Skip to main content

Best Nitro Cold Brew Tap Systems for a Small Cafe (6 Picks)

Compare small-cafe nitro cold brew taps: countertop trials, commercial kegerators, gas requirements, maker certification claims, and cleaning equipment.

By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 16, 2026Updated October 15, 2026

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.

For most small cafes, test demand with a countertop maker like the GrowlerWerks uKeg, then move to a single-tap commercial unit like the Kegco Commercial Javarator (or Summit’s SBC682NCFTWIN for its ETL listing and outdoor rating, per Summit) once nitro sells.

Jump to the picks, compare the systems, or plan cleaning.

This guide focuses on dispensing, though the uKeg can also brew coffee. If brewing capacity is still undecided, start with the commercial cold brew maker guide. The comparison uses GrowlerWerks, Kegco, Iron Mountain and Summit specifications, plus Royal Brew’s branded guide and Amazon listing. It makes no firsthand performance claims. Certification wording belongs to the named source and is specific to the model described.

Who this is for, and who should skip it

This is for a cafe considering a low-volume nitro test or a standing tap, including an office comparing the same equipment tiers. If brewing method or expected batch size is unsettled, resolve those before selecting a keg system. If demand is uncertain, begin with a countertop trial rather than committing immediately to a commercial unit, subject to local equipment requirements.

Countertop unit or a real kegerator?

Product Type Taps Gas Certification (per maker) Footprint Best for
GrowlerWerks uKeg Nitro 50 oz countertop maker Nitro faucet; count not separately specified 16g N2O cartridges Not established in available maker evidence 5.2 × 8.1 × 10.9 in, per GrowlerWerks Small-batch demand trial
Royal Brew 64 oz Countertop home keg; 40–48 oz beverage fill Faucet assembly; count not separately specified Two 2g N2 or one 8g N2O charger per batch, per guide Not established; live maker page unavailable 5 W × 7 D × 10.87 H in, per Amazon Trial with either guide-specified gas option
Kegco Commercial Javarator Commercial kegerator 1 Nitrogen tank ETL and ETL Sanitation Listed; NSF Compliant, per Kegco’s stainless-model page* 23.5 W × 31 D × 40 H in* Single-tap commercial shortlist
PEAKCOLD IM24NCK Commercial nitro kegerator 1 20 cu.ft. fillable nitrogen tank ETL Listed; conforms to NSF 7, per Iron Mountain 23.5 W × 30.38 D × 38.75 H in Package with an included five-gallon keg
Summit SBC682NCFTWIN Commercial nitro kegerator 2 nitro taps Nitrogen tank ETL electrical; ETL-S to NSF-7; meets UL-471, per Summit Cabinet: 23.75 W × 24 D × 33.63 H in; 26.25 D with handle; 51.5 H with tap Dual nitro service or outdoor placement per Summit

*The Amazon Javarator pick is the black 3PICXCK-1B-1. Kegco’s published specifications describe the stainless ICXCK-1S-1; confirm the black variant’s dimensions, included kit and certification before ordering. The other dimensions are exterior measurements, not installation clearances. For countertop units, check refrigerator fit and cold holding as well as counter space.

Choose around beverage batch size, gas requirements, placement and cleaning workload. Royal Brew’s 64 oz vessel does not mean a larger beverage fill than the 50 oz uKeg: its guide requires gas headspace. Commercial keg capacity also varies by model; five gallons is not a universal minimum.

The picks below are affiliate links to Amazon; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. FranchiseFeast is a participant in the Amazon Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The trial tier: countertop nitro makers

Countertop starting point for a small-batch nitro trial

GrowlerWerks uKeg Nitro Cold Brew Coffee Maker, 50 oz

Capacity
50 oz, per GrowlerWerks
Material
Double-wall 18/8 stainless steel, vacuum insulated, per GrowlerWerks
Gas
16g N2O cartridges, not included, per GrowlerWerks
Dimensions
5.2 × 8.1 × 10.9 in, per GrowlerWerks

The uKeg can brew and dispense coffee. Its specified gas is nitrous oxide (N2O), not pure nitrogen. Use its 50 oz capacity to plan a trial and check cold-storage fit; the available maker evidence does not establish commercial certification or an outdoor rating.

Specs: GrowlerWerks uKeg Nitro product page and Nitro FAQ

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Countertop trial with N2 or N2O options specified in its guide

Royal Brew Nitro Cold Brew Coffee Maker, 64 oz Home Keg

Vessel and fill
64 oz vessel; 40–48 oz beverage fill, with 40 oz recommended, per Royal Brew guide
Gas
Two 2g N2 chargers or one 8g N2O charger per batch, per guide; cartridges not included
Dispensing
Spear and faucet assembly, per Royal Brew guide
Dimensions
5 W × 7 D × 10.87 H in, per Amazon listing

Leave the headspace specified in the branded guide; the vessel's nominal size is not beverage yield. Follow the guide for charger compatibility. The live maker page was unavailable, so material, certification and outdoor suitability are not established here.

Specs: Royal Brew branded user guide hosted by Amazon; Amazon listing for vessel identity and dimensions

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The commercial tier: certification is per model, not per brand

Per NSF, NSF/ANSI 7 addresses commercial refrigeration sanitation. Intertek explains that its ETL Sanitation mark can establish conformity to applicable ANSI/NSF standards. That is distinct from NSF issuing a certificate. Likewise, Summit’s statement that a unit meets UL-471 is not a UL-issued listing. Confirm the exact model and documentation with your local health department before purchase.

Single-tap commercial option after a countertop trial

Kegco Commercial Javarator, Single Tap (black, 3PICXCK-1B-1)

Source model
Specifications below are from Kegco's stainless ICXCK-1S-1 page; confirm black-variant details
Keg capacity
Kegco specifications list three five-gallon kegs; highlights say four with the tank outside
Gas equipment
Aluminum nitrogen tank and regulator included, per Kegco's stainless-model page
Certification
ETL and ETL Sanitation Listed; NSF Compliant, per Kegco's stainless-model page
Exterior
23.5 W × 31 D × 40 H in; indoor-only, per Kegco's stainless-model page

This Amazon pick is the black version of the Commercial Javarator. Kegco's maker page covers the stainless version and conflicts on five-gallon keg capacity, so confirm the required layout and black-model documentation before ordering. Kegco does not publish an NSF certificate for the complete dispenser.

Specs: Kegco ICXCK-1S-1 stainless Commercial Javarator product page; Amazon black 3PICXCK-1B-1 listing for product identity

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Single-tap package with a five-gallon keg included

PEAKCOLD Single Tap Nitro Coffee Kegerator, IM24NCK

Interior
6.5 cu.ft.; 19.5 W × 18.1 D × 28.6 H in, per Iron Mountain
Included keg
One five-gallon Cornelius keg, per Iron Mountain; maximum capacity not established
Nitrogen tank
20 cu.ft. fillable tank included, per Iron Mountain
Exterior
23.5 W × 30.38 D × 38.75 H in, per Iron Mountain
Certification
ETL Listed; conforms to NSF 7, per Iron Mountain

Iron Mountain specifies the included keg and nitrogen tank, giving you a concrete package to compare with your space and batch requirements. One included keg does not establish the cabinet's maximum keg count. Outdoor suitability and an NSF-issued certificate are not established here.

Specs: Iron Mountain Refrigeration PEAKCOLD IM24NCK product page

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The non-affiliate Kegco HK-46-CB mini kegerator, sold through Kegco and dealers, is indoor-only per Kegco, with a 1.75-gallon keg capacity and 17 W × 18 D × 19.75 H in cabinet. Kegco describes an optional dispense kit; confirm its configuration and certification documentation rather than assuming the larger Javarator’s claims apply.

Dual nitro taps with documented outdoor use, per Summit

Summit Appliance SBC682NCFTWIN, 24-Inch Dual-Tap Nitro Kegerator

Cabinet
5.6 cu.ft.; exterior 23.75 W × 24 D × 33.63 H in, per Summit
Placement
26.25 in depth with handle; 51.5 in assembled height with tap, per Summit
Kegs and taps
Up to three Cornelius/sixth-barrel kegs; twin nitro tower can serve two sixtels, per Summit
Gas and build
Nitrogen tank and regulator included; 304 stainless exterior and outdoor weatherproof construction, per Summit
Certification
ETL electrical safety; ETL-S to NSF-7; meets UL-471, per Summit

Summit documents outdoor use and a dual stout-style nitro tower. This model serves two nitro lines; Summit's nitro/still combination is a different model, SBC682CMTWIN. Plan using the handle depth and assembled tap height, not just cabinet dimensions. The maker's standard-conformity claims do not establish an NSF-issued certificate.

Specs: Summit Appliance SBC682NCFTWIN model page and brochure

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

N2 versus beer gas: a wrong answer changes the taste

Kegsmiths describes beer gas using a 75% nitrogen/25% CO2 example. The CO2 helps maintain beer carbonation and can add fizz or acidity to coffee; Kegsmiths allows beer gas for cold brew but prefers pure nitrogen for non-beer beverages. Follow the specific equipment instructions: GrowlerWerks requires 16g N2O cartridges for the uKeg, Royal Brew’s guide permits specified N2 or N2O chargers, and the commercial systems above specify nitrogen tanks.

For a tank regulator, the non-affiliate Taprite 742N has a CGA-580 inlet and a 0–50 psi working range and supports nitrogen and mixed gas, per Taprite. Buy from a draft-equipment supplier and confirm compatibility with your tank and system; this is not a universal cartridge adapter.

Keg and line hygiene: a real cadence

Great Fermentations describes coffee-oil films and trapped fines that can foul lines and restrictors. Its practical baseline is daily faucet-surface cleaning and an opening purge after overnight standing; weekly cleaning of removable nozzle pieces, drip tray and exposed connectors; full line cleaning every two weeks; and monthly cleaning of internal faucet parts and restrictors. At high volume, the weekly exposed-parts work moves to every 3–5 days. Sweetened, flavored or dairy products call for a shorter line-cleaning interval. Treat this as the named supplier’s baseline, alongside the equipment instructions and applicable sanitation requirements, not a universal regulatory schedule.

For the cleaning cadence above

Kegco KPCK32-2G Two-Gallon Hand-Pump Cleaning Kit

Pump
Two-gallon high-pressure hand-pump cleaning bottle, per Kegco
Cleaner
32 oz bottle of alkaline Kegco Beer Line Cleaner, per Kegco
Brush
Nylon beer-faucet brush, per Kegco

Kegco bundles a hand pump, line cleaner and faucet brush for beverage-line maintenance. Confirm connector, material and cleaner compatibility with your nitro system and sanitation plan; the kit does not establish a universal coffee-cleaning procedure. Follow the equipment and cleaner instructions for use.

Specs: Kegco KPCK32-2G two-gallon cleaning-kit product page

See it on AmazonAffiliate link · current price shown on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Cold chain and food safety: not optional

The BC Centre for Disease Control’s November 2017 assessment identifies botulism concerns in low-acid cold brew under reduced oxygen. Page 4 describes refrigerated storage of less than 10 days at 4°C or below absent other controls; page 5 summarizes a maximum of 10 days. This historical assessment is neither peer-reviewed nor comprehensive and does not validate a universal shelf-life for your recipe or keg system. It assigns operators responsibility for establishing shelf-life and controlling hazards. Maintain cold storage and confirm your process with the local health department.

Death Wish Coffee’s company recall announcement dated September 18, 2017, hosted by the FDA with an FDA publication date of February 7, 2018, concerned potential botulin toxin in canned nitro cold brew. It reported no illnesses, and the FDA page marks the recall completed/terminated. That historical canned-product recall illustrates the concern; it does not establish identical processing risks for every tap system.

Is this worth adding right now?

Daily Coffee News, reporting on the National Coffee Association’s Fall 2025 National Coffee Data Trends survey of 1,862 U.S. adults conducted in mid-June, reported past-week consumption of 21% for cold brew, 6% for nitro and 32% for cold brew, frozen/blended or nitro combined. These categories overlap. They describe national consumption in 2025, not demand or profitability at a particular cafe.

If you already serve cold brew, weigh a nitro trial against your available cold storage, beverage batch size and cleaning workload. Use actual sales from the trial to decide whether a standing tap belongs on the menu.

Where this fits in your bigger equipment plan

For adjacent counter-space decisions, see the cold brew concentrate dispenser, protein cold foam equipment and matcha bar equipment guides. If nitro is one line on a longer opening list, use the full coffee shop equipment list and undercounter refrigerator guide. For plumbing planning, see the backflow preventer guide for espresso machines. The full cafe equipment library starts at the hub.

Common questions

Does nitro cold brew need a nitrogen tank, or can an existing beer CO2 tank work?

Follow the equipment's gas requirement. Kegsmiths describes a 75% nitrogen/25% CO2 beer-gas blend and prefers pure nitrogen for non-beer drinks because CO2 can add fizz or acidity. Countertop makers differ: GrowlerWerks specifies 16g N2O cartridges for the uKeg; Royal Brew's guide allows specified N2 or N2O chargers. These gases and fittings are not interchangeable by default.

Is a countertop nitro maker like the uKeg enough to serve customers, or is a real kegerator needed?

A countertop maker is a starting point for testing demand, subject to local equipment requirements. GrowlerWerks lists 50 oz capacity; Royal Brew's 64 oz vessel takes 40–48 oz of beverage per its guide. Compare those batches with your serving needs, cold storage and cleaning workload before moving to a commercial kegerator. There is no universal five-gallon minimum.

Does a nitro kegerator need to be NSF certified for my health inspector?

Confirm the specific model and required certification with your local health department. An ETL Sanitation listing to an NSF standard is distinct from an NSF-issued certificate, and compliance with UL-471 does not mean UL issued the listing. Missing certification information is not proof that a model is uncertified.

How often does a nitro cold brew tap system need cleaning?

Great Fermentations gives a practical baseline: clean faucet surfaces daily and purge at opening after overnight standing; clean removable nozzle pieces, drip tray and exposed connectors weekly, or every 3–5 days at high volume; clean full lines every two weeks, sooner for sweetened, flavored or dairy products; and clean internal faucet parts and restrictors monthly. Follow the equipment and cleaner instructions and your applicable sanitation requirements.

Can an office use a nitro cold brew tap?

Yes. The same tiers apply: a countertop uKeg-type maker or a single-tap kegerator can suit office volume, depending on batch size, space and cold storage. Match the equipment to actual use and applicable requirements; the cleaning cadence still applies.

Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 15, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.

  1. BC Centre for Disease Control, Nitro Cold Brew Coffee Food Safety Risks (reduced-oxygen packaging, refrigerated shelf-life guidance)
  2. U.S. FDA, Death Wish Coffee Co. Nitro Cold Brew Recall Notice (2017)
  3. Great Fermentations, Cold Brew/Nitro on Tap Cleaning Schedule
  4. Kegsmiths, Beer Gas Explained: The N2/CO2 Blend That Changed Draft Beer Forever
  5. Daily Coffee News, Cold Coffee Ruled This Summer, New NCA Market Report Finds
  6. Summit Appliance, SBC682NCFTWIN Model Specification Page
  7. GrowlerWerks, uKeg Nitro product specifications
  8. GrowlerWerks, Nitro FAQ
  9. Royal Brew, branded user guide hosted by Amazon
  10. Amazon, Royal Brew 64 oz Home Keg listing and dimensions
  11. Kegco, stainless ICXCK-1S-1 Commercial Javarator specifications
  12. Iron Mountain Refrigeration, PEAKCOLD IM24NCK specifications
  13. Kegco, HK-46-CB mini kegerator
  14. Summit Appliance, SBC682NCFTWIN brochure
  15. Taprite, 742N regulator specifications
  16. Kegco, KPCK32-2G two-gallon hand-pump cleaning kit
  17. Quality Draft Solutions, About Us
  18. Cold Brew Avenue, draft equipment and kegs
  19. Hardtank, Hardtap specifications
  20. Intertek, ETL Sanitation Mark
  21. NSF, food equipment standards overview

Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist

A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.

Keep reading