Coffee Shop Backup Generator Size: Brick-and-Mortar Outage Plan
Backup generator sizing for a brick-and-mortar coffee shop outage: what to run first, what to skip, and the CO safety rules that actually matter.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 16, 2026Updated October 15, 2026
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.
A brick-and-mortar outage calls for a coffee shop backup plan: keep refrigeration, POS, connectivity, and essential lights on while the espresso bar stays off. This guide sizes those priorities from your equipment’s nameplates and the load math below.
Generator and accessory specifications below come from manufacturer documents; outage safety guidance comes from CPSC, OSHA, FDA, and FoodSafety.gov. Check your equipment’s nameplates against both running and starting capacity before choosing a unit.
Who this is for, and who should skip it
This is for an owner of a fixed coffee shop location who wants a plan for the next time the grid goes down: keep the walk-in and reach-in cold, keep the POS and internet alive so you can still sell, and maybe keep a few lights on. It assumes standard 120V outlets and a shop that is not trying to become a whole-building continuity project overnight.
Skip this article, and go straight to a licensed electrician and a Generac-class dealer instead, if your goal is keeping the entire kitchen, the walk-in, the HVAC, and the espresso bar running through a multi-day outage. That is a real, buyable outcome, but it is a standby-generator-and-transfer-switch installation project, not a box you carry in from your car. We cover that tier further down.
If you run a coffee cart or trailer instead of a fixed shop, your equipment mix and power math are different enough that this article is the wrong lens. See our generator sizing guide for a mobile coffee cart instead.
How much generator does a coffee shop actually need?
Work through this in priority order, not by adding up every piece of equipment you own. Each tier below is sized from a sourced wattage range, and each one assumes you check your own equipment’s nameplate rather than a universal number, since compressor and appliance draw varies by unit.
| Priority | What it covers | Running power draw | Why this order |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Refrigeration | Reach-in fridge and freezer compressors | About 800 to 1,500W running; surge is commonly 2 to 3 times that at compressor startup | Protects perishable inventory; monitor temperature and follow the food-safety guidance below |
| 2. POS and connectivity | POS terminal, router or modem, card reader | Roughly 30 to 90W combined (POS about 22 to 60W, router 4 to 15W, modem 5 to 15W) | Keeps you selling and keeps the safe and register logged, at almost no wattage cost |
| 3. Limited lighting | A handful of LED fixtures | Whatever headroom remains after tiers 1 and 2 | Nice to have, not survival-critical, and the first thing to drop if you are close to your generator’s ceiling |
| Off the table | Single-group espresso machine | About 15A on 120V, roughly 1,800W continuous, before the boiler’s heating surge | Already consumes most or all of a portable generator’s running-watt budget by itself |
| Off the table | Multi-group espresso machine (2 to 4 group) | 20A or more for a 2-group; larger machines commonly need 30 to 50A, often at 208 to 240V | Frequently requires voltage and amperage no portable generator supplies at all |
Add tiers 1 and 2 together and you land around 850 to 1,600W of genuine running load, well inside the running-watt rating of every portable generator in the picks below, but running watts alone do not establish whether a unit can start your compressor. Check starting demand separately, then budget any remaining running capacity for lights. The espresso machine rows exist to show why it does not belong on the same plan.
Why refrigeration comes first: the spoilage math
Refrigeration failure can spoil milk, cream, and other perishable inventory while interrupting sales. Keeping food cold comes before lighting or charging a phone; the amount at risk depends on what your shop actually has in storage.
The FDA’s consumer outage guidance states: “The refrigerator will keep food cold for about 4 hours if it is unopened.” It specifies “40° F or below for proper food storage.” These are consumer refrigerator guidelines, not a restaurant walk-in performance guarantee or permission to hold food above 40°F for four hours. FDA separately instructs discarding perishable food held above 40°F for two hours or more.
FoodSafety.gov’s chart, reviewed August 8, 2024, identifies foods to discard or keep under the heading “Exposed to temperatures of 40°F (4°C) or above for more than 2 hours”. Its introductory guidance says to discard refrigerated perishables after four hours without power. Use measured food temperatures and the applicable food-safety requirements for your shop, not a presumed walk-in cooling time.
The picks: portable generators sized for fridge, POS, and lights
| Unit | Type | Running / starting W or capacity (per maker) | Fuel | CO shutoff feature (per maker) | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Honda EU2200i Companion | Inverter | 1,800W rated / 2,200W maximum | Gasoline | CO-MINDER | Smaller essential loads after checking compressor startup |
| Champion 201207 | Conventional, open-frame | 3,800W running / 4,750W starting | Gasoline | CO Shield | More running and starting headroom |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 | Power station | 2,042Wh; 2,200W rated / 4,400W surge | Battery; no combustion fuel | Not applicable; no combustion engine | POS and router bridge |
| Champion 100396 | Inverter | Gasoline: 3,100W / 3,400W; propane: 2,790W / 3,060W | Gasoline or propane | Not stated in cited maker specifications | Dual-fuel comparison |
| WEN 56380i | Inverter | 3,400W rated / 3,800W surge | Gasoline | Not stated in cited maker specifications | Higher-output inverter comparison |
Champion 100396 and WEN 56380i are alternatives sold through other retailers; their maker-rated outputs are listed above for comparison, without Amazon cards.
The picks below are affiliate links to Amazon; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. FranchiseFeast is a participant in the Amazon Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Inverter for smaller essential loads
Honda EU2200i Companion Inverter Generator with CO-MINDER
- Output
- 1,800W rated (15A) / 2,200W maximum (18.3A), 120V
- Safety
- CO-MINDER carbon monoxide detection system
The 1,800W rated output covers the estimated 850 to 1,600W running load before lights, but compressor startup must fit within its 2,200W maximum. Check the fridge nameplate and starting requirements before relying on this smaller unit. CO-MINDER does not replace safe outdoor placement.
Specs: Honda EU2200i Companion manufacturer product page
More headroom for refrigeration and essential loads
Champion 3800-Watt Generator with CO Shield, Model 201207
- Output
- 3,800W running / 4,750W starting
- Fuel
- Gasoline
- Safety
- CO Shield carbon monoxide auto shutoff system
- Type
- Conventional (non-inverter) generator
The higher running and starting ratings give refrigeration more headroom than the Honda, provided your actual compressor startup fits. This is a conventional generator, not an inverter; confirm compatibility with your POS equipment before connecting it. CO Shield does not replace outdoor placement or indoor CO alarms.
Specs: Champion Power Equipment model 201207 manufacturer product page
Fuel storage for a gasoline outage generator
STA-BIL Storage Fuel Stabilizer, 16 oz
- Bottle
- 16 oz, SKU 22207
- Treatment
- 1 oz treats up to 2.5 gallons of fuel
- Storage
- Keeps fuel fresh for up to 24 months
A generator may sit between outages. Gold Eagle specifies this treatment for stored fuel; follow its label and your generator's storage instructions. Fuel stabilizer does not replace generator maintenance.
Specs: Gold Eagle STA-BIL Storage Fuel Stabilizer manufacturer page
Battery bridge for POS and WiFi
Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 Portable Power Station
- Capacity
- 2,042Wh
- AC output
- 2,200W rated / 4,400W surge
- Weight
- About 39.5 lb (17.9 kg)
Battery power keeps the POS and router supplied without a combustion engine or exhaust near the counter. Capacity is finite, so actual runtime depends on connected loads and conversion losses; the rated output is not a promise of all-day refrigeration backup.
Specs: Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 manufacturer product page
The tier this article will not sell you: whole-building standby power
Carbon monoxide and placement: the non-negotiable part
CPSC’s own consumer fact sheet spells out the required warning-label language word for word: using a generator indoors can kill you in minutes, and it must never run inside a home, garage, basement, crawlspace, shed, or on a porch, even with doors and windows open. CPSC’s May 27, 2026 guidance states: “Operate generators outdoors only, at least 20 feet from homes and buildings, with exhaust directed away from windows, doors and vents.” More than 80 people die every year in the US from generator CO poisoning, per the same source.
OSHA adds a companion figure for the workspace immediately around the unit itself: 3 to 4 feet of clear space on all sides and above the generator, to ensure it can draw and vent air properly, separate from the 20-foot building-distance rule above. Symptoms of CO exposure include dizziness, headaches, nausea, tiredness, and confusion; if anyone shows these signs, get to fresh air immediately and seek medical attention, and do not re-enter until the area is confirmed safe by trained personnel. Plan your generator’s actual outdoor spot, measured against your building’s real footprint, before an outage happens, not while the power is already out.
A cord must reach from that compliant outdoor location without exceeding its electrical rating. Check the actual route and connected load; a 50-foot cord does not by itself establish safe generator placement.
Outdoor cord for the CPSC 20-foot placement plan
Southwire 12/3 SJTW 50 ft Outdoor Extension Cord, Model 2588SW0002
- Gauge and length
- 12/3, 50 ft
- Electrical rating
- 15 A, 125 VAC
- Cord type
- SJTW outdoor
- Certification
- UL Listed and CSA Certified or CUL Listed Outdoor Use Cord Set
The length helps route power from a generator placed at least 20 feet from buildings under CPSC guidance. Keep the total connected load within the cord's 15 A rating and follow the generator and appliance instructions; the generator's higher output does not raise the cord's limit.
Specs: Southwire official specification sheet for model 2588SW0002
Putting it together
Size to the fridge-and-freezer tier first, checked against your own equipment’s nameplate, add the small POS and connectivity load on top, and treat lighting as whatever headroom is left over. Do not shop against the espresso machine’s wattage; that fight is not winnable with a portable unit, and the move is to plan around it rather than oversize a generator trying to beat it. CO safety your main worry? Both gasoline picks include CO shutoff, but neither replaces safe placement or indoor alarms. Need the counter running indoors without any combustion risk at all, fuel runtime be damned? The power-station route covers POS and WiFi cleanly, no exhaust required.
This guide sits inside a bigger equipping decision. Pair it with our full coffee shop equipment list and our POS system guide for a coffee shop startup for the systems a generator needs to actually keep alive. And once your generator is in place, a dedicated CO detector built for a coffee shop is the cheap add-on that closes the loop between “the generator has a CO shutoff” and “my staff has a warning if something still goes wrong indoors.” For the full category context, see our cafe equipment hub.
Common questions
Can I run my espresso machine off a portable generator?
Almost certainly not, and it is not close. Even a single-group commercial machine draws about 15A on a 120V circuit, roughly 1,800W continuous before the boiler's heating surge even factors in. Multi-group machines commonly need 208 to 240V service at 30 to 50A, which is outside what any portable generator's 120V outlets provide. Do not spend your generator budget trying to solve for espresso. Solve for refrigeration, POS, and lights instead.
How long will a portable generator run my reach-in fridge and freezer during an outage?
Fridge and freezer compressors cycle on and off rather than running continuously, so a generator sized for the 800 to 1,500W fridge-and-freezer tier, per your unit's actual nameplate, can typically carry both plus a small POS and router load for as long as it has fuel, with refueling every several hours on gasoline or considerably longer on propane. It is not a run-the-whole-shop solution. It is a keep-the-inventory-alive solution, so monitor food temperature and follow the FDA and FoodSafety.gov outage guidance below.
Do I need a permit or a licensed electrician to hook a generator up to my building's power?
For a simple portable generator run through heavy-gauge extension cords straight to individual appliances, no building tie-in is needed at all, and that is the simplest and safest path for a small shop. The moment you want the generator to feed circuits through the building's own panel, using an interlock kit or transfer switch, you are in licensed-electrician and building-permit territory in nearly every jurisdiction. Honda's own manufacturer documentation says exactly this: consult a qualified electrician. Requirements vary by your local Authority Having Jurisdiction, so call your electrician and your building department before you buy an interlock kit, not after.
Is it safe to run a generator right outside my back door or under a patio awning?
No. CPSC's rule is a minimum of 20 feet away from the building, with the exhaust pointed away from windows, doors, and vents, and that holds even in a spot that feels well-ventilated, like under an open awning or on a covered patio. Carbon monoxide does not respect mostly-open air, and CPSC's guidance explicitly lists a porch as a place never to run one. Measure the actual placement against your building's footprint before an outage happens, not during one.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 15, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
- CPSC, 'What to Know About Generators and Carbon Monoxide (CO)' (20-foot rule, required warning label language)
- OSHA 4105-11, 'Preventing Carbon Monoxide Poisoning While Working with Portable Generators' (3 to 4-foot clearance figure)
- Honda, EU2200i Companion manufacturer spec sheet (output, CO-MINDER, transfer-device warning)
- Champion Power Equipment, Model 100396 3400W Dual Fuel Inverter product page
- Champion Power Equipment, Model 201207 3800W Generator with CO Shield product page
- WEN Products, Model 56380i 3800-Watt Portable Inverter Generator product page
- Honda, EU2200i Companion product page (rated output and CO-MINDER)
- Jackery, Explorer 2000 v2 product page (capacity, rated output, weight)
- Gold Eagle, STA-BIL Storage Fuel Stabilizer (16 oz, treatment ratio, storage duration)
- Southwire, 2588SW0002 official specification sheet
- FDA, Power Outages: Key Tips for Consumers About Food Safety
- FoodSafety.gov, Food Safety During Power Outage (reviewed August 8, 2024)
- CPSC, Generator, Carbon Monoxide and Fire Hazards Ahead of Hurricane Season (May 27, 2026)
Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist
A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Equipment
Coffee Shop Equipment List With Prices (2026 Budget Guide)
Coffee shop equipment list with 2026 price ranges for espresso, grinders, refrigeration, ice, POS and furniture, from Bellwether Coffee, 7shifts and Naixer.
Equipment
Coffee Shop POS Systems Compared: Square, Toast, Clover (2026)
Square, Toast, Clover, KORONA and 3 more compared for a single coffee shop: contracts, offline mode, iPad reuse, plus the register hardware to buy.
Equipment
What Size Generator for a Mobile Coffee Cart?
How to size a generator for a mobile coffee cart: reading nameplate watts, starting vs running loads, duty cycle, and a worked example with sourced specs.
Equipment
CO Detector for a Coffee Shop: Code Rules + 6 Picks
Propane heaters, generators and gas water heaters can fill a coffee stand with CO. Code rules, UL 2034 vs UL 2075, and 6 detectors matched to your setup.
Equipment
Two-Way Radios for Restaurant and Cafe Staff
FRS needs no license and covers business use; GMRS licenses go to adults one by one. What FCC rules mean for cafe radios, with sourced picks.
Equipment
Vendor Booth Tent Weights for Asphalt Without Drilling
Vendor tent weights for asphalt lots with no drilling allowed: real per-leg weight rules, sand vs water math, and picks for solo vendors.
Equipment
Vietnamese Coffee Cafe Equipment: Phin vs. Batch Brewing
Cafe equipment for Vietnamese coffee: phin filters versus batch brewing, condensed milk handling, and robusta market pricing as of late 2025.