Skip to main content

Wireless Driveway Alert Chime for a Drive-Thru Coffee Stand

Compare driveway alert chimes for a drive-thru coffee stand: magnetic probes, PIR motion sensors, pneumatic hose kits, and compatible receiver add-ons.

By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 16, 2026Updated October 15, 2026

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.

A wireless driveway alert chime pairs a sensor near your drive-thru lane with an indoor receiver to announce an arrival. For a one- or two-person stand where the espresso machine faces away from the window, an audible alert can help draw attention back to the lane.

For a drive-thru lane where you only want cars, a magnetic-probe kit such as the Dakota Alert DCPA-4000 avoids walk-up alerts per Dakota Alert’s vehicle-only description. The DCMA-4000 PIR sensor also detects people, per Dakota Alert. A pneumatic hose kit such as Milton’s Bells triggers when a tire crosses the hose, per the maker.

Jump to the picks.

This guide compares magnetic probes, PIR motion sensors and pneumatic hose kits using named manufacturer specifications, an FCC filing and Amazon listing details. These are source-based comparisons, not hands-on performance tests; conflicting maker specifications are identified below.

Who this is for, and who should skip it

This is for a solo or two-person stand that needs an arrival cue when the barista is looking away from the lane. If a clear sightline or existing lane camera already meets that need, decide whether a separate chime adds useful coverage in your actual workflow.

If your project needs occupancy sensing, directional detection or integration with other lane equipment, define those requirements before selecting an arrival-only kit. The commercial detection options below are worth considering for those requirements, regardless of lane count.

How does each sensor detect a car, and why does that matter for false alarms?

A magnetic probe detects moving metal, per Dakota Alert and Mighty Mule. Dakota Alert describes its DCPT-4000 as vehicle-only; Mighty Mule says FM231 does not detect people, animals or wind. Neither description makes the installation immune to interference or other moving metal. Detection distance is model-specific: Dakota Alert’s probe page and manual disagree at approximately 10–12 feet versus up to 10 feet, while Mighty Mule specifies an approximately 3–12-foot radius.

A PIR (passive infrared) sensor detects heat and motion. Per Dakota Alert, the DCMT-4000 supplied with DCMA-4000 detects people or vehicles, making it an option when walk-up alerts are wanted. Its manual discusses filtering small movements and keeping the mount immobile; avoid flexible mounting points and aiming toward distant roads as the manual directs.

A pneumatic hose compresses when a tire rolls over it, activating a transmitter that radios the indoor chime, per Milton’s Bells. The maker describes vehicle-over-hose activation but does not specify a pedestrian or pet exclusion threshold. Choose by the documented trigger behavior, without treating any mechanism as a zero-false-alarm guarantee.

Why doesn’t a coffee stand just install what the big chains use?

A conventional inductive loop is a wire loop embedded in pavement, connected to a detector that responds to a vehicle, per EMX’s loop-detector guide. R.F. Technologies describes the pavement-cutting work involved and also covers radar, ultrasonic, wireless magnetometer and video detection. These descriptions establish technology options, not a universal setup used by national chains.

Wireless kits in this guide Conventional inductive loop
Install method Aboveground PIR, surface hose or buried probe, per each maker Embedded wire loop, per EMX
Detection behavior Model-specific arrival trigger Vehicle detection through changes in the loop’s electromagnetic field, per R.F. Technologies
Planning question Where can the sensor detect the intended traffic and reach the receiver? What detection behavior and connections does the lane equipment require?

Commercial detection does not always require a cut wire loop. Per EMX, its magnetoresistive LRS loop replacement has aboveground or in-ground installation options and detect-on-stop behavior. EMX also describes detector signaling for speakers, cameras, data systems and staff alerts. Match those functions to your lane plan rather than assuming a wireless probe and an integrated detector are interchangeable.

Will you actually hear the chime over the espresso machine?

Check the alert at the intended workstation with the espresso machine and steam wand running. A wireless range rating does not establish audibility. Per Dakota Alert, the RE-4k Plus supports flashing LEDs and outputs for external alert devices; select a compatible accessory and check whether it can be heard or seen from where staff work.

The receiver links below are Amazon affiliate links.

Receiver with visual indication and external alert outputs

Dakota Alert RE-4K Plus 1-Mile Wireless Receiver for 4000 Series Sensors

Compatibility
Dakota Alert 4000-series products only, per Dakota Alert
Power
12VDC, 500mA supply; adapter included, per Dakota Alert
Wireless range
Up to 1 mile, affected by terrain and obstructions, per Dakota Alert
Outputs
Flashing LEDs, two Form C relays and 12VDC output, per Dakota Alert

Per Dakota Alert, this receiver can drive a compatible external strobe or light, sold separately. Its built-in flashing LEDs are an indicator, not a built-in strobe. Check the accessory's electrical requirements and the receiver's output limits before connecting it.

Specs: Dakota Alert RE-4k Plus product page and manual

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Portable receiver option for a compatible Dakota sensor

Dakota Alert PR-4000 Portable Receiver for 4000 Series

Compatibility
Dakota Alert 4000 series, per the Amazon listing
Receiver type
Portable receiver, per the Amazon listing

Consider a portable receiver if a fixed chime location does not suit your workflow. The listing identifies 4000-series compatibility; check audibility in the positions where staff will use it.

Specs: Dakota Alert PR-4000 Amazon listing

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

For an audible accessory, Dakota Alert lists its DA1048 loud ringing bell as compatible with the RE-4k Plus, with a 12VDC, 40mA requirement and an 85 dB rating. That is the bell’s published output, not a base-receiver rating or a measurement at a barista’s ear.

Which wireless driveway alert chime should you buy?

Product Sensor type Detection range (per maker/FCC) Wireless range Power Walk-up alerts Install Best for
Dakota Alert DCPA-4000 Magnetic probe Approx. 10–12 ft on Dakota’s page; up to 10 ft in its manual Up to 1 mile, per Dakota Alert CR123A cells: three vs. four conflict; receiver 12VDC adapter, per Dakota Alert No, per Dakota Alert’s vehicle-only description Beside-drive burial for a single-car-width drive, per Dakota Alert Vehicle arrival alerts without walk-up triggers
Dakota Alert DCMA-4000 PIR Up to 25/50/100 ft by setting, per Dakota Alert Up to 1 mile on current page and manual spec; half-mile manual mounting note One 9V transmitter battery; receiver 12VDC adapter, per Dakota Alert Yes, per Dakota Alert Aboveground mount, per Dakota Alert People and vehicle arrival alerts
Mighty Mule FM231 Electromagnetic probe Approx. 3–12-ft radius, per Mighty Mule Up to 400 ft, per Mighty Mule Two AA transmitter cells; receiver outlet transformer, per Mighty Mule No, per Mighty Mule Probe about 1 ft deep beside drive, per Mighty Mule Vehicle detection with a documented sensing radius
Milton’s Bells kit Pneumatic hose Tire crosses hose; no numeric radius specified by Milton’s Bells 2,500 ft coverage, per listing 9V transmitter battery; outlet-powered chime, per Milton’s Bells Pedestrian immunity not specified by Milton’s Bells Hose across lane; maker mounting guidance conflicts at 2 vs. 4 ft A trigger at the hose crossing

The picks below are Amazon affiliate links. Wireless ratings describe transmitter-to-receiver communication, not sensing distance. Follow the maker’s placement instructions and test the intended locations before permanent installation.

Magnetic-probe kit for vehicle arrival alerts

Dakota Alert DCPA-4000 Wireless Driveway Alarm Probe Kit with Bonus UT-4000

Kit
DCPT-4000 probe transmitter and DCR-4000 receiver; bonus UT-4000 included on this listing
Sensor type
Vehicle-sensing magnetic probe, per Dakota Alert
Detection distance
Approx. 10–12 ft on Dakota Alert's transmitter page; up to 10 ft in its manual
Wireless range
Up to 1 mile, transmitter to receiver, subject to terrain and obstructions, per Dakota Alert
Power
Maker conflict: bonus-kit page says four CR123A cells; transmitter page/current-board manual say three; receiver uses 12VDC transformer

Dakota Alert describes vehicle-only detection. Its manual directs beside-drive placement for a single-car-width drive, with the probe parallel to the driveway; a wider drive can require middle placement or another probe on the opposite side. Test before burial and confirm the battery count for the hardware revision supplied.

Specs: Dakota Alert DCPA-4000 bonus-kit page, DCPT-4000 page/manual and Amazon listing

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Per Dakota Alert’s DCPT-4000 manual, bury the probe and wire at least 3 inches deep; use up to 12 inches and conduit where traffic heavier than a riding mower crosses the wire. Protect exposed cable, mount the transmitter on wood or a tree about 4–5 feet high, and keep the probe at least 50 feet from main roads. The 10-foot versus 10–12-foot detection statements and three-cell versus four-cell battery statements are inconsistencies in Dakota Alert’s own materials, so confirm the instructions for the supplied revision.

PIR motion pick if you also want walk-up alerts

Dakota Alert DCMA-4000 1-Mile Wireless Driveway Alarm & Motion Sensor

Kit
DCMT-4000 transmitter and DCR-4000 receiver, per Dakota Alert
Sensor type
PIR, detects people or vehicles, per Dakota Alert
Detection range
Up to 25, 50 or 100 ft by setting, per Dakota Alert's manual
Wireless range
Maker conflict: current page/manual spec say up to 1 mile; manual mounting note says about half a mile
Power
One 9V alkaline transmitter battery, not included; typically a year or more per Dakota Alert; receiver uses 12VDC adapter
Operating temp
-30°F to 120°F, per Dakota Alert's manual

Choose this mechanism when people as well as vehicles should trigger an alert. Dakota Alert's manual calls for a stable wood or tree mount 3–4 feet high, about 20 feet beside the drive. Keep the sensor immobile and avoid aiming toward distant roads; test wireless reception at your planned locations because the maker's one-mile and half-mile statements conflict.

Specs: Dakota Alert DCMA-4000 page, Smart 4000 Series explanation and DCMT-4000 manual

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Magnetic-probe transmitter with an FCC-filed spec

Mighty Mule FM231 Wireless Driveway Alarm

Sensor type
Electromagnetic moving-metal detection; does not detect people, animals or wind, per Mighty Mule
Detection radius
Adjustable, approximately 3–12 ft, per Mighty Mule
Wireless range
Up to 400 ft, transmitter to receiver, per Mighty Mule
Power
Two AA transmitter batteries, not included; receiver uses outlet transformer, per Mighty Mule
FCC filing
I6HGTOFM231, 433.92 MHz, Part 15C transmitter authorization, per the FCC filing

Mighty Mule specifies a probe about one foot deep, flat and parallel beside the driveway, within two feet of its edge and at least 25 feet from roads or other large moving metal. Its detection radius depends on vehicle mass and speed, soil and interference. Test before permanent installation; the filing does not establish a zero-false-alarm guarantee.

Specs: Mighty Mule FM231 page, manual and catalog; FCC filing via FCCID.io

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Per Mighty Mule’s manual, bury the cable at least 6 inches, with PVC conduit recommended; do not splice it or share conduit with AC or control wiring. Keep the transmitter upright about one foot above ground and away from sprinklers: the maker describes it as water resistant, not waterproof.

Pneumatic hose kit with a wireless indoor chime

Milton's Bells Long Range Wireless Driveway Alarm & Chime Kit, 2,500 Ft Coverage

Sensor type
Hose compression activates a radio transmitter, per Milton's Bells
Kit
25 ft signal hose, transmitter and door chime, per the listing
Wireless range
2,500 ft coverage, per the listing
Power
9V transmitter battery, 1–2 years depending on traffic; chime plugs into a standard outlet, per Milton's Bells

Milton's Bells directs laying the hose across the lane so a tire crossing it triggers the chime. The maker does not specify immunity to pedestrians or pets. Its kit page gives two-foot mounting guidance while its drive-through page says about four feet; confirm the applicable mounting instructions instead of averaging those heights.

Specs: Amazon listing; Milton's Bells MB 25WCK maker page and drive-through guidance

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The Milton’s Bells MB 25WCK maker page describes connecting the hose to the transmitter, plugging the far end and plugging the indoor chime into an outlet. It also specifies a downward-facing connector for water protection. Its two-foot mounting guidance conflicts with the drive-through page’s instruction to mount the chime about four feet off the ground. The Amazon listing above specifies a 25-foot hose; other maker-page hose options do not change that listing’s contents.

Want directional detection and app alerts? Per Dakota Alert, the Smart Dual Probe 4000 pairs a DAPT-4000 sensor with an SR-4000 receiver, distinguishes inbound from outbound traffic and uses a local Wi-Fi connection for app notifications. That does not establish that the local chime requires internet access. Chamberlain marks its CWA2000 as discontinued; its maker-stated PIR detection of up to 30 feet and half-mile radio range describe that discontinued model, not a current pick. For a separate wired option, Milton’s Bells describes its hose-actuated bells as powered from a standard 110V outlet, not solely by the hose’s air pulse.

Putting it together for your stand

Start with the mechanism and the alerts you want. Dakota Alert describes DCPA-4000 as vehicle-only, and Mighty Mule says FM231 does not detect people, animals or wind. Dakota Alert’s DCMA-4000 also detects people. Milton’s Bells provides a hose-crossing trigger without a specified pedestrian-immunity claim.

Then check placement, reception and whether staff can hear or see the alert with equipment running. Beside-drive burial, aboveground PIR mounting and a hose across the lane have different installation requirements; use the model’s instructions and resolve the maker conflicts above for the hardware you order.

This sensor is one piece of a working drive-thru cabin. Pair it with the guide to a drive-thru headset and intercom system for when the lane gets busy, and the breakdown of a sliding concession window if you’re still finalizing the lane-facing wall. For the rest of your build-out, see the full coffee cart equipment list, the guide to drive-thru site selection, and mobile coffee cart permit requirements. For more picks, visit the cafe equipment hub.

Common questions

How far away can a wireless driveway sensor detect a car, and how far can the chime be from the sensor?

Detection distance and wireless transmission range are separate. Dakota Alert's DCPT-4000 page says approximately 10–12 feet of vehicle detection, but its manual says up to 10 feet; its wireless rating is up to one mile. Per Dakota Alert, DCMA-4000 PIR detection reaches up to 100 feet; its current one-mile wireless rating conflicts with a half-mile mounting note in its manual. Per Mighty Mule, FM231 has an approximately 3–12-foot detection radius and up to 400-foot wireless range. Milton's Bells activates when a tire crosses the hose, with 2,500-foot wireless coverage per the listing. Test the intended locations before permanent installation.

Will it go off from wind, rain, birds, or a customer walking up instead of a car?

Dakota Alert describes the DCPA-4000 probe as vehicle-only, while its DCMA-4000 PIR sensor detects people as well as vehicles. Mighty Mule says FM231 does not detect people, animals or wind. Those statements do not guarantee freedom from interference or installation faults. Milton's Bells describes vehicle-over-hose activation without specifying immunity to pedestrians or pets. Follow each model's placement instructions rather than assuming any mechanism eliminates every unwanted alert.

Do I need to cut into my pavement to install this, like the loop I've seen at big drive-thru chains?

These kits offer aboveground PIR mounting, a hose across the lane, or a buried probe beside the drive. Dakota Alert also describes middle-of-drive placement or a second probe for wider drives, so the site affects installation. EMX and R.F. Technologies describe conventional embedded wire loops, but commercial alternatives also exist: EMX's LRS offers aboveground or in-ground installation. Select the detection and integration behavior your lane needs before choosing an installation method.

Will I actually hear the chime over the espresso machine and steam wand?

Check audibility at the intended workstation with equipment running. Per Dakota Alert, the RE-4k Plus receiver supports flashing LEDs, relays and a 12VDC output for a compatible external light, strobe or audible accessory, sold separately. Its LED indication is not a built-in strobe. The PR-4000 is a portable receiver compatible with the 4000 series per its listing. Neither add-on establishes audibility in your stand without a site check.

Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 15, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.

  1. Dakota Alert, DCPA-4000 bonus kit (kit contents and conflicting battery count)
  2. Dakota Alert, DCPT-4000 probe (vehicle detection, range and power)
  3. Dakota Alert, DCPT-4000 three-battery manual (placement and specifications)
  4. Dakota Alert, DCMA-4000 (kit contents, power and advertised wireless range)
  5. Dakota Alert, Smart 4000 Series (DCMT-4000 PIR people and vehicle detection)
  6. Dakota Alert, DCMT-4000 manual (detection settings, mounting and conflicting wireless range)
  7. Mighty Mule, FM231 (electromagnetic detection and kit contents)
  8. Mighty Mule, FM231 manual (detection radius and installation)
  9. Mighty Mule catalog (FM231 does not detect people, animals or wind)
  10. FCC filing for I6HGTOFM231, via FCCID.io (Part 15C transmitter authorization)
  11. Milton's Bells, MB 25WCK long-range kit (power and mounting guidance)
  12. Milton's Bells, Drive-Throughs Solutions (hose placement and mounting guidance)
  13. Dakota Alert, RE-4k Plus (compatibility and external outputs)
  14. Dakota Alert, RE-4k Plus manual (power, range, LEDs and relays)
  15. Dakota Alert, DA1048 loud ringing bell (compatible external accessory)
  16. OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.95 (occupational noise exposure)
  17. eCFR, Title 47 Part 15 (radio-device regulatory framework)
  18. EMX Access Control Sensors, A Guide to Choosing the Right Drive-Thru Loop Detector
  19. R.F. Technologies, How Drive-Thru Vehicle Detectors Work

Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist

A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.

Keep reading

Equipment

Drive-Thru Headset Systems: 5 Wireless Kits Compared (2026)

Drive-thru headset systems for small restaurants and coffee stands: 5 full-duplex wireless kits compared by range, battery and crew size, plus when you need HME.

Equipment

Sliding Concession Window for a Coffee Stand: Size and Code

Sliding concession windows for a coffee stand compared by size and service style, with sourced specs, code notes, and buy-direct options.

Equipment

The Coffee Cart Equipment List That Fits in 40 Square Feet

A cart-specific equipment checklist covering 110V power math, county water tank rules, and compact gear budgets for espresso, grinding, and holding.

Coffee Franchises

How to Choose a Location for a Drive-Thru Coffee Stand

How to choose a drive-thru coffee stand location: traffic composition over raw count, easy access, drive-thru stacking, and demographic benchmarks.

Equipment

Mobile Coffee Cart Permit Requirements (2026): The Permit Stack

The permit stack a mobile coffee cart needs, why the rules are local not national, and how to find yours, plus the coffee rule that adding milk changes.

Equipment

OSHA First Aid Kit for a Small Cafe: What the Standard Needs

OSHA references the ANSI Z308.1 standard for first aid kits rather than a fixed list. Here is the Class A vs B call, minimum quantities, and burn care for a cafe.

Equipment

Precision Portafilter Basket Upgrade for a Cafe

Precision portafilter baskets for a cafe: VST, IMS, Normcore, MHW-3BOMBER, Creamore, and Rattleware on dose sizing, ridged vs ridgeless, and material specs.