Skip to main content

Commercial Crepe Maker for a Small Cafe: Plates, Power, and Picks

Compare commercial crepe makers for a small cafe: plate materials, verified power specs, circuit planning, sanitation listings, and spreader tools.

By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 16, 2026Updated October 15, 2026

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.

A crepe griddle looks like a simple appliance: a flat plate, a dial, a spreader. Its plug does not tell you whether your cafe’s circuit can support it. Waring’s 1800 W and KWS’s 1750 W machines use NEMA 5-15P plugs, but their calculated loads exceed the 12 A load limit for a 15 A receptacle on a multi-outlet circuit.

For most small cafes: choose the Waring WSC160X on a dedicated 20 A circuit with an electrician-selected receptacle. Its spec sheet shows cULus and NSF listings; confirm the plate material on the unit you receive. Choose a VEVOR nonstick model if you want no seasoning and accept no stated certification. Consider the double-plate model only if your panel can supply the circuit of at least 32 A that VEVOR specifies, with the installation confirmed by an electrician.

Who this is for, and who should skip it

This is for a cafe or coffee shop considering crepes as an addition to an existing menu, not a dedicated creperie deciding on its core cooking line. If you’re weighing whether a crepe station pulls its weight next to your espresso bar and pastry case, the specs, the throughput math, and the learning curve below are built for that decision.

Skip this one if you’re opening a standalone crepe restaurant and shopping gas-fired, multi-plate production equipment, or if you’ve already decided against crepes and are looking at a simpler griddle item instead. Our commercial waffle maker guide covers a comparable countertop addition with a much shorter learning curve, and it’s worth reading before you commit to crepes specifically.

Cast iron or nonstick: what the plate material actually changes

Plate material affects care and handling as much as the finished crepe.

Cast iron: the KWS CE-16 has a 15.75-inch plate, 20 mm thick. Bare cast iron needs seasoning; follow the manufacturer’s instructions.

Waring’s material conflict: Waring’s current (08/23) spec sheet lists a 16-inch aluminum cooking surface; earlier Waring documents describe cast iron, so check the unit you receive. Do not assume cast-iron seasoning instructions apply to every WSC160X.

Nonstick-coated plates: VEVOR specifies nonstick plates on the AK-B31 and AK-B32, without stating the underlying plate material. Stainless steel describes the body, not the cooking surface. Nonstick skips seasoning, but a scratched or flaking coating should not stay in service.

Check the wattage against the amperage

Calculated current is watts divided by volts. Waring’s 1800 W / 120 V = 15 A; KWS’s 1750 W / 120 V = about 14.6 A. These are calculations, not maker-stated amperages. A NEMA 5-15P plug does not establish that an available receptacle and circuit can supply the load.

Receptacle limit: NEC 210.21(B)(2) applies to circuits supplying two or more receptacles or outlets. A 15 A receptacle has a 12 A cord-and-plug load cap, even when the circuit is 20 A. A 20 A receptacle permits 16 A under that table. The individual single-receptacle circuit provision is separate, 210.21(B)(1). See EC&M’s explanation and Table 210.21(B)(2) in the 2022 California Electrical Code, based on NEC 2020; the locally adopted edition must be checked.

Continuous loads: Article 100 defines a continuous load as “a load where the maximum current is expected to continue for 3 hours or more,” as quoted by IAEI. NEC 210.20(A) sizes overcurrent protection at no less than noncontinuous load plus 125% of continuous load, subject to its exception. Under that ordinary sizing rule, a 15 A circuit allows 12 A of continuous load. Being switched on for a shift does not by itself make a thermostatically controlled griddle a continuous load.

For these roughly 13 to 15 A appliances, plan a dedicated 20 A circuit with an electrician who can select the receptacle and confirm the nameplate and local requirements. Use our coffee shop electrical outlet plan and commercial brewer amp and breaker guide to plan the equipment schedule.

ALDKitchen’s AP-584 double lists “6kW (54.5 Amp)” at “110V”; its AP-583 single lists “3kW (27.3 Amp)” at “110V”. Those watt/current figures are arithmetically consistent, but far beyond any standard 120 V receptacle. Confirm the real electrical requirement before ordering either model.

Single plate or double: throughput and what actually limits it

Two plates provide two cooking surfaces, but do not guarantee twice the output: spreading, flipping, filling, and serving still take staff time. To size a crepe program, time trial batches on one plate with the cook who will work the station before adding a second plate.

The picks

Machine Plates Plate material Watts Stated amps / min circuit (per maker) Plug Certification (per maker) Best for
Waring WSC160X 1, 16-inch Aluminum per 08/23 sheet; older documents say cast iron 1800 W Not stated; calculated 15 A at 120 V NEMA 5-15P cULus and NSF on spec sheet Cafes seeking documented listings
KWS CE-16 1, 15.75-inch Cast iron, 20 mm thick 1750 W Not stated; calculated 14.6 A at 120 V NEMA 5-15P None stated A cast-iron plate with included tools
VEVOR AK-B31 1, 16-inch Nonstick; substrate not stated 1700 W Not stated; calculated 15.45 A at maker’s 110 V NEMA type not stated None stated No seasoning, subject to local acceptance
VEVOR AK-B32 2, 16-inch each Nonstick; substrate not stated 3400 W Maker: “It needs at least 32A.” US plug per Q&A; NEMA type not stated None stated Two plates with confirmed panel capacity

Waring and KWS need circuit and receptacle planning despite their 5-15P plugs. VEVOR’s AK-B31 current above is calculated at its Q&A voltage; confirm the nameplate before installation. The AK-B32’s 32 A statement is a maker requirement, not a specified US breaker size. ALDKitchen is discussed above for its electrical requirements; it is not a purchase pick.

The picks below are affiliate links to Amazon; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. FranchiseFeast is a participant in the Amazon Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

120V 16-inch crepe maker with cULus and NSF listings on its spec sheet

Waring Commercial WSC160X 16-Inch Electric Crepe Maker

Plate
16-inch aluminum per 08/23 sheet; earlier documents describe cast iron
Electrical
1800 W, 120 V; calculated 15 A; NEMA 5-15P
Circuit planning
Dedicated 20 A circuit and receptacle selected by an electrician
Certification
cULus and NSF marks on Waring's spec material

Waring's current (08/23) spec sheet lists a 16-inch aluminum cooking surface; earlier Waring documents describe cast iron, so check the unit you receive. The documented cULus and NSF listings make this the first option for a cafe that needs sanitation and electrical listing documentation. Have an electrician confirm circuit and receptacle requirements before installation.

Specs: Waring Commercial WSC160X specification sheets, 08/23 and 2018

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Cast-iron plate with included spreader and spatula

KWS CE-16 Commercial Electric Crepe Maker

Plate
15.75-inch cast iron, 20 mm thick; stainless-steel base
Electrical
1750 W, 120 V/60 Hz; calculated 14.6 A; NEMA 5-15P
Circuit planning
Dedicated 20 A circuit and receptacle selected by an electrician
Accessories
Spreader and spatula included per listing
Certification
None stated on the maker page

A cast-iron option with both basic crepe tools included. Its 5-15P plug does not establish circuit suitability: plan a dedicated 20 A circuit and suitable receptacle with an electrician. Confirm sanitation acceptance with your health department before buying.

Specs: KitchenWare Station CE-16 maker page; included tools per product listing

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Nonstick single plate without a seasoning step

VEVOR AK-B31 16-Inch Electric Crepe Maker, 1700W

Plate
16-inch nonstick; underlying material not stated
Electrical
1700 W; 110 V per maker Q&A; amps and minimum circuit not stated
Calculated current
1700 W / 110 V = about 15.45 A; confirm nameplate
Certification
None stated

The nonstick plate avoids seasoning. The maker's certification-in-progress response is not an issued certification, so confirm local acceptance. Have an electrician confirm the nameplate, plug, and circuit before ordering.

Specs: VEVOR AK-B31 maker product page and Q&A

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Two nonstick plates, subject to confirmed electrical capacity

VEVOR AK-B32 16-Inch Double Head Electric Crepe Maker, 3400W

Plates
Two 16-inch nonstick plates; underlying material not stated
Electrical
3400 W; maker says at least 32 A
Voltage and plug
Title: AC120V; Q&A: 110 V US plug; NEMA type not stated
Certification
None stated

Two plates provide more cooking space, but require a confirmed electrical installation. VEVOR says it needs at least 32 A; have an electrician resolve the voltage and connector requirements and check panel capacity before ordering.

Specs: VEVOR AK-B32 maker product page and Q&A

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The spreader and turner: the tools, not just the plate

A T-shaped spreader moves batter into a thin circle after pouring; a long spatula helps flip and fold the crepe. Expect the spreader motion to take practice. KWS includes both tools per its listing; check what comes with your exact machine before buying a separate set.

Two-piece beechwood spreader and spatula set

Mrs. Anderson's Baking Crepe Spatula & Spreader Set, HIC 43893

Material
Romanian beechwood; two pieces
Assembled spreader
7.25 x 5 x 0.75 inches
Spatula
15 x 2 x 0.1875 inches
Care
Hand wash; maker states nonstick cookware compatibility
Heat resistance
200 degrees F per maker; not a commercial griddle-surface rating

A separate spreader and spatula set for a machine supplied without tools or a station needing replacements. HIC states nonstick cookware compatibility and a 200-degree-F heat-resistance limit; do not treat that as permission to leave the tools resting on a hot griddle.

Specs: HIC Kitchen official item 43893 product page

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What the compliance rules actually say

Crepe griddles are cooking equipment, so the standard that applies is NSF/ANSI 4, Commercial Cooking, Rethermalization, and Powered Hot Food Holding and Transportation Equipment, which explicitly covers ranges, griddles, and tilting griddle skillets. That’s a different standard than the cold-holding rule that governs refrigerated display cases, and it’s worth saying: don’t expect a 41-degree cold-holding citation to be the relevant rule here.

The FDA Food Code 2022 sets the model framework: Section 4-205.10 says food equipment certified or classified for sanitation in conformance to a recognized American National Standard by an ANSI-accredited certification program is deemed to comply with Parts 4-1 and 4-2 of that chapter. But it’s a model code, and states and cities adopt and modify it individually, which is exactly why enforcement differs from place to place. California provides one example:

  • California requires new and replacement food-related equipment to be certified or classified for sanitation by an ANSI-accredited certification program under Health and Safety Code Section 114130, with an exception for restricted food service facilities and enforcement-agency evaluation where no ANSI sanitation standard applies. For other states, ask your health department.

Crepes take practice

Expect your first crepes not to be picture-perfect. Batter consistency, plate temperature, and the spreader motion all take repetitions to get right, so practice with your batter and your machine.

This isn’t a knock on any specific product above. The learning curve is a technique issue, independent of brand, plate material, or single versus double. Budget real practice time, with cheap batter, off the clock, before this machine ever touches a paying customer’s order, the same way you’d budget a dial-in period for a new espresso machine. Skipping that step is the real cost of adding crepes, more than any spec on the page.

Where crepes fit in a bigger add-food decision

Crepes are one option among several countertop food additions a cafe considers. If the electrical and learning-curve tradeoffs above make crepes feel like more commitment than you want right now, our commercial waffle maker guide covers a comparable griddle addition with its own cooking and circuit requirements. For another countertop heating option, see our commercial microwave guide. For the display side of an add-food program, see our bakery display case guide, and for the full picture of what a cafe kitchen needs beyond the espresso bar, start with our coffee shop equipment list. For a pressed-sandwich addition, see our countertop panini press guide.

Common questions

Does a 120V crepe maker need a dedicated circuit?

Plan a dedicated 20 A circuit with an electrician for the Waring WSC160X and KWS CE-16. Both use NEMA 5-15P plugs, but calculated draw is 15 A and about 14.6 A respectively. NEC 210.21(B)(2) limits a 15 A receptacle to a 12 A cord-and-plug load on circuits supplying two or more receptacles or outlets, even on a 20 A circuit; receptacle selection matters too. NEC 210.20(A) separately sizes overcurrent protection for noncontinuous load plus 125% of continuous load, subject to its exception. Continuous means maximum current is expected for 3 hours or more, not simply switched on all day. Have the electrician confirm the receptacle, nameplate requirements, and locally adopted code.

Do I need cast iron, or is a nonstick plate good enough for a small cafe?

Neither is wrong for a cafe adding crepes as a menu item rather than a specialty focus. Cast iron is heavier and, like any bare-iron surface, needs a seasoning step. Nonstick-coated plates skip the seasoning, but a coating wears with use and shouldn't stay in service once visibly scratched. Ask the manufacturer about coating care and preheat requirements.

How many crepes can one machine actually make per hour?

Plate count alone does not establish crepes per hour. Time your own cooks on a trial batch, per plate, before planning a menu around a number. A double unit gives you a second plate to use during a rush.

Is crepe-making actually hard to learn, or is that overstated?

Plan for a learning curve. Spreading batter thin and even with a T-shaped spreader is a hand skill, so budget practice time with cheap batter, off the clock, before this ever reaches a paying customer. That is true no matter which machine you buy.

Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 15, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.

  1. Waring Commercial, WSC160X specification sheet, revision 08/23: aluminum surface, 1800 W, 120 V, NEMA 5-15P, cULus and NSF marks
  2. Waring Commercial, older 2018 WSC160X specification sheet: cast-iron surface
  3. KitchenWare Station, CE-16 electric crepe maker specifications
  4. VEVOR, AK-B31 single-plate 1700 W crepe maker
  5. VEVOR, AK-B31 maker Q&A: 110 V and certification response
  6. VEVOR, AK-B32 double-plate 3400 W crepe maker
  7. VEVOR, AK-B32 maker Q&A: at least 32 A and 110 V US plug
  8. ALDKitchen, AP-584 double: 6kW (54.5 Amp) at 110V
  9. ALDKitchen, AP-583 single: 3kW (27.3 Amp) at 110V
  10. HIC Kitchen, Mrs. Anderson's Baking Crepe Spatula & Spreader Set, item 43893
  11. IAEI, Article 100 continuous-load definition
  12. EC&M, Commercial Loads Part 1: NEC 210.20(A) overcurrent sizing
  13. EC&M, Branch Circuits Part 2: NEC 210.21(B)(2) receptacle loads
  14. 2022 California Electrical Code, based on NEC 2020, Table 210.21(B)(2), PDF page 97
  15. NSF, Food Equipment Standards portfolio (confirms NSF/ANSI 4 covers commercial cooking equipment and griddles)
  16. FDA, Food Code 2022 (full text PDF), 4-205.10 Food Equipment, Certification and Classification
  17. California Legislative Information, Health and Safety Code Section 114130 (new and replacement food-related equipment certified or classified for sanitation by an ANSI-accredited program; restricted-facility exception; enforcement-agency evaluation where no standard applies)

Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist

A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.

Keep reading