Ice Cream Dipper Well: Code Rules, Picks + Heated Option
What the FDA Food Code, California, and NYC actually require for an ice cream dipper well, plus honest picks and a heated no-plumbing alternative.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 16, 2026Updated October 15, 2026
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.
For most scoop shops with a water line, a running-water dipper well like the Nemco 77316-10A is the standard; if you can’t plumb one, the Server Products ConserveWell heated utensil holder is built for the FDA Food Code’s 135°F water option (Server says it keeps utensils above 140°F), so check your local code first.
“Running water” is often treated as a fixed rule, but the code also permits heated-water storage and other methods with conditions. A dipper well is the small basin beside a scoop-service ice cream or gelato cabinet that holds utensils between uses. The right setup depends on your local rules, plumbing, and scoop compatibility.
What a dipper well actually has to do
The FDA Food Code, Section 3-304.12(A–F), lists several methods for storing in-use utensils between pauses in service. For storage in water, these are the two options in the 2022 text:
(D) In running water of sufficient velocity to flush particulates to the drain, if used with moist food such as ice cream or mashed potatoes;
(F) In a container of water if the water is maintained at a temperature of at least 57°C (135°F) and the container is cleaned at a frequency specified under Subparagraph 4-602.11(D)(7).
The cross-reference requires utensils and container to be cleaned at least every 24 hours or as often as necessary to prevent soil residue accumulation. Other methods, including in-food and clean-surface storage, have their own conditions. An unheated bowl of standing water is not among the storage options in FDA 2022, CalCode, or NYC 81.07(h).
FDA Section 5-202.13 addresses the backflow-prevention air gap between the water supply inlet and the fixture’s flood-level rim. Drainage is separate: Section 5-402.11 generally prohibits a direct connection between sewage and a drain from equipment holding food or utensils, subject to its stated exceptions. Confirm both supply protection and drainage with your installer and local authority.
How the rule varies by state and city
The FDA Food Code is a model offered for adoption by jurisdictions. The editions below share running-water and heated-water options, but their cleaning and water-change requirements need separate attention:
| Jurisdiction | Running-water option | Heated-container option | Cleaning or water-change requirement for heated option |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA Food Code 2022 (model), 3-304.12(D)/(F) | Running water, sufficient velocity to flush to drain | Water at 135°F (57°C) minimum | Utensils and container cleaned at least every 24 hours or as needed to prevent soil buildup, 4-602.11(D)(7) |
| California (January 2024 CalCode), 114119(d)/(f) | Same “running water of sufficient velocity” language | Same 135°F minimum | Container and utensils cleaned and sanitized at least every 24 hours or as needed, 114117(d)(7) |
| New York City, 81.07(h) | Dipper well, “adequate velocity and volume to remove food residue” | Water “at or above 135 degrees Fahrenheit” | Heated water changed at least every four hours and kept free of accumulated food residue |
NYC’s four-hour interval applies to the heated-container water, not an unheated standing-water bowl. California’s rule addresses cleaning and sanitizing, including more frequent cleaning when residue accumulates; it is not simply a daily water-change rule. Ask your local health department which provisions apply to your operation before buying or installing equipment.
Who this is for, and who should skip it
This is for someone opening or retrofitting a scoop-service station: an ice cream shop, a soft-serve counter that also hand-dips, or a cafe adding a gelato case. If you’re weighing a plumbed well against a heated alternative, or want the actual code language instead of a paraphrase, keep reading.
If your setup is exclusively soft-serve or frozen yogurt from a machine, with no hand-scooping, start with our soft-serve coverage and ask your health department what storage your actual utensils require. This page covers the water basin beside a dipping cabinet, rather than the cabinet or freezer itself.
What Amazon actually carries in this category
The Amazon picks below cover a running-water station, a drop-in bowl listing, and a heated holder, followed by a compatible scoop for running-water use. Krowne and T&S dealer options are included for comparison. Match each model to its maker’s specifications and confirm the supplied parts, especially where a set description differs from a model-specific sheet.
| Product | Type | Bowl / size (maker) | Faucet included? | Certification (per maker) | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nemco 77316-10A | Running water | 10-3/8” x 6-1/2” x 5-7/8” station | Yes, 3/8” spigot (either side) | NSF listed | Standard 10-inch station |
| Kratos 32L-022 | Running water, drop-in | Round bowl, 6” cutout | Set with faucet per the Kratos listing; Kratos’s sales sheet lists 32L-022 as the bowl alone, so confirm contents | Not stated on the brand page | Drop-in counter install |
| Server Products ConserveWell 87750 | Heated, plug-in (120 V, 400 W) | Two 1/9-size pans, 4” deep | No faucet; fill and empty by hand | NSF listed; cULus listed | No water line |
| Krowne 16-153L (dealer) | Running water, front mount | 6-1/8” L x 10” W x 3-7/8” H bowl | Yes | Faucet: NSF 61 and NSF/ANSI 372 | Low-lead faucet documentation |
| T&S Brass B-2282-01 (dealer) | Running water, faucet and bowl assembly | 5-3/4” bowl opening | Yes | ASME A112.18.1/CSA B125.1, NSF/ANSI 372, NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 | Faucet-and-bowl replacement |
The picks below are affiliate links to Amazon; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. FranchiseFeast is a participant in the Amazon Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Standard 10-inch running-water station
Nemco 77316-10A 10-3/8 Inch Ice Cream Dipper Well and Faucet Set
- Station dimensions
- 10-3/8"W x 6-1/2"D x 5-7/8"H
- Faucet
- 3/8" spigot, either-side mounting; 14" full assembly span, not height above counter
- Certification
- NSF listed per Nemco spec sheet
An NSF-listed running-water station with a spigot that mounts on either side. Check the full spigot and drain clearances; Nemco says not to mount it in the food zone or sink compartment. Nemco states that everything in its full line is made in the USA; that is a company-wide statement.
Specs: Nemco product page and spec sheet
Drop-in round dipper well
Kratos 32L-022 Drop-In Ice Cream Dipper Well
- Installation
- Drop-in; 6" diameter countertop cutout per Hubert/Kratos page
- Water temperature
- Up to 140°F per Hubert/Kratos page
- Contents
- Set with faucet per Kratos listing; Kratos sales sheet lists 32L-022 as bowl only, so confirm contents
A round option for a counter cutout. Confirm the exact bowl and faucet supplied before ordering: the Hubert/Kratos set listing and the model-specific sales sheet describe different contents. The brand page does not state a certification.
Specs: Kratos product page (Hubert) and Kratos sales sheet
No-plumbing alternative for spots without a water line
Server Products ConserveWell Heated Utensil Holder (P/N 87750)
- Heating
- Keeps utensils above 140°F per Server manual
- Power
- 120 V, 400 W, NEMA 5-15P
- Controls
- LED display, countdown timer, water-change alarm
- Pans
- Two 1/9-size pans, 4" deep
- Dimensions
- 10-5/8"H x 15-1/4"W x 5-1/4"D
- Certification
- NSF listed; cULus listed
No water line or drain connection is needed at the holder, but you fill it with hot water and pour used water down a drain. Server says not to use liquid- or gel-filled utensils. Confirm local requirements and maintain the required temperature, cleaning, and water-change schedule in use.
Specs: Server Products product page, spec sheet, and manual
The scoop the well is built around
Zeroll Original 1020 Ice Cream Scoop (Size 20, 2 oz)
- Size
- Size 20, 2.0 oz per Zeroll; 1024 is Size 24, 1.5 oz
- Handle
- Heat-conductive fluid sealed in the handle
- Care
- Hand wash only, hand dry; not dishwasher safe; do not expose to temperatures over 140°F
Choose this scoop for a running-water well, keeping within Zeroll's temperature limit. Do not put it in the heated ConserveWell: Server prohibits liquid-filled utensils, and Zeroll warns against exposure above 140°F.
Specs: Zeroll product and care pages
A missing certification statement does not prove a product lacks certification. Check NSF’s listings and the maker’s documentation for the exact model. Also distinguish sanitation certification from faucet standards such as NSF 61 and NSF/ANSI 372; they address different requirements. Confirm the applicable requirements with your local authority instead of treating any certification logo as blanket approval.
Why running-water wells use substantial water
EPA’s WaterSense at Work Section 4.7 describes typical dipper-well flow settings of 0.2 to 1.0 gallons per minute (gpm), and says most have flow rates of about 0.35 gpm (1.3 Lpm) or more. It covers dipper wells as part of its commercial-kitchen water-efficiency guidance and says heated wells use significantly less water because they do not require constant flow.
As an arithmetic example, at 1.0 gpm for 12 hours a day, 365 days a year, a well uses about 262,800 gallons annually; at 0.35 gpm on the same schedule, it uses about 91,980 gallons. These are assumed operating schedules, not measured annual use for your shop. EPA advises checking with your local health inspector about whether utensils must be rinsed or stored in running or heated water between uses.
Buying decision, in order
Confirm your local code first. Check with your health department before buying, since temperature, cleaning, sanitizing, and water-change requirements affect how you operate the station. Then measure your counter and utensils, checking the maker’s drawing for bowl, cutout, faucet, and drain clearances. Determine whether a water line and suitable drain connection are available, or whether a heated holder with manual filling and emptying fits the space. Check utensil compatibility before choosing heat. Compare the exact model’s certifications, mounting instructions, and included parts; those details matter alongside its dimensions.
A dipper well is one piece of a build-out, not the whole list. Start with our coffee shop equipment list, then our countertop soft-serve machine guide if you’re weighing soft-serve against hand-scooped service, our soft-serve versus batch freezer comparison if the format is open, and our countertop gelato display case guide for the case beside the well. For the full category, visit the cafe equipment hub.
Common questions
Do I legally need a running-water dipper well for an ice cream shop?
Not necessarily. FDA Food Code 3-304.12(A–F) lists several storage methods with conditions. For water storage, it permits running water that flushes particulates to the drain or water maintained at 135°F or above, with utensils and container cleaned at least every 24 hours or as needed to prevent soil buildup. FDA 2022, CalCode, and NYC 81.07(h) do not list unheated standing water as a storage option. Check your local health department's requirements.
Can I just use a bowl of water instead of buying a dipper well?
For container-of-water storage under these provisions, the water must stay at 135°F or above. FDA requires utensils and container to be cleaned at least every 24 hours or as needed to prevent soil buildup; California also requires sanitizing. NYC requires the heated water to be changed at least every four hours and kept free of accumulated food residue. An unheated bowl does not meet these water-storage options. Confirm your setup with your local health department.
What size dipper well do I need?
Match the station to your available counter space, mounting arrangement, and utensils. Check the maker's drawing for bowl dimensions, cutout, faucet clearance, and drain clearance; overall station dimensions are not usable bowl dimensions. Confirm that the utensils fit without crowding and that the proposed location meets the maker's installation instructions.
When does a heated dipper well like the ConserveWell make sense?
Consider it when a continuous water supply and drain connection are unavailable at the station. The ConserveWell uses a 120-volt outlet, but you still fill its pans with hot water and pour used water down a drain. Server says it keeps utensils above 140°F and prohibits liquid- or gel-filled utensils. Confirm local acceptance, operating temperature, and cleaning and water-change requirements before choosing it.
How often should dipper well water be changed?
Under FDA Food Code 3-304.12(D) a running-water well runs continuously, fast enough to flush particulates to the drain. Under 3-304.12(F), a container of water must stay at 135°F or above, with utensils and container cleaned at least every 24 hours or as often as needed to prevent soil buildup (4-602.11(D)(7)); California's 114119(f) matches. NYC Health Code 81.07(h) requires heated (135°F or above) water to be changed at least every four hours and kept free of food residue. Check your local health department.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 15, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
- FDA Food Code 2022, Section 3-304.12 (in-use utensil storage, includes the 135F container option)
- California Retail Food Code / CalCode, effective January 2024 (Health and Safety Code Section 114119)
- New York City Health Code, Article 81, Section 81.07(h) (utensil storage, 4-hour change requirement)
- T&S Brass B-2282-01 dipperwell faucet, manufacturer certification page
- Krowne 16-153L Royal Series dipperwell, manufacturer product page
- EPA WaterSense at Work, Section 4.7, Dipper Wells
- Nemco, Product page (station dimensions and reversible spigot)
- Nemco, Spec sheet (spigot dimensions and NSF listing)
- Nemco, Operations manual (mounting restrictions)
- Nemco, Company news (company-wide USA manufacturing statement)
- Server Products, 87750 product page (dimensions and listings)
- Server Products, ConserveWell spec sheet (power, pans, and controls)
- Server Products, ConserveWell manual (temperature, filling, and utensil restrictions)
- FDA, Food Code 2022 PDF (utensil storage, cleaning, and plumbing)
- Zeroll, Original 1020 product page (Size 20 and 2.0 oz portion label)
- Zeroll, Original 1024 product page (Size 24 and 1.5 oz portion label)
- Zeroll, Original collection (fluid-filled handle)
- Zeroll, Care and use (washing, drying, and temperature limit)
- Kratos, Product page at Hubert (cutout, water temperature, and set description)
- Kratos, Sales sheet (32L-022 bowl and separate faucets)
- Krowne, 2024 spec sheet (drawing, faucet revision, and faucet compliance)
- T&S Brass, B-2282-01 drawing (components, finish, and faucet mounting)
- T&S Brass, Installation card (bowl opening and mounting parts)
Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist
A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Equipment
Coffee Shop Equipment List With Prices (2026 Budget Guide)
Coffee shop equipment list with 2026 price ranges for espresso, grinders, refrigeration, ice, POS and furniture, from Bellwether Coffee, 7shifts and Naixer.
Equipment
Countertop Soft Serve Machine for Small Business
Countertop soft serve machines compared by per-SKU NSF vs ETL certification, state machine-licensing rules, and real amp-draw math, not just output.
Equipment
Soft Serve Machine vs. Batch Freezer: Which Fits Your Shop
Soft serve dispenses purchased mix instantly; a batch freezer makes scratch recipes but needs a display case. Specs, certification gaps, and the real deciding factor
Equipment
Countertop Gelato Display Case for a Small Shop
Countertop gelato display cases compared by manufacturer spec: per-model temperature range, NSF/ETL status, and when to call a dealer instead.
Equipment
Countertop Panini Press for Coffee Shops: Picks + Hood Rules
Compare countertop panini presses for coffee shops, with maker specs, NSF/UL marks, circuit requirements, and conditional hood exemptions.
Equipment
Propane Tank Warmer Blanket for a Food Truck in Winter
Propane tank warmer blankets compared by wattage, thermostat, and certification, with the fill-level physics no listing explains and the fixes to skip.
Equipment
Protein Cold Foam Machines for a Coffee Shop: What Exists
There's no dedicated protein cold foam machine. Here's the real equipment coffee shops use instead, the clumping science, and the FDA hold-time rule.