to 6 percent, with increases or decreases requiring approval by majority vote.

See how VetFran works, including its membership requirements and star tiers.

On veterans: the What It Takes page says Qdoba is a proud member of VetFran and invites veterans to contact it about reduced fees, and the FDD states a $10,000 reduction of the initial franchise fee for a franchisee who documents an honorable discharge.

Term, renewal and outlet counts

Item 17 describes a traditional franchise term of typically ten years, potentially shorter if the property cannot be secured for ten years. Renewal requires no default, notice, remodeling, a new agreement and release, a fee and continued possession of the premises. The new agreement may have materially different terms. For a non-traditional license, the initial term is negotiated; renewal is for the lesser of ten years or the renewed concession agreement’s term, subject to the stated conditions. See our Item 17 guide.

Item 20 reports 652 franchised outlets and 175 company-owned outlets, 827 total, at fiscal year-end 2025 (September 28, 2025). Our Item 20 guide explains how to read the outlet tables.

The territory map

As of October 14, 2026, Qdoba’s available-territories page carries a map legend of Open, Limited and Sold out/Non-trad only, and a state-by-state list with entries such as “Priority Markets” and “Limited Market” naming cities. It states 850+ restaurants in 47 states.

That is a checkable disclosure, and it is worth reading closely, because the alternative is discovering late that your market is closed.

Check your market on Qdoba’s page before you read another figure. Territory is the one constraint that capital does not solve.

SBA Franchise Directory: Qdoba Restaurant Corporation appears in the SBA’s Franchise Directory file effective October 9, 2026 (SBA Franchise Identifier Code S1370; franchisor certification marked received). A listing is what a lender checks for brand eligibility; it is not an endorsement, and your own eligibility as a borrower is assessed separately. See how to check the SBA Franchise Directory.

Questions to ask Qdoba before you sign

  • Is the minimum one restaurant or two? Your FDD and your What It Takes page give different answers, so please confirm in writing.
  • Should I budget for the FDD’s $548,100 to $1,294,000, the FAQ’s $545,500 to $1,294,000, or the What It Takes page’s $249,100 to $1,299,000? Which is current?
  • Is there a local marketing requirement? The FDD says currently none, and the What It Takes page lists 1.25 percent.
  • Is the royalty calculated on gross or net sales, and what does gross sales exclude?
  • Is my specific market open, and what does “limited” mean for it in practice?
  • The marketing fee is described as negotiable: what determines where it lands, and can it change later?
  • How do I document my honorable discharge for the veterans fee reduction, and does it apply to a non-traditional license?
  • Will a franchise attorney and an accountant review the full FDD with me before I commit?

For other cost guides, see Del Taco, Which Wich, Freddy’s and Charleys Cheesesteaks.

Common questions

Can you buy a single Qdoba franchise?

Qdoba's own documents point in different directions. Its FDD, issued December 9, 2025, describes a single-unit franchise under its standard franchise agreement and says a developer must commit to at least one restaurant. Its What It Takes page, checked October 14, 2026, says it is looking for people committed to opening a minimum of two franchise restaurants. Ask Qdoba to confirm in writing which applies to you before you start an application.

How much does a Qdoba franchise cost?

Qdoba's FDD states a total investment of $548,100 to $1,294,000 for a traditional restaurant, including a $40,000 franchise fee, and $234,500 to $898,000 for a non-traditional one, including a $20,000 fee. Qdoba's web pages state other ranges: its What It Takes page gives $249,100 to $1,299,000 for traditional, and its FAQ gives $545,500 to $1,294,000 traditional and $236,500 to $939,000 non-traditional. The FDD's own Item 7 also states two related figures: $549,100 to $1,299,000 for a development agreement committing to one restaurant, and $545,500 to $1,294,000 per restaurant under a development agreement (the stated range before a separate $40,000 deduction, inconsistent with the franchise-agreement chart). The FAQ answer matches that stated per-restaurant figure, while its detailed investment table gives $548,100 to $1,294,000. Use the current FDD's Item 7 as the governing figure.

What are Qdoba's financial requirements?

Its FAQ states two tiers. To open a new franchise: $350,000 in liquid assets and a minimum net worth of $1,000,000. To open three or more cafes: $500,000 liquid and $1,500,000 net worth. Its What It Takes page states the first tier, $350,000+ liquid capital and $1,000,000 minimum net worth.

What royalty does Qdoba charge?

Qdoba's FDD Item 6 states a royalty of five percent of gross sales, and six percent at non-traditional sites. Its What It Takes page also states 5 percent for the traditional investment and 6 percent for non-traditional. Its FAQ states a 4.5 percent marketing fee on gross sales, described as negotiable, and its FDD lists that fee as currently 4.5 percent for franchisees and 1.75 percent for licensees.

Which markets are open for Qdoba?

Qdoba publishes a state-by-state territory map with a legend of Open, Limited and Sold out/Non-trad only, plus listings such as Priority Markets and Limited Market for named cities. Check your specific market there before anything else, because territory is the constraint capital cannot solve.

Does Qdoba offer a veterans discount?

Yes. Its What It Takes page says Qdoba is a member of VetFran and invites veterans to contact it about reduced fees. Its FDD says that with documentation of an honorable discharge from the United States military, Qdoba will reduce the initial franchise fee by $10,000.

Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 14, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.

  1. SBA Franchise Directory (file effective October 9, 2026; checked 2026-10-14)
  2. Qdoba Franchisor LLC Franchise Disclosure Document (issuance date December 9, 2025): cover page totals of $548,100 to $1,294,000 (traditional) and $234,500 to $898,000 (non-traditional), Item 5 fees and VetFran $10,000 reduction, Item 6 royalty of 5 percent of gross sales (6 percent at non-traditional sites) and marketing fee of 4.5 percent (1.75 percent for licensees), Item 1 single-unit franchise and developer minimum of one restaurant; cover page and Item 7 total of $549,100 to $1,299,000 under a development agreement committing to one restaurant, and Item 7 note 15 stating the per-restaurant cost under a development agreement is currently $545,500 to $1,294,000 (the stated range before a separate $40,000 deduction, inconsistent with the franchise-agreement chart); Item 17 term and conditional renewal, Item 20 fiscal year-end 2025 counts of 652 franchised and 175 company-owned outlets (827 total); text read from a PDF copy of the FDD (read 2026-10-14)
  3. Minnesota CARDS 2026 renewed-registration record: Qdoba Franchisor LLC, file 11155, Clean FDD 2026 document 35127-202512-08 and Order of Renewed Registration w Amendment document 35127-202512-10, received 12/12/2025 (checked 2026-10-14)
  4. Qdoba official What It Takes page: liquid capital of $350,000+, minimum net worth of $1,000,000, traditional franchise fee $40,000 and initial investment range $249,100 to $1,299,000 (its low end matches no figure in the FDD), royalty fee 5 percent, marketing fee 4.5 percent, local marketing spend 1.25 percent, non-traditional franchise fee $20,000 and range $234,500 to $898,000, royalty 6 percent, marketing 1.75 percent, a commitment to opening a minimum of two franchise restaurants, and VetFran membership (checked 2026-10-14)
  5. Qdoba official franchising FAQ: traditional answer range of $545,500 to $1,294,000 and detailed table range of $548,100 to $1,294,000, nontraditional range of $236,500 to $939,000, 4.5 percent marketing fee described as negotiable, and two qualification tiers ($350,000 liquid and $1,000,000 net worth; $500,000 liquid and $1,500,000 net worth for three or more cafes); the FAQ states no royalty percentage (checked 2026-10-14)
  6. Qdoba official available-territories page, with a map legend of Open, Limited and Sold out/Non-trad only and state listings such as Priority Markets and Limited Market, plus a claim of 850+ restaurants in 47 states (checked 2026-10-14)
  7. Qdoba official flexible buildouts page, describing nontraditional spaces such as airports and college campuses and stating that a nontraditional restaurant's initial investment starts as low as $234,500, excluding real property and liquor license costs (checked 2026-10-14)

Get the Franchise Due-Diligence Kit

An FDD review checklist and a total investment worksheet that keep franchise fee, buildout, and working capital honest. Free, no spam, unsubscribe anytime.

The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.

Keep reading

Under $100K

Freddy's Franchise Cost 2026: Single-Unit Tier, Fees by Format

Freddy's 2026 FDD costs by format, a $35,000 fee, 5% royalty, marketing changes, single-unit qualification conflicts and territory limits.

Under $100K

Charleys Franchise Cost (2026): Fees, Investment, 3-Unit Rule

Charleys franchise cost: $24,500 first fee; $202,690-$1,004,447 across April 2026 FDD formats. See format costs and the site's three-license rule.

Under $100K

Buffalo Wild Wings Franchise Cost 2026: BWW vs BWW GO

March 2026 FDDs put Buffalo Wild Wings investment at $2,463,945 to $4,900,320 and BWW GO at $375,845 to $919,500. Compare fees, terms and sales.

Buying Process

FDD Item 7 Explained: Estimated Initial Investment, Line by Line

FDD Item 7 (estimated initial investment) read line by line from real 2026 coffee-franchise tables: the FTC rules, the footnotes, and what it leaves out.

Buying Process

FDD Item 6 Explained: 'Other Fees' Under 16 CFR 436.5(f)

A plain-English guide to Item 6 of the FDD: the recurring royalty, ad-fund, and technology fees, how the royalty base changes the cost, and how the fees stack up.

Under $100K

Jamba Franchise Cost 2026: Fee, Royalty, Liquid Capital

Jamba franchise cost: March 2026 FDD fee $35,500, total $480,850 to $941,300, 6% net-sales royalty; GoTo minimums $120,000 liquid / $300,000 net worth.

Under $100K

Your Pie Franchise Cost 2026: Fee, Investment, Royalty

Your Pie publishes a $35,000 franchise fee, $404,750 to $1,249,000 investment excluding real estate, and a 5% royalty on net sales. Compare its ad fees.