Pokeworks Franchise Cost: A Target, Not Just a Range
Pokeworks publishes $270,435 to $599,661 per restaurant and then does something rare: it names a target of $400,000 to $450,000 including working capital.
By FranchiseFeast EditorialPublished August 3, 2026Updated August 3, 2026
Figures on this page come from Franchise Disclosure Documents issued 2026. Franchisors reissue their FDD at least annually, so figures move. Confirm anything you plan to rely on against the brand's current FDD. We are an independent publisher, not a franchise broker, and this is not legal or financial advice.
Pokeworks publishes a total investment range like most brands do. Then it does something almost none of them do: it names a target.
Publishing a target is more useful than publishing a range
The range is $270,435 to $599,661 per restaurant. The target, in the franchisor’s own words, is an average investment of $400,000 to $450,000 including working capital.
That second figure does more work than the first, for two reasons.
A range’s floor almost always describes the most constrained build a brand offers, which may not be available in your market, and readers anchor on it anyway. A stated central expectation resists that. And the phrase “including working capital” is doing real work: it tells you the number is meant to cover the money you need to operate before the business supports itself, not just the money you need to open the doors.
Against the brands covered here, that target sits in a crowded middle: above Robeks at $298,050 to $511,500, overlapping Playa Bowls at $255,944 to $1,037,794, and below the full-format bakery and drive-thru builds.
The requirement figures disagree, and we are not picking one
Its own franchising page asks for $250,000 in readily available funds to invest and $750,000 in total assets minus liabilities.
A franchise directory lists the cash requirement as $350,000. The net-worth figure agrees at $750,000, so the disagreement is specific to liquid capital, and it is a $100,000 gap on the figure most likely to decide whether someone qualifies.
We are reporting the franchisor’s own number and naming the conflict rather than quietly choosing. This is the same shape as Smoothie King, whose own two pages state different thresholds: where sources disagree about a qualification bar, the only safe answer is to ask.
What is not on the franchisor’s page
The franchise fee. A directory lists $40,000, corroborated by a second trade listing. It does not appear on the franchisor’s own franchising page, so treat it as a figure to confirm in Item 5.
The royalty and the advertising fee. A directory lists 6 percent royalty and a 1.5 percent ad fund fee. Neither appears on the franchising page we loaded, and neither source states the basis, gross sales or net sales.
That matters more than it looks. Among the brands covered here, Robeks charges on net and does not define net, Jamba’s parent charges on net without defining it, and Nothing Bundt Cakes states no basis at all. A bare “6%” is not a price until you know what it is 6 percent of. Our Item 6 guide covers where the answer lives.
The franchise term and renewal conditions. Not published anywhere we could load. Directory figures circulate; none is traceable to the franchisor, so none appears here.
A stated position on single-unit ownership. Its page describes the candidates it wants, including experienced operators developing three or more units and financial investors partnering with operators. That signals a multi-unit preference without stating a rule, and the distinction matters: IHOP states outright that it does not offer single-unit franchises internationally, which is a different thing from a preference.
Ownership and scale
Pokeworks remains privately held and founder-led, based in Irvine, California. Toridoll Holdings, a publicly traded Japanese restaurant group, took a minority investment in 2018 to fund expansion, described in coverage at the time as a capital partnership rather than an acquisition. We found no bankruptcy, sale or restructuring in the last two years, which is worth checking on any brand and is not something to assume: Great American Cookies changed owners out of a Chapter 11 in June 2026.
Trade data puts the system at 76 units, 70 of them franchised, roughly 92 percent franchised. The company’s own April 2026 release describes more than 80 locations across 22 states, Taiwan and Canada, with development named in Texas, Massachusetts, Tennessee and Colorado. Those two counts come from different dates and are consistent with growth rather than in conflict.
How it compares in its category
Pokeworks sits mid-pack on cost among the salad and bowl brands and is the only one publishing a target rather than only a range. Where it is least clear is single-unit availability, which it never states either way. Our side-by-side of the category sorts the brands by whether you can actually apply, and Freshii shows what a fuller disclosure looks like.
Questions to ask before you rely on any figure
- Is the liquid-capital requirement $250,000 or $350,000, and what exactly counts as readily available?
- What are the royalty and advertising percentages, and are they charged on gross or net sales?
- What does the $400,000 to $450,000 target assume about format, market and months of working capital?
- Is a single-restaurant agreement available, or is multi-unit development expected?
- What is the initial term, and what does renewal cost?
- Is the 15 percent veteran discount current, and what are the eligibility conditions?
- What does Item 20 show for openings, closures and transfers over the last three years?
- Will a franchise attorney and an accountant review the full FDD with me before I commit?
Common questions
How much does a Pokeworks franchise cost?
Its own franchising page gives $270,435 to $599,661 per restaurant, and then adds something most brands never say: a target average investment of $400,000 to $450,000 including working capital. That second figure is more useful than the range for planning purposes, because a range's floor usually describes the most constrained build available.
What are the financial requirements?
Its own page asks for $250,000 in readily available funds to invest and $750,000 in total assets minus liabilities. Note a conflict worth resolving directly: a franchise directory lists the cash requirement as $350,000. We are reporting the franchisor's own figure and flagging the disagreement rather than picking one silently.
What royalty does Pokeworks charge?
A franchise directory lists a 6 percent royalty and a 1.5 percent ad fund fee. Neither figure appears on the franchisor's own franchising page, and neither source states whether they are charged on gross or net sales. Given how much that basis matters, treat both as figures to confirm in the disclosure document rather than as settled.
Who owns Pokeworks?
It remains privately held and founder-led, headquartered in Irvine, California. Toridoll Holdings, a publicly traded Japanese restaurant group, made a minority investment in 2018 to fund expansion, described in coverage at the time as a capital partnership rather than an acquisition. We found no bankruptcy, sale or restructuring in the last two years.
Can you open a single Pokeworks?
Its own page does not state a minimum unit requirement either way. It lists the candidates it seeks, including experienced operators developing three or more units and financial investors partnering with operators, which signals a multi-unit preference without stating a rule. Ask directly whether a single-restaurant agreement is available in your market.
Does Pokeworks offer a veteran discount?
A franchise directory lists 15 percent off the franchise fee for veterans. It is not stated on the franchisor's own pages that we could load, so confirm the current terms and eligibility directly before counting on it.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these sources (last checked August 3, 2026). Franchise numbers change with each FDD filing year; verify against the current FDD.
- Pokeworks official franchising page, stating a total investment of $270,435 to $599,661 per restaurant, a target average investment of $400,000 to $450,000 including working capital, a requirement for $250,000 in readily available funds to invest and $750,000 in total assets minus liabilities, and describing the candidate profiles it seeks (verified 2026-08-03)
- Franchise Times Top 400 profile for Pokeworks, reporting 76 total units comprising 69 US and 7 international, of which 63 US and 7 international are franchised, putting the system at roughly 92 percent franchised
- Pokeworks corporate press release dated April 16, 2026, describing more than 80 locations across 22 states, Taiwan and Canada, and naming active development in Texas, Massachusetts, Tennessee and Colorado
- Entrepreneur franchise directory listing for Pokeworks, giving a $40,000 initial franchise fee, a 6 percent royalty, a 1.5 percent ad fund fee, a $350,000 cash requirement and a 15 percent veteran discount off the franchise fee; the royalty and ad-fund basis are not stated and the cash figure conflicts with the franchisor's own page
Get the Franchise Due-Diligence Kit
An FDD review checklist and a total investment worksheet that keep franchise fee, buildout, and working capital honest. Free, no spam, unsubscribe anytime.
The kit is educational only, not legal or financial advice. By subscribing you agree to ourterms and privacy policy. How we're paid, including referral fees:affiliate & referral disclosure.
Keep reading
Under $100K
Playa Bowls Franchise Cost: Its FDD Shows Fees Get Discounted
Playa Bowls publishes a $35,000 franchise fee, and its own FDD discloses that 37 franchisees paid between $15,000 and $30,000 in one year. What else Item 5 reveals.
Under $100K
Robeks Franchise Cost: A Net-Sales Royalty It Won't Define
Robeks charges 7% on net sales, falling to 6% at three units. Nothing public defines what net sales excludes, which makes the rate impossible to compare.
Under $100K
Which Food Franchise Vertical Is Cheapest to Open?
Comparing verticals hides the real cost driver. Three brands publish per-format ranges, and within one brand the format swings cost more than the category does.
Buying Process
FDD Item 7 Explained: The Real Cost Table
A line-by-line guide to Item 7 of the Franchise Disclosure Document: what each row means, what's routinely left out, and how to compare two brands correctly.
Buying Process
How to Read an FDD Without a Law Degree
A plain-English walkthrough of the Franchise Disclosure Document: the 23 items, which ones carry the money story, and the 14-day rule that protects you.