Best Coffee Shop Fridge: 6 Undercounter Units Compared
Choosing a coffee shop fridge: 6 commercial undercounter refrigerators compared by size and depth, plus how to measure the under-bar cutout first.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 11, 2026Updated October 14, 2026
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.
For most small coffee shops, the best fridge is a 27-inch one-door undercounter unit like the True TUC-27-HC (NSF/ANSI 7 per True); go low-profile (TUC-27-LP-HC) for a short cutout, or a two-door TUC-48-HC for more milk and pastry backup.
The undercounter refrigerator (the under-bar fridge) behind an espresso bar has one job most days, holding milk and cream cold within arm’s reach of the steam wand, and two decisions decide whether a given unit can do it: whether it is certified for commercial food service, and whether it physically fits your under-bar space. Everything else, capacity and features, comes after those two.
This guide compares six models using manufacturer evidence, not hands-on testing. Three True models have verified Amazon listings as of October 14, 2026; the other three are dealer-only picks. Match the exact model’s installation requirements to your space before ordering.
If you are also planning an ice machine, see our coffee shop ice machine sizing guide for production and bin-capacity basics.
For the receptacle plan around your bar equipment, see the coffee shop electrical outlet plan.
For countertop food-heating equipment, see our commercial microwave guide.
Our picks at a glance
- Best overall: True TUC-27-HC, with one door, two shelves and NSF/ANSI 7 compliance per True.
- Low cutout: True TUC-27-LP-HC. Use the exact model’s spec sheet to establish fit.
- Two-door: True TUC-48-HC, with two doors and four shelves.
- Budget dealer option to compare: Avantco SS-UC-27R-HC, dealer-only, with 5.5 cu. ft. capacity and ETL Sanitation certification. Compare dealer quotes before deciding on value.
- ETL option: Turbo Air TUR-28SD-N, dealer-only, with 6.8 cu. ft. capacity and ETL-Sanitation.
Does the fridge need NSF certification?
Use the manufacturer’s model-specific sanitation documentation and check your local health department’s requirements before buying. True states that the TUC-27-HC and TUC-48-HC comply with NSF/ANSI Standard 7 for open food product. Turbo Air lists ETL-Sanitation for the TUR-28SD-N, and Avantco lists ETL Sanitation for the SS-UC-27R-HC.
Beverage-Air’s UCR27AHC page does not state a sanitation mark. Its ENERGY STAR certification does not establish a sanitation mark. Do not treat the word “commercial” or a listing for a different model as confirmation.
Why measure the cutout before capacity
Measure your actual under-bar cutout width, depth and height first. Check door swing, walkway space and the manufacturer’s installation clearances as well as cabinet dimensions. A fridge that holds enough milk still needs to fit the bar.
True’s TUC-27-HC page gives dimensions of 27-5/8 inches wide, 30-1/8 inches deep and 29-3/4 inches high. Its TUC-48-HC page gives the same depth and height with a width of 48-3/8 inches. Use the exact model’s spec sheet for installation planning; do not transfer those figures to the TUC-27-LP-HC based on its similar name.
Comparison table
Dimensions are in inches, width x depth x height, from each manufacturer’s page. “See spec sheet” means that page does not state the figure.
| Model | Capacity | W x D x H | Doors/shelves | Sanitation mark | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| True TUC-27-HC | See True spec sheet | 27-5/8 x 30-1/8 x 29-3/4 | 1 door / 2 shelves | NSF/ANSI 7 compliant | Amazon card |
| True TUC-27-LP-HC | See True spec sheet | See True spec sheet | See True spec sheet | See spec sheet | Amazon card |
| True TUC-48-HC | See True spec sheet | 48-3/8 x 30-1/8 x 29-3/4 | 2 doors / 4 shelves | NSF/ANSI 7 compliant | Amazon card |
| Beverage-Air UCR27AHC | 6.13 cu. ft. net | See spec sheet | 1 door / 2 shelves | Not stated on its page | Restaurant-supply dealer |
| Turbo Air TUR-28SD-N | 6.8 cu. ft. | See spec sheet | 1 door / 1 stainless steel shelf | ETL-Sanitation | Restaurant-supply dealer |
| Avantco SS-UC-27R-HC | 5.5 cu. ft. | 27 x 29-1/2 x 35-1/4 | See spec sheet | ETL Sanitation | Restaurant-supply dealer |
The picks: undercounter refrigerators for a small coffee shop
FranchiseFeast is a participant in the Amazon Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
One-door undercounter refrigerator for a small espresso bar
True TUC-27-HC Undercounter Refrigerator
- Interior capacity
- See True spec sheet
- Exterior dimensions
- 27-5/8 W x 30-1/8 D x 29-3/4 H inches
- Doors / shelves
- 1 door, 2 shelves
- Sanitation
- NSF/ANSI 7 compliant for open food product
The one-door, two-shelf layout is a starting point for organizing bar stock. Check the published dimensions against your cutout and the usable interior against your milk containers.
Specs: True Manufacturing TUC-27-HC product page
Low-profile option to check for a short cutout
True TUC-27-LP-HC Low-Profile Undercounter Refrigerator
- Model specifications
- See True spec sheet
Consider this low-profile option when cutout height drives the decision. Establish fit, capacity and sanitation documentation from the exact model's manufacturer spec sheet before ordering.
Two-door pick for milk and food backstock
True TUC-48-HC Two-Door Undercounter Refrigerator
- Interior capacity
- See True's spec sheet for capacity
- Exterior dimensions
- 48-3/8 W x 30-1/8 D x 29-3/4 H inches
- Doors / shelves
- 2 doors, 4 shelves
- Sanitation
- NSF/ANSI 7 compliant for open food product
Two doors and four shelves offer more places to organize milk and pastry backup. Allow for the full 48-3/8-inch width and required installation clearance; do not assume it fits a 48-inch opening.
Specs: True Manufacturing TUC-48-HC product page
Dealer-only picks (not listed on Amazon as of October 14, 2026): Beverage-Air UCR27AHC has 6.13 cu. ft. net capacity, one door, two shelves, R290 refrigerant and ENERGY STAR certification; its page states no sanitation mark. Turbo Air TUR-28SD-N has 6.8 cu. ft. capacity, one door, one stainless steel shelf and ETL-Sanitation. Avantco SS-UC-27R-HC has 5.5 cu. ft. capacity, dimensions of 27 x 29-1/2 x 35-1/4 inches and ETL Sanitation certification. Buy these models through a restaurant-supply dealer.
Keep a thermometer inside
The FDA Food Code 2022, section 4-204.112(B) states that “cold or hot holding EQUIPMENT used for TIME/TEMPERATURE CONTROL FOR SAFETY FOOD shall be designed to include and shall be equipped with at least one integral or permanently affixed TEMPERATURE MEASURING DEVICE that is located to allow easy viewing of the device’s temperature display.” Section 4-204.112(A) places the sensor “in the warmest part of a mechanically refrigerated unit.”
Jurisdictions adopt the Food Code with local variations; check your local health department. Choose a device and mounting arrangement that meet the applicable requirement. A loose thermometer alone does not meet the quoted integral-or-permanently-affixed requirement.
In-fridge thermometer for inspections
Commercial Refrigerator Thermometer
The Food Code calls for an integral or permanently affixed temperature measuring device with an easy-to-view display and a sensor in the warmest part of the refrigerated unit. Check the device and mounting arrangement against that requirement and local rules.
Specs: FDA Food Code 2022, section 4-204.112(A) and (B)
How to size and place it
Check that your milk containers fit upright in the usable shelf space. Size to your own early sales data and restocking cadence, including dairy alternatives and food backstock. Revisit the layout as your menu and sales change.
If food assembly becomes part of the bar workflow, consider a refrigerated prep-table alternative. For serving dairy alternatives, see the oat milk dispenser guide. Plan the rest of the setup with the coffee shop equipment list. For dry or wall-mounted storage, see our commercial shelving guide.
Common questions
Does an undercounter refrigerator for an espresso bar need NSF certification?
Check your local health department's requirements and the exact model's manufacturer documentation. True lists the TUC-27-HC and TUC-48-HC as NSF/ANSI 7 compliant for open food product; Turbo Air lists ETL-Sanitation for the TUR-28SD-N, and Avantco lists ETL Sanitation for the SS-UC-27R-HC. Beverage-Air's UCR27AHC page does not state a sanitation mark.
What is the difference between low-profile and shallow-depth?
Low-profile describes height; shallow-depth describes front-to-back size. Measure both dimensions and compare the exact model's spec sheet with your cutout. Do not assume a low-profile model is also shallower.
One door or two doors for a small coffee shop's undercounter fridge?
Choose around the stock you need between deliveries and restocking trips. The True TUC-27-HC has one door and two shelves; the TUC-48-HC has two doors and four shelves, with a published width of 48-3/8 inches. Check usable storage and installation dimensions before ordering.
How much milk storage does a small coffee shop actually need?
Size to your own early sales data and restocking cadence. Check that your milk containers fit the usable shelf space, and allow room for the dairy alternatives and food your menu requires.
What kind of refrigeration does a small cafe need?
Start by considering one NSF/ETL undercounter unit at the bar for milk, plus a reach-in, pastry case or refrigerated prep table as the menu grows. Confirm local requirements before buying. The site's coffee shop equipment-list and refrigerated prep-table guides help plan the rest of the setup.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 14, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist
A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Equipment
Coffee Shop Equipment List With Prices (2026 Budget Guide)
Coffee shop equipment list with 2026 price ranges for espresso, grinders, refrigeration, ice, POS and furniture, from Bellwether Coffee, 7shifts and Naixer.
Equipment
Commercial Espresso Machines for a First Cafe
Six espresso machines from entry commercial to serious volume, with group head, boiler, and power specs from manufacturer sheets, plus the volume math for sizing one
Equipment
Best Commercial Batch Coffee Brewers (6 Compared by GPH)
BUNN, Wilbur Curtis, Fetco and Newco compared by gallons per hour, airpot vs satellite, plumbed vs pourover, and power draw.
Equipment
The Coffee Cart Equipment List That Fits in 40 Square Feet
A cart-specific equipment checklist covering 110V power math, county water tank rules, and compact gear budgets for espresso, grinding, and holding.
Equipment
Coffee Shop POS Systems Compared: Square, Toast, Clover (2026)
Square, Toast, Clover, KORONA and 3 more compared for a single coffee shop: contracts, offline mode, iPad reuse, plus the register hardware to buy.
Equipment
ENERGY STAR Undercounter Refrigerator for a Coffee Shop
What ENERGY STAR certification actually covers on a commercial undercounter fridge, what the ADA-height label really means, and eight sourced picks for a cafe.
Equipment
How Many Trash Cans Does a Small Coffee Shop Need?
How many trash and recycling bins a small coffee shop actually needs, sized by zone, waste stream, and OSHA's own placement standard.