Single Phase vs Three Phase Espresso Machine Explained
Compare espresso machine phase, voltage and current ratings, understand the conditional 125% rule, and plan electrical work before choosing a machine.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialAI-assisted, source-checkedPublished July 20, 2026Updated October 15, 2026
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links below are Amazon affiliate links; buying through them costs you nothing extra. It never changes which products we recommend, and prices always come from Amazon, not from us. Details in ourfull disclosure.
Figures on this page come from Franchise Disclosure Documents issued 2019. At least one of those documents is now two or more years old, and franchisors reissue their FDD at least annually, so treat these numbers as a starting point rather than a current quote. Confirm anything you plan to rely on against the brand's current FDD. We are an independent publisher, not a franchise broker, and this is not legal or financial advice.
If you are buying a commercial espresso machine for a small US cafe, La Marzocco’s US installation guide calls for single-phase 208 to 240V, 60Hz power for its 2-, 3- and 4-group Linea PB. Astra’s catalog includes 110V and 220V machines but does not state phase; check your own machine’s nameplate. The question that shapes your electrical work and lease negotiation is amperage: how many amps the machine pulls, and whether the space can supply them.
This page compares published manufacturer ratings, explains the conditional continuous-load rule, and gives a decision rule for when the landlord’s electrical service limits which machine you can buy. It contains no wiring instructions. Have a qualified electrician handle circuit design, plugs and terminations.
What phase means for the machine
Single-phase power delivers one alternating waveform. Three-phase delivers three offset waveforms and mainly serves large motors and big buildings. Electrical contractor Sebastian Corp’s commercial-service explainer lists retail storefronts, small offices, restaurants and light commercial occupancies under single-phase, and industrial, medical, large office and manufacturing under three-phase. The contractor adds that if three-phase lines do not run adjacent to a property, the utility may require the owner to contribute to an extension. That is a possible property expense, not an established condition at your site.
The machine must match the supplied voltage and phase. In a 120/240V single-phase system, two hot legs supply 240V; in a 120/208V three-phase system, two phases supply 208V. A machine specified for single-phase operation at that voltage can draw from the pair, subject to its other connection requirements. Coffee equipment retailer The Coffee Brewers describes lower heating power and slower morning warm-up on 208V; that is retailer guidance, not a rating for every machine.
Three-phase espresso configurations also exist. La Marzocco’s Linea PB V3.2 manual lists a 400V, 50Hz row (5,040W and 12A for 2 groups) and describes a five-wire arrangement with three phase conductors, neutral and ground. Nuova Simonelli’s Appia Life manual shows 380V three-phase with neutral and 230V single-phase connections. Those documents do not establish that every three-phase machine is an export model or that every US purchase uses the same configuration.
Worked example: from spec sheet to circuit
Start with the published ratings for the exact configuration, then separate the machine requirements from the site’s circuit design.
- Rated current. Use the manufacturer’s full-load or rated-input amps, together with voltage, phase and frequency. A watts-divided-by-volts calculation alone is not a whole-machine current specification.
- Continuous-load factor. Trade publication IAEI Magazine’s explanation of NEC 2014 Section 210.20(A) describes overcurrent protection sized for the noncontinuous load plus 125 percent of the continuous load. A continuous load has maximum current expected for three hours or more. The article also describes an exception for assemblies listed for operation at 100% of their rating. An espresso boiler is not automatically classified by how long the cafe is open.
- Circuit selection. IAEI’s 2007 explanation of Section 240.6 lists standard ratings including 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50 and 60A. That list does not authorize rounding any calculated current up to a breaker size without considering conductors, appliance requirements and the adopted code.
Here is the Linea PB example using La Marzocco’s US installation guideline, which specifies 208-240V, single-phase, 60Hz for all three sizes. The manual column is kept separate because its figures differ.
| Linea PB | Guide watts | Guide full-load amps | Manual V3.2 amps, 208-240V row | Guide plug / receptacle |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 group | 4,600 | 22 | 23 | 6-30P / 6-30R |
| 3 group | 6,100 | 28 | 30.5 | 6-50P / 6-50R |
| 4 group | 8,000 | 37 | 40 | 6-50P / 6-50R |
Three things stand out.
The plug is a published requirement, not a calculated result. The guide lists these connectors and says the plug is not provided. It does not derive the connectors from watts divided by volts and multiplied by 1.25, or specify the breakers through that calculation.
Even one manufacturer’s documents disagree on amps. The guide lists 22/28/37A; the manual’s 208-240V rows list 23/30.5/40A. Its separate 220-240V rows list 20-22/25-29/33-39A. Neither document explains the difference. Give your electrician the delivered unit’s nameplate and installation documents, and ask the manufacturer to resolve any mismatch for that unit.
Group count is a poor proxy. Espresso equipment retailer Majesty Coffee associates L6-20 plugs with 2-group machines and L6-30 with 3-group machines. La Marzocco’s model-specific guide lists different connectors. Astra’s manufacturer catalog, hosted by equipment retailer WebstaurantStore, also shows different ratings within one group count:
| Astra model | Groups | Watts | Volts | Catalog column headed Amps |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| M2CS-019 | 2 | 2,700 | 220 | 20 |
| M2S-017 | 2 | 4,500 | 220 | 30 |
| M3-013 | 3 | 5,500 | 220 | 30 |
| M2CS-019-1 | 2 | 2,000 | 110 | 20 |
Astra’s catalog does not state phase or define the Amps column as running draw versus breaker size. Its M2S-017 product page and attached sheet also leave phase unstated. The catalog explicitly requires a dedicated circuit for Astra machines; its figures do not justify calculating a different circuit or assuming a 208-240V operating range.
The continuous-load classification and the adopted code edition belong in the electrician’s and inspector’s assessment. The 1.25 factor is not a universal planning allowance or a substitute for the machine’s installation requirements.
NEC 220.56 concerns a different calculation. Continuing-education provider ExpertCE’s secondary explainer describes demand factors for eligible kitchen equipment in feeder and service calculations, not a shortcut for sizing this machine’s branch circuit. The explainer limits that group to eligible kitchen equipment, excludes HVAC and general ventilation, and notes that the result cannot fall below the two largest kitchen loads. Other loads need separate calculations; this is not a demand factor for everything in a tenant panel.
Decision rule: when the landlord’s service picks the machine
Ask for four facts in writing before you fall in love with a machine: the service voltage and phase, the rating of the panel that serves your space, the number of spare breaker spaces, and the distance from that panel to the bar. Treat this as preparation for an electrician’s site assessment. Then apply this order.
- What voltage is available at the panel? 120/240V single-phase provides 240V; 120/208V three-phase provides 208V between two phases. A 120V outlet at the bar alone does not establish what the panel or service can supply.
- Does the machine match that supply? Match voltage, phase, frequency, conductors and connection requirements for the exact unit. Manufacturer Newco’s fixed-element example shows a 240V/3,500W element producing about 84% of rated power at 220V and 75% at 208V, or about 2,630W. Both current and power fall in that example; it does not establish constant-wattage behavior or compatibility for every espresso machine.
- Can the electrical system carry the load? Ask for a site load calculation. Adding breaker ratings or treating a new breaker as a percentage of panel capacity does not establish available capacity. Spare breaker spaces alone do not answer the question either.
- If the circuit does not fit, compare configurations and upgrade options. Use the machine’s documented electrical requirements, not just group count or wattage. Astra’s catalog includes a 110V 2-group option. Ask your electrician and landlord about the work needed before selecting a different machine or committing to a service upgrade.
| What the landlord says | What it means for the machine | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| “Single-phase, 120/240V” | 240V supply | Match the unit’s voltage, phase, frequency and connection requirements; assess capacity. |
| “Three-phase, 120/208V” | 208V between two phases | Select a configuration specified for that supply and have the electrician assess the connection. |
| “Only 120V at the bar” | The bar outlet does not establish the whole service | Have the panel and circuit assessed; compare a documented 110-120V option with new-circuit work. |
| “The unit is three-phase 400V” | A different configuration from the US Linea PB guide | Match the actual machine and property supply before purchase. |
| “The panel details are unknown” | Capacity remains unknown | Arrange a site assessment before committing to the equipment or lease. |
Machines with a 110-120V option
A 110-120V configuration is an option to investigate, not proof that an existing outlet is adequate. Astra’s catalog lists the 2-group M2CS-019-1 at 110V and 2,000W, with 20 in its Amps column, and requires dedicated circuits. Voltage alone does not establish capacity for your drink volume or local commercial approval.
Bezzera describes the Strega as semi-professional and lists a 110-120V version with a 1,350W Resistance entry. Dealer Whole Latte Love lists 1,550W and 13A, Home / Residential application, and NSF Certified as No. The wattage entries differ, and neither source explains the difference. Bezzera’s brochure identifies the TOP version as supporting tank or plumbed water feed. Commercial suitability depends on your health department and service volume; compare options in the commercial espresso machine guide.
The product links below are Amazon affiliate links. FranchiseFeast participates in the Amazon Associates Program and earns from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
Bezzera's semi-professional lever machine; Whole Latte Love lists home/residential use
Bezzera Strega Lever Espresso Machine, TOP
- Maker electrical entry
- 110-120V, 50-60Hz; 1,350W Resistance entry, per Bezzera
- Dealer electrical entry
- 1,550W / 13A, per Whole Latte Love; wattage differs from Bezzera's entry
- Listed application
- Whole Latte Love: Home / Residential; NSF Certified: No
- Boiler / tank
- 2L boiler / 4L tank, per Bezzera
- Water feed
- TOP version: tank or plumbed, per Bezzera's brochure
The TOP version supports either tank or mains water feed. Bezzera's semi-professional positioning and the dealer's home/residential listing do not establish approval or throughput for a cafe. Discuss health-department requirements and service volume before choosing it for a commercial bar; the different wattage entries do not establish a circuit or plug requirement.
Specs: Bezzera Strega product page (https://www.bezzera.it/en/machines/strega) and TOP brochure (https://www.bezzera.it/uploads/prod_images/Strega/STREGA%20AL-Depliant.pdf); dealer Whole Latte Love listing (https://www.wholelattelove.com/products/bezzera-strega-lever-espresso-machine)
What to have in hand for the electrician and the inspector
Use this preparation checklist for the site walkthrough; it is not an official inspection list:
- The exact model and voltage configuration, nameplate current, and installation documents. Ask the manufacturer to resolve differences between documents for the delivered unit.
- The service voltage, phase, panel rating and site load assessment, rather than a sum of breaker ratings.
- The required connection type. The Coffee Brewers notes that many commercial appliances ship without a plug, and La Marzocco’s US Linea PB guide says the plug is not provided. Its international manual describes permanent connection separately.
- The manufacturer’s dedicated-circuit requirements. Astra expressly requires a dedicated circuit for its machines; do not extend that statement to every model from every maker.
- Your electrician’s and inspector’s assessment of GFCI protection, connection type and the locally adopted code.
Verifying what the machine pulls
A clamp meter is a professional service tool for measuring current under the conditions of the measurement. Clamp one conductor, not the whole cord: Klein’s CL800 manual describes using a line splitter when live and neutral are together in a cable. Have a qualified electrician determine safe access and the appropriate measurement setup; this is not an instruction to open a live panel.
Klein says the CL800 is no longer in production. The Fluke 323 below is also included in the amp breaker guide, which compares more meters.
True-RMS AC-current tool for your electrician's service visit
Fluke 323 True-RMS Clamp Meter
- AC current
- Up to 400A
- Voltage
- AC/DC to 600V
- Sensing
- True-RMS
- Jaw opening
- 30 mm
- Continuity beeper
- Threshold at or below 70 ohms
The 323 combines true-RMS AC-current measurement with a 30 mm jaw and audible continuity. Fluke does not specify DC-current measurement for this model. Have a qualified electrician select the measurement setup and interpret the reading; a measured current does not replace the machine's installation requirements.
Specs: Fluke 323 maker specification page, official clamp selection guide, and 323/324/325 manual
Recognizing the plug on the spec sheet
When a spec sheet says 6-30P or 6-50P, it names a standardized NEMA plug by voltage, amperage and blade layout. Astra’s catalog lists an L6-30P plug (250V, 30A) as an accessory for its 220V machines, and La Marzocco’s guide lists the connectors in the table above. Majesty Coffee’s retailer associations by group count do not match those Linea PB requirements. Use the manufacturer’s documents for the exact configuration rather than a retailer’s group-count rule.
The part below is shown so you recognize it when your electrician names it. Have a qualified electrician select, fit and terminate the plug for the specified circuit.
Included so you can recognize the part, not so you install it
Leviton 5466-C Industrial Grade NEMA 6-20P Plug
- Rating
- 20 Amp, 250 Volt
- Configuration
- NEMA 6-20P, straight blade, non-locking
- Wiring
- 2-pole, 3-wire, grounding
- Grade
- Industrial
Leviton identifies the 5466-C as a 20A, 250V NEMA 6-20P grounding plug. It is a recognition example, not a substitute for the 6-30P or 6-50P specified in the Linea PB guide. Your electrician should match the exact machine's connection requirements to the site.
Specs: Leviton 5466-C manufacturer product page: https://leviton.com/products/5466-c
Where this leaves you
For a small US cafe, start with the exact machine configuration: La Marzocco’s US Linea PB guide specifies single-phase 208-240V, while other models and documents differ. The decisions that shape electrical work are the nameplate current, the connection requirements and the site’s available capacity. Get those assessed before the purchase order and lease. Published ratings make that conversation clearer; they do not replace circuit design.
To size the machine to your drink volume rather than your panel, see the commercial espresso machine guide. For the whole bar’s power, see the coffee shop electrical outlet plan, and for the drip side of the counter, the amp and breaker guide for commercial coffee brewers. The full category is in the cafe equipment hub.
Common questions
Do I need three-phase power for a commercial espresso machine?
Not necessarily. La Marzocco's US installation guide lists its 2-, 3- and 4-group Linea PB as 208-240V, single-phase, 60Hz. Other configurations differ: the Appia Life manual includes single-phase and three-phase connections, while Astra's catalog does not state phase. Match the actual machine to the building's supply with your electrician.
How many amps does a 2-group espresso machine draw?
It depends on the exact model and configuration. La Marzocco's US guide lists the 2-group Linea PB at 22 full-load amps; its V3.2 manual's 208-240V row lists 23A. Nuova Simonelli's US Appia Life 2-group installation sheet lists 17A at 208-240V and 3,400W. Use the delivered unit's nameplate and installation requirements for circuit design.
What is the 125% rule and does it apply to an espresso machine?
It applies conditionally, not automatically to every espresso machine. IAEI Magazine's explanation of NEC 2014 describes overcurrent protection sized for the noncontinuous load plus 125 percent of the continuous load, with an exception for qualifying 100%-rated assemblies. Continuous means maximum current is expected for three hours or more. Your electrician and inspector must determine the applicable classification and adopted code.
Can I plug a commercial espresso machine into a regular outlet?
Only if the exact machine and circuit requirements match. Astra lists a 110V M2CS-019-1, but requires dedicated circuits for its machines; its catalog's 20A entry is not labeled as running draw or breaker size. La Marzocco's US Linea PB guide lists 6-30P or 6-50P plugs. Outlet appearance alone does not establish voltage, circuit capacity or commercial suitability.
Will my machine run slower on 208V service?
It can, depending on the heating element and configuration. Manufacturer Newco's example of a 240V heating element delivers about 84 percent of rated power at 220V and 75 percent at 208V, with current also falling. Equipment retailer The Coffee Brewers describes slower warm-up on 208V. Those examples do not establish performance for every espresso machine; use the maker's ratings for your configuration.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (page last updated October 15, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
- La Marzocco USA, U.S. installation guideline for the Linea PB (2, 3 and 4 group: 208-240 VAC 1 phase 60Hz; 4,600 / 6,100 / 8,000W; full load amps 22 / 28 / 37; NEMA 6-30P and 6-50P)
- La Marzocco, Linea PB user manual v3.2, page 8 rating table (208-240V and 400V rows, rated input in amps) and permanent-connection / residual-current-device warning
- Astra Manufacturing product catalog as hosted by equipment retailer WebstaurantStore (watts, volts and an Amps column; phase unstated; states its machines require a dedicated circuit)
- Astra Manufacturing, Mega II Semi-Automatic M2S-017 product page (4,500W, 220V, 7L boiler; phase unstated)
- Nuova Simonelli, Appia Life XT global machine page (3,350W / 5,400W; voltage and phase unstated)
- Trade publication IAEI Magazine, '100% vs 80%: Choosing the right OCPD solution' (quotes NEC 2014 210.20(A) and the 3-hour definition of a continuous load)
- Trade publication IAEI Magazine, 'Overcurrent Protection, Part 2' (standard ampere ratings of NEC 240.6, 15 to 6000A, 2007 article)
- Continuing-education provider ExpertCE, 'Commercial Kitchen Load Calculation, NEC 220.56' (220.56 applies to feeders and services; branch circuits are sized to the specific appliance)
- Equipment retailer The Coffee Brewers, 'What You Might Want to Know About Electricity Before You Talk to Your Electrician' (phase framing, 208V tradeoff, circuit rules of thumb such as 1-group about 15A on a 20A circuit and larger machines needing 30A, add up the currents when appliances share a circuit, cords shipped without plugs)
- Manufacturer Newco Coffee, 'Electrical Configurations' (heating-element output at 220V and 208V versus a 240V rating)
- Espresso equipment retailer Majesty Coffee, 'NEMA Power Connections for Espresso Machines Explained' (retailer's NEMA associations by group count)
- Electrical contractor Sebastian Corp, 'Three-Phase vs Single-Phase Power for Commercial Properties' (service types by occupancy; utility may require the owner to contribute to a three-phase extension)
- North Carolina Office of State Fire Marshal, interpretation of 2017 NEC 210.8(B), dated August 12, 2019 (GFCI for commercial-kitchen receptacles)
- Commercial kitchen equipment dealer Aldevra, 'GFCI Outlets in Commercial Kitchens' (vendor discussion of heating-element ground leakage; not a GFCI exemption)
- Nuova Simonelli, Appia Life 2/3-group user manual (230V single-phase and 380V three-phase with neutral; configurations differ from XT page)
- Nuova Simonelli USA, Appia Life 2-group installation sheet (208-240V, 3,400W, 17A, NEMA 6-20; phase unstated)
- Bezzera, Strega product page (semi-professional; 110-120V version, 1,350W Resistance entry)
- Bezzera, Strega brochure (TOP version supports tank or mains water feed)
- Dealer Whole Latte Love, Bezzera Strega listing (1,550W, 13A, home/residential application, NSF Certified No)
- Klein Tools, CL800 product page (no longer in production)
- Klein Tools, CL800 instructions (single-conductor current measurement; line splitter for live and neutral in one cable)
- Leviton, 5466-C product page (20A, 250V, NEMA 6-20P, industrial-grade grounding straight-blade plug)
Get the Coffee Shop Opening Checklist
A free, phased checklist covering concept and business planning, financing, lease, permits, buildout, hiring, and the final 90-day launch sprint. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Equipment
Commercial Espresso Machines for a First Cafe
Six espresso machines from entry commercial to serious volume, with group head, boiler, and power specs from manufacturer sheets, plus the volume math for sizing one
Equipment
Best Espresso Machines for Barista Training Before You Open
Train before you open: 5 espresso machines compared, from the Breville Barista Express to the Gaggia Classic Pro and Rancilio Silvia, plus what transfers to a bar.
Equipment
How Many Electrical Outlets Does a Coffee Shop Need?
Plan coffee shop outlets from nameplate amps, circuit-sharing limits, and GFCI triggers. Build a load sheet for your electrician before walls close.
Equipment
What Amp Breaker Does a Commercial Coffee Brewer Need?
Compare commercial brewer watts, volts, and continuous-load math with BUNN and Newco examples, then confirm the circuit with a licensed electrician.
Equipment
Can I Use a Home Espresso Machine in My Coffee Shop?
Usually no. Check local equipment approval, warranty terms, duty cycle, and electrical needs before using a home espresso machine for paid service.
Equipment
Espresso Machine Backflush Detergent Tablets, Explained
Backflush detergent tablets are alkaline, not a descaler. What they clean, why your machine needs a 3-way valve, and 7 real picks.
Equipment
Best Commercial Espresso Machine Descalers (6 Compared)
Compare six espresso machine descalers by acid, NSF registration, and material guidance, with water-hardness testing and a machine-specific rinse guide.